HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Non-Sports > Geek Emporium
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Geek Emporium Discuss computers, hardware, software, electronics, video games, internet, etc.

360 controller to PC question

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
05-26-2010, 08:42 PM
  #1
awesomo
HARD!
 
awesomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: location, location
Country: Canada
Posts: 22,735
vCash: 500
360 controller to PC question

Instead of wasting like 30 mins trying to do this. I was wondering if its possible to use the controller that came with my 360 and plug it into the PC (using a usb cable) then downloading and installing the software for free on windows to use the 360 controller on my computer.


Did anyone try this? Or do i have to buy the 360 controller for windows for this to work?

awesomo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
05-26-2010, 08:47 PM
  #2
DrFeelgood
Chairman Meow
 
DrFeelgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Country: United States
Posts: 19,040
vCash: 500
Regular 360 controller will work just fine. IIRC, you just have to download and install a driver.

Pretty sure its plug-and-play, so if you plug it in, just let windows look online for the driver and install that one.

edit: If you're using a wireless controller, I believe you need a separate hub for it to work wirelessly with the PC

DrFeelgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-26-2010, 08:58 PM
  #3
awesomo
HARD!
 
awesomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: location, location
Country: Canada
Posts: 22,735
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrFeelgood View Post
Regular 360 controller will work just fine. IIRC, you just have to download and install a driver.

Pretty sure its plug-and-play, so if you plug it in, just let windows look online for the driver and install that one.

edit: If you're using a wireless controller, I believe you need a separate hub for it to work wirelessly with the PC
i have a usb attachment because i have a charger + battery for the wireless controller. So what i am thinking is that i plug in my charger into my pc attached to my controller.

awesomo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
05-26-2010, 09:02 PM
  #4
DrFeelgood
Chairman Meow
 
DrFeelgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Country: United States
Posts: 19,040
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by awesomo View Post
i have a usb attachment because i have a charger + battery for the wireless controller. So what i am thinking is that i plug in my charger into my pc attached to my controller.
If you're referring to one of these, you won't have any problems at all plugging it into your PC



I've never tried with 3rd party equipment, so i'm not sure if it's not one of ^ those chargers

DrFeelgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-26-2010, 09:02 PM
  #5
Boooooth10
Registered User
 
Boooooth10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Florida
Country: United States
Posts: 7,235
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by awesomo View Post
i have a usb attachment because i have a charger + battery for the wireless controller. So what i am thinking is that i plug in my charger into my pc attached to my controller.
That doesn't work. It only charges the battery. Nothing else. You'll have to get the wireless hub thing or just get a wired controller.

Boooooth10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-26-2010, 09:22 PM
  #6
awesomo
HARD!
 
awesomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: location, location
Country: Canada
Posts: 22,735
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boooooth10 View Post
That doesn't work. It only charges the battery. Nothing else. You'll have to get the wireless hub thing or just get a wired controller.
dang

awesomo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
05-26-2010, 09:36 PM
  #7
Paranoid Android
ERMAHGERD
 
Paranoid Android's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: CO
Posts: 11,910
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boooooth10 View Post
That doesn't work. It only charges the battery. Nothing else. You'll have to get the wireless hub thing or just get a wired controller.
This man speaks the truth. I just recently went through all this. My Xbox brand wireless controller plugged up with its USB charger wouldn't work after all kinds of tinkering. I have a wired Madcatz that worked perfectly though, with no extra drivers.

Paranoid Android is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-27-2010, 08:27 AM
  #8
Penguins23
Le Magnifique
 
Penguins23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Moncton,NewBrunswick
Country: Canada
Posts: 14,313
vCash: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Boooooth10 View Post
That doesn't work. It only charges the battery. Nothing else. You'll have to get the wireless hub thing or just get a wired controller.
Unfortunately that is correct. My girl friend tried it to play a game on her PC. The wired one worked flawlessly though.


I didn't know you could get a wireless port for it. I've never seen one.

__________________
.
Penguins23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-27-2010, 08:35 AM
  #9
Dylonus
Registered User
 
Dylonus's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Pittsburgh
Country: United States
Posts: 10,806
vCash: 500
Im about 95% certain theres a certain brand of WIRELESS 360 controllers that work IF you download like 6235127126123415451235 drivers first

That's why I use my PS3 controllers

Dylonus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-27-2010, 09:33 AM
  #10
noobman
Registered User
 
noobman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Country: Canada
Posts: 4,636
vCash: 500
All of my 360 controllers are wired, so I don't have this problem.

If you want a wireless 360 controller to work, you have to buy a dongle from Microsoft to plug into your PC.

noobman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-27-2010, 11:13 AM
  #11
awesomo
HARD!
 
awesomo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: location, location
Country: Canada
Posts: 22,735
vCash: 500
Ya it seems like you do. Haven't been able to spot one of those in Edmonton yet.

awesomo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
05-27-2010, 12:31 PM
  #12
DrFeelgood
Chairman Meow
 
DrFeelgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: San Jose, CA
Country: United States
Posts: 19,040
vCash: 500
Looks like I was incorrect then, i'm guessing my PC here at work has more drivers than I expected with the xbox development kit installed because it works with no problems for me with the regular charging dongle.

DrFeelgood is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2015 All Rights Reserved.