HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Non-Sports > Geek Emporium
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Geek Emporium Discuss computers, hardware, software, electronics, video games, internet, etc.

Need some help

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old
03-06-2005, 08:20 AM
  #1
Herby
Culture Changer
 
Herby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Chicago
Country: United States
Posts: 15,164
vCash: 500
Need some help

I am by no means a computer guru, but I run a firewall, scan for spyware almost daily, but I can't seem to get rid of this annoying problem with my computer.

I have somehow gotten some kind of ad-bug on my computer than puts annoying links on keywords like "money" and "computer" with a link to some site. I have ran multiple scans, followed the directions on the link below about spyware but to no avail, this sucker keeps coming back.

Does anyone have any idea how to rid myself of this?

Thanks

Herby is offline  
Old
03-06-2005, 10:03 AM
  #2
guinness
those were the days
 
guinness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Missoula, Montana
Country: United States
Posts: 12,259
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Herby
I am by no means a computer guru, but I run a firewall, scan for spyware almost daily, but I can't seem to get rid of this annoying problem with my computer.

I have somehow gotten some kind of ad-bug on my computer than puts annoying links on keywords like "money" and "computer" with a link to some site. I have ran multiple scans, followed the directions on the link below about spyware but to no avail, this sucker keeps coming back.

Does anyone have any idea how to rid myself of this?

Thanks
Sounds like hotlinks that are embedded in the webpage, certain words will get hotlinked and when you click on them, they'll point you to a sponsor's site. That's nothing new, just new ways of advertising, dpreview.com does it, words like memory, digital camera will get hotlinked and direct you to some web store.

guinness is offline  
Old
03-06-2005, 10:40 AM
  #3
Herby
Culture Changer
 
Herby's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Chicago
Country: United States
Posts: 15,164
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by guinness
Sounds like hotlinks that are embedded in the webpage, certain words will get hotlinked and when you click on them, they'll point you to a sponsor's site. That's nothing new, just new ways of advertising, dpreview.com does it, words like memory, digital camera will get hotlinked and direct you to some web store.
I don't think its that, because I get it on almost every site I visit from hfboards to Card Player and so on.

It's some kind of bug that links me to 3rd party sites by searching the pages for keywords. Its such a pain in the butt.

Herby is offline  
Old
03-06-2005, 11:11 AM
  #4
guinness
those were the days
 
guinness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Missoula, Montana
Country: United States
Posts: 12,259
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Herby
I don't think its that, because I get it on almost every site I visit from hfboards to Card Player and so on.

It's some kind of bug that links me to 3rd party sites by searching the pages for keywords. Its such a pain in the butt.
Are you running IE? I would see if it's also doing the same in other browsers like Firefox, Opera, etc. Also, see if there are any odd programs running in your processes tab (ctrl-alt-del) and type in msconfig (Win key-R) in the run menu and see what is loading at startup.

guinness is offline  
Old
03-10-2005, 09:17 PM
  #5
Old Hickory
Guest
 
Country:
Posts: n/a
vCash:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Herby
I don't think its that, because I get it on almost every site I visit from hfboards to Card Player and so on.

It's some kind of bug that links me to 3rd party sites by searching the pages for keywords. Its such a pain in the butt.
Herby what is up man!

Are you using Internet Explorer or Mozilla?

If you run IE are you using any toolbars? If you have one in place like google or yahoo, right click on it and see if there are any extra toolbars listed.

Also what anti-spyware are you using. Microsoft anti-spyware works very well if you haven't used it yet
http://www.microsoft.com/athome/secu...e/default.mspx

 
Old
03-15-2005, 02:06 AM
  #6
Allan
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Edmonton
Country: United Nations
Posts: 1,405
vCash: 500
If you are using IE, go to Tools, then Internet Options, then the Advanced tab. Clear the check box beside "Enable third-party browser extensions," then restart Explorer. It won't remove the root cause, but the problem should stop.

Allan is offline  
Closed Thread

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:55 AM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2014 All Rights Reserved.