HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > NHL Eastern Conference > Atlantic Division > Montreal Canadiens
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Notices

Internet. Videotron or Bell. Help me out.

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old
09-28-2010, 11:50 AM
  #76
A1
Set Sail For Fail
 
A1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Montreal, Qc
Country: Canada
Posts: 2,379
vCash: 500
Ah ok, so it's not real. Phew!

A1 is offline  
Old
09-28-2010, 11:53 AM
  #77
neofury*
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal, PQ
Country: Canada
Posts: 20,277
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by A1 View Post
Ah ok, so it's not real. Phew!
The poster above might be able to prove it is, I'm just saying the odds are slim. I don't see why he'd lie about it on here though it's not like it's a dick measure contest

Just saying that the odds of it being an uncap versus a high throttle are slim, not saying in his case he isn't telling the truth.

He may very well be but I'd like to see him transfer a 1gb file from a torrent backed by a 100mbit back bone + with thousands of seeders before I would pass judgment on how fast it can go. That or download directly from an even bigger back bone.

Personally I just can't see justifying a 500mbit example from speedtest as being legit when they use a file that is barely a fraction of a gig to do their test.

neofury* is offline  
Old
09-28-2010, 01:22 PM
  #78
coolasprICE
Registered User
 
coolasprICE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Country: Canada
Posts: 9,431
vCash: 500
Neo, you got me motivated so I called Videotron to inquire about pricing ...

They offered to waive my installation fee of 30 for high speed 15 .. they don't offer the wireless router as you suggested I asked.... However they do have a wireless modem ,but that is only available for thjeir internet 120 deal -- but that's $149 / month!

So for the high speed 15 , it's $55 + tax + 100$ for the separate router that you guys recommend.

I called Bell to see what they could do for me ( I know, not what you want me to do lol ) and they moved my performance plus package (60 g, 7mbs and confirmed by speedtest.net) to the Fibe 7 (which is the same specs, but supposedly I wont have to worry about down time due to "maintenance" that happens too often for my liking (once every month or two) with the existing plan). They're giving me 60G for $39, with free modem for 3 years) and I can cancel at any time...

So why does Bell continue to get my business?

Because it's $200 cheaper per year, and I don't have to spend $100 for a router....

I think this is why Bell still competes with Videotron, because essentially their service is less expensive and if it is true that I won't be dealing with downtime anymore, it's quality is sufficient enough for me.

Sorry bra! I know you really hate Bell ... lol

coolasprICE is offline  
Old
09-28-2010, 01:46 PM
  #79
neofury*
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal, PQ
Country: Canada
Posts: 20,277
vCash: 500
Dude all that matters really is that you're now being treated as a customer the way you always should have been.

It's a shame it takes a situation like this for Bell to get off their ***** and give you good service but hey, if they give you good service from here on out and you enjoy your internet on Fibe who am I to complain.

In the end what matters to me is that you are happy with your internet service and not being scammed by Bell.

I will tell you this though all bell vs videotron vs other aside, that router is worth every penny and years down the line you would not regret the purchase.

I used to be a linksys guy, and I thought d-link was pretty ******. Truth is they used to be pretty **** but this one model the DIR-655, I bought it on a whim because I needed something that could properly stream media and also serve as a solid router.

It's godly - godly is the perfect term for this router. My dad recently got the step up model (I paid 79.99$ for the 655) and it was like 120-150$ (memory...) haven't heard any complaints yet.

neofury* is offline  
Old
09-28-2010, 02:06 PM
  #80
JoePro
Registered User
 
JoePro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Home
Posts: 43
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by CuteHockeyBunny View Post
Stay away from Bell please. Don't encourage/support their illegal throttling.

Go with Teksavvy and live happy.

This is what I get for $55 a month
And this is what I get for 39$ with my FibeTV bundle... I guess it really depends on how close you are to your CO or remote.

JoePro is offline  
Old
09-28-2010, 02:35 PM
  #81
neofury*
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal, PQ
Country: Canada
Posts: 20,277
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by JoePro View Post
And this is what I get for 39$ with my FibeTV bundle... I guess it really depends on how close you are to your CO or remote.
Wow... 3.44mbit/s upstream is nice, I wonder if that's the actual upstream you get though. When you upload a file to somebody how fast does it go in kb/s usually? I would be damn happy with 3.5mbit of upstream but most ISP's don't like it because of piracy they try to limit it to max 1mbit.

neofury* is offline  
Old
09-28-2010, 02:37 PM
  #82
neofury*
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal, PQ
Country: Canada
Posts: 20,277
vCash: 500
I'm on the videotron 50 at work:


neofury* is offline  
Old
09-28-2010, 02:46 PM
  #83
JoePro
Registered User
 
JoePro's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Home
Posts: 43
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by neofury View Post
Wow... 3.44mbit/s upstream is nice, I wonder if that's the actual upstream you get though. When you upload a file to somebody how fast does it go in kb/s usually? I would be damn happy with 3.5mbit of upstream but most ISP's don't like it because of piracy they try to limit it to max 1mbit.
Yup, that's my actual upstream speed. I average between 400-500 kiloBYTES per second. My current profile is 24/4, but they charge me for 7/1. My linestats also indicate I can reach speeds as high as 55/10, but bell doesn't offer those profiles ATM.

JoePro is offline  
Old
09-28-2010, 03:29 PM
  #84
snakeye
Registered User
 
snakeye's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Montreal
Country: Canada
Posts: 5,787
vCash: 500
I just checked on Videotron's website, and they now offer a 120mbps/20mbps line!

And I also noticed that I'm paying for a service that doesn't exist anymore, High Speed Extreme (10mbps). What should I do, upgrade to Ultimate Speed 30? Or ask for a better price on what I'm paying for now?

snakeye is offline  
Old
09-28-2010, 03:58 PM
  #85
llamateizer
Registered User
 
llamateizer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal
Country:
Posts: 5,408
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by snakeye View Post
I just checked on Videotron's website, and they now offer a 120mbps/20mbps line!

And I also noticed that I'm paying for a service that doesn't exist anymore, High Speed Extreme (10mbps). What should I do, upgrade to Ultimate Speed 30? Or ask for a better price on what I'm paying for now?
i doubt that they would lower the price for a bundle that doesn't exist anymore.
look the price difference and also speed

I passed from 55$ to 30$
and from 5mbps to 6mbps
but unlimited to 100gb/month

llamateizer is offline  
Old
09-28-2010, 06:21 PM
  #86
canadiens1992
Registered User
 
canadiens1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montreal
Country: Canada
Posts: 142
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by neofury View Post
This is actually half true. As you can see from my other posts I admitted Videotron isn't the Videotron of 5-6 years ago where they had sound customer service. Difference is though if you do have a severe problem like say your internet simply isn't working, after 15 minutes on the phone they agree to send a technician to fix the issue within 48 hours. If it's a business line much sooner.

With Bell you spend 2 hours on the phone even though you're an IT specialist and know for a fact the problem is on their end. (I think I know how to unplug a modem/router and plug them back in, do ipconfig /release and /renew in 6 different variations all that have the same result, etc)

So after you spend 2 hours and they don't fix their issue, they make up some random ******** excuse "Oh sir I just realized it's an issue in your zone! It should be resolved soon bye!" Problem is this is never the case and sure enough within a day or two you'll call back and this time they force you to spend 2 hours debugging the same issue again only to tell you the same exact thing. Obviously this time you get pissed off and you tell them you've already been down this road, you're an IT specialist and that it's on their end. They never get it through their thick skull. Then you ask them to just send a technician, that it's on their end and that you can't wait 3 weeks for them to then determine finally that it's been their fault all along (which is what happens if you allow them to play their game, you won't have net for 3-4 weeks because they'll just ******** you and give you the run around constantly)

So finally when you ask for a technician to be sent to your home you no what they say? We're not allowed to do that. EXCUSE ME? You aren't allowed to send a technician to fix the service I'm paying you to provide me with when I've called several times already to resolve it by phone and it hasn't been, have been told it's in my area several times when my neighbors all have and use bell without issues, all when it's on your ****ing end and I'm flat out telling you it is. So finally you tell the guy "look either send me a technician to fix the service you are failing to provide me with or cancel my services entirely". All of the sudden the supervisor you've asked to speak with several times in past conversations is now readily available to take your call. He too says they aren't allowed to send technicians. You ask him to send a technician or you want to speak to somebody who can. He tells you his boss is busy in a meeting or some other ********. You tell him you'll hold until his boss isn't busy.

You hold for 1-2 hours at that point while they play their game, load up some Starcraft 2 and put it on speaker phone. Anyways FINALLY the person who has the authority to actually send you a technician is on the phone. Sure enough you've even been transferred to somebody in their Quebec offices all of the sudden i.e. no longer being outsourced to India, and all of the sudden you get the technician you've been asking for all along, they come to your house, see that you were right all along and that it is on their end, the guy you speak to from the Quebec offices even admits that the outsourcers are failures who can't assist someone with the simplest issue and the technician who comes to your house agrees completely when he sees that you aren't some ****ing idiot and you knew all along it was on their end which he then confirms.

This is what dealing with Bell is like when compared with videotron, all because of one simple issue, the internet is down, has been for days and isn't coming back up. The DSL light on the modem is OFF so I think I can then tell you that it's NOT THE NETWORK, it's NOT MY PC, it doesn't take a ****ing genius to figure that out.

Oh and by the way, one thing they'll always try and get you do is plug into the modem directly, even if you tell them the DSL light is off. For one the light is OFF you **** tard, that means the modem or the line is the issue. For two most people especially businesses have a setup that is too much of a pain in the ass to plug into directly. Not everyone has a laptop and most people use wireless these days, what do you want me to do setup my desktop in the room my router is setup in? For a lot of people again especially businesses this isn't always where the machine is setup. They wanted me one time to go in and start unplugging a cisco router and all this other **** in a professional phone/network setup at a company because they didn't want to send a technician to fix the downed internet when the DSL light wouldn't even light up. I mean for ****s sake all because you refuse to send a technician you're going to make me **** up a companies professionally installed phone/network hardware?

I'm not going into a setup I haven't done and then beginning to start unplugging a cisco router so I can plug a lappy directly into their modem that I already ****ing know isn't working because of the line or the modem being defective. The DSL light isn't on, there is no three ways about it. I just don't understand what is so hard for their support people to understand about that. Do they really have to follow their 10 ****ing retarded steps to a tee so accurately that if the client tells them the DSL light isn't on they can't skip a few steps at LEAST?!?!

It's dam near ****ing ridiculous and if you're trying to say Videotron is anywhere near as bad as that even though they aren't the company they were 5-6 years ago you're sadly mistaken. I know because I'm an IT person who deals with both companies routinely on the residential and business levels. On the business level videotron is still the same company they were 5-6 years ago. On the residential level I'll agree they're slacking but no where near the story I just told you above, not even close. Try 15 minutes of testing and a technician being sent within 48 hours.

That's hardly the debacle described above.
I was with Bell before, and what you described was exactly what we dealt with every 2 months or so....
So I mean, it was plain ******** on their side 6 years ago, but I feel like Videotron doesnt seem to care that Bell is offering like 100 GB of bandwidth while he is only offering 30GB. I told them I would leave altogether if they don't change it.

They were like: "I can't do it sorry, go with Bell if you think it's better."

MY REACTION: "SInce when do you answer like this? I want to talk to a supervisor."

And this is how the 3 first calls gave me as response(YA I CALLED 4 TIMES TO GET APPROPRIATE INFO): "I cannot pass you to my supervisor, I still do not get your problem."
The 3rd one literally made me hate all of videotron. the stupid ****in retard ***** didnt want to pass it to the supervisor and her reason was: I dont want to!!!!!
I pay your salary, now do as I sAY

I finally get to supervisor/ customer satisfaction and they literally tell me to walk if im not happy... WTF?

so i do not know what to do...

Someone proposed Acanac...https://www.acanac.com/DSL.html

For people that are users of Acanac(or ppl that know about it), Is it good?

canadiens1992 is offline  
Old
09-28-2010, 06:40 PM
  #87
Jack Bourdain
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Jack Bourdain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montréal, QC.
Country: Canada
Posts: 12,123
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by canadiens1992 View Post
I was with Bell before, and what you described was exactly what we dealt with every 2 months or so....
So I mean, it was plain ******** on their side 6 years ago, but I feel like Videotron doesnt seem to care that Bell is offering like 100 GB of bandwidth while he is only offering 30GB. I told them I would leave altogether if they don't change it.

They were like: "I can't do it sorry, go with Bell if you think it's better."

MY REACTION: "SInce when do you answer like this? I want to talk to a supervisor."

And this is how the 3 first calls gave me as response(YA I CALLED 4 TIMES TO GET APPROPRIATE INFO): "I cannot pass you to my supervisor, I still do not get your problem."
The 3rd one literally made me hate all of videotron. the stupid ****in retard ***** didnt want to pass it to the supervisor and her reason was: I dont want to!!!!!
I pay your salary, now do as I sAY

I finally get to supervisor/ customer satisfaction and they literally tell me to walk if im not happy... WTF?

so i do not know what to do...

Someone proposed Acanac...https://www.acanac.com/DSL.html

For people that are users of Acanac(or ppl that know about it), Is it good?
From what I saw on their website, Acanac raised the prices and don't pay the taxes anymore (they would include the taxes in their pricing). You can still get cheap internet for one year (that's their special promo), but after that it's going to be more expensive. I'm on my second year, first year I payed 18,95$ (total with taxes), then it went up to 24 or 25$ (with taxes)... and from what I read on their website, next time I re-up, it will go up to 33$. Not sure if I will still want to pay that price for the service they provide. It's DSL internet at a cheap price, but now that the price keeps going up, I rather switch to fiber.

In any case, I don't get whats your problem when it comes to the technical support crew. They have a policy and they are not bending on it. Just because other companies bend over backwards after abuse from customers doesn't mean Videotron should. I'm glad, I've always been against people that yell/scream over the phone because they aren't being given what they want. You get what you pay for, if you want things for free, go somewhere else. If the company if cheating you out of your services or money, then go ahead and scream to them, but if you're mad at them for abiding by the contract/plan you chose, then that's just silly.

Jack Bourdain is offline  
Old
09-28-2010, 06:59 PM
  #88
coolasprICE
Registered User
 
coolasprICE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montreal
Country: Canada
Posts: 9,431
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Bourdain View Post

In any case, I don't get whats your problem when it comes to the technical support crew. They have a policy and they are not bending on it. Just because other companies bend over backwards after abuse from customers doesn't mean Videotron should. I'm glad, I've always been against people that yell/scream over the phone because they aren't being given what they want. You get what you pay for, if you want things for free, go somewhere else. If the company if cheating you out of your services or money, then go ahead and scream to them, but if you're mad at them for abiding by the contract/plan you chose, then that's just silly.
When I'm on a phone with a service provider I always play the " well, hmmm... I think I'm going to cancel the service then... unless you can offer me something special? " card. I do it lots, and often works.

I think it be kind of dumb to not do this, actually...

But I agree, if they're not giving they're not giving , no need to stress and get rude... there's no Law that says they have to.

coolasprICE is offline  
Old
09-28-2010, 07:00 PM
  #89
acemobile
Registered User
 
acemobile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto
Country: Canada
Posts: 377
vCash: 500
Send a message via MSN to acemobile
Bell Fibe 25 -- Free for 4 months.



No contract.. Just make sure to cancel before the 90th day otherwise you will get charged for 1 full month. They require 30 days notification for cancellation.

acemobile is offline  
Old
09-28-2010, 07:12 PM
  #90
Originalsix
Registered User
 
Originalsix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Montreal
Country: Canada
Posts: 516
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by neofury View Post
I live in Beaconsfield but my company is located in DDO. Same thing amazing bandwidth always and never any down time.

Same with the router at home love it.

That having been said though, since when does videotron offer unlimited bandwidth again? I know extreme used to but then they capped it. I personally pay 50$ of overcharge a month because last I checked only the regular 7mbit had a limit of 50$ to what they can overcharge.

I average about 3-4 hundred gigs a month. I do transferring of data between work and home and my gf and I stream and download an absolute ********.
Oh man, you should change your plans, those overcharges were something I had to live with until my contract came up for renewal.

I was on the same HS Extreme Residential plan, and then they capped the bandwidth, and I was being hit with overages every month.

Once my contract come up for renewal I called and told them not to renew, that I was going to cancel, because of the bandwidth usage charges and that my house was high usage. The rep on the other line was like, why don't you change over to the Business HS 7.5MB plan, there are no caps on it. I was like hell yes, changed over same day, plan kicked in right away, locked myself in.

It's only available on the BUSINESS side for the 2.5, 7.5 and 10MB plans (they will give it to residential customers/homes, just be like I work from home a lot and have to transfer a ton of files between home and work). If they ask what you do or company name, just be like "I do "Consulting" or IT work.

This is the one I have (~67$, no cap):

http://affaires.videotron.com/web/sm...speed-internet

Call them and ***** a little of the overage charges, demand a change to the 7.5MB plan. It's also better because they use better QoS on the line, and they will send a tech out if they find they can't get the 7.5MB speeds.


Last edited by Originalsix: 09-28-2010 at 07:18 PM.
Originalsix is offline  
Old
09-28-2010, 08:51 PM
  #91
Azalichio
Registered User
 
Azalichio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,136
vCash: 500
Send a message via MSN to Azalichio
Quote:
Originally Posted by Originalsix View Post
Call them and ***** a little of the overage charges, demand a change to the 7.5MB plan. It's also better because they use better QoS on the line, and they will send a tech out if they find they can't get the 7.5MB speeds.
Please don't do that. No need to whine and stuff, just ask for the commercial CS number.. they'll give it to you and you can call them after that to change plan. Simple, and easy.

Never understood why anyone believe that calling and whining actually get you anywhere. Yeah sometimes it will work, half the time it just pisses the people off, especially if you want to speak to a manager or are talking to one. Whining doesn't solve anything, just make you look like an ass.

Azalichio is offline  
Old
09-28-2010, 09:30 PM
  #92
Originalsix
Registered User
 
Originalsix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Montreal
Country: Canada
Posts: 516
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azalichio View Post
Please don't do that. No need to whine and stuff, just ask for the commercial CS number.. they'll give it to you and you can call them after that to change plan. Simple, and easy.

Never understood why anyone believe that calling and whining actually get you anywhere. Yeah sometimes it will work, half the time it just pisses the people off, especially if you want to speak to a manager or are talking to one. Whining doesn't solve anything, just make you look like an ass.
Videotron did their best impression of Bell to **** over clients when they changed their unlimited cap on their residential customers mid contract. If it wasn't for the fact that the only other alternative is Bell, I would have never stayed and changed over to the business side. I would have thrown them to the ****ing curb. I have no problem *****ing at them, considering I'm paying ridiculous premium prices for the service.

Originalsix is offline  
Old
09-28-2010, 09:47 PM
  #93
canadiens1992
Registered User
 
canadiens1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Montreal
Country: Canada
Posts: 142
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack Bourdain View Post
From what I saw on their website, Acanac raised the prices and don't pay the taxes anymore (they would include the taxes in their pricing). You can still get cheap internet for one year (that's their special promo), but after that it's going to be more expensive. I'm on my second year, first year I payed 18,95$ (total with taxes), then it went up to 24 or 25$ (with taxes)... and from what I read on their website, next time I re-up, it will go up to 33$. Not sure if I will still want to pay that price for the service they provide. It's DSL internet at a cheap price, but now that the price keeps going up, I rather switch to fiber.

In any case, I don't get whats your problem when it comes to the technical support crew. They have a policy and they are not bending on it. Just because other companies bend over backwards after abuse from customers doesn't mean Videotron should. I'm glad, I've always been against people that yell/scream over the phone because they aren't being given what they want. You get what you pay for, if you want things for free, go somewhere else. If the company if cheating you out of your services or money, then go ahead and scream to them, but if you're mad at them for abiding by the contract/plan you chose, then that's just silly.
I never yelled after them... I just got really pissed at them just not passing me to the supervisor OR customer satisfaction.
Isn't it my right because each time I talked to the people, they were like "We can't do anything". Thats when I asked for customer satisfaction.... And it was only for getting my bandwidth limit higher (30 GB to maybe 50-60GB). Is that too much to ask if all the competition is offering 60GB as minimum?

Apart from that, I'm not unhappy from the Videotron products, but with the service Ive had for like the 3-4 last months.... It looks like Bell, but nowhere close to bells ****tiness....

And, for acanac... IS the internet good? I mean does it go down a lot because the price is very affordable?

And what about their VoIP phones? Is it phone by internet?

canadiens1992 is offline  
Old
09-28-2010, 09:56 PM
  #94
TheAntiPrice
Registered User
 
TheAntiPrice's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 493
vCash: 500
Just got the D-Link Xtreme DIR-655 router, haven't set it up yet, let's hope it really is as godly as you guys are making it out to be.

Anything you can do with it to make your torrents download faster? I've heard of port-forwarding, does that work?

TheAntiPrice is offline  
Closed Thread

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:07 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. ©2014 All Rights Reserved.