HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > General Hockey Discussion > National Hockey League Talk
National Hockey League Talk Discuss NHL players, teams, games, and the Stanley Cup Playoffs.

Tampas first goal game 5

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
04-23-2011, 12:53 PM
  #1
Crosbyfan
Registered User
 
Crosbyfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 7,577
vCash: 500
Tampas first goal game 5

Did the ref signal the first shot that went off both posts to be a goal?

If he did (still answer even if he didn't) would that end the play?

I think he actually waved it off but wondered how that would work if he had signaled it in. Would that have negated a goal that was about to happen?


Last edited by Crosbyfan: 04-23-2011 at 12:59 PM.
Crosbyfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-23-2011, 12:58 PM
  #2
newham89
Registered User
 
newham89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Nottingham, UK
Country: United Kingdom
Posts: 1,140
vCash: 500
No, the rebound was the goal. The ref waving the initial shot off doesn't affect this.

newham89 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-23-2011, 01:00 PM
  #3
MoreMogilny
Cap'n
 
MoreMogilny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oshawa
Country: Canada
Posts: 25,750
vCash: 500
I don't think he signaled it a goal until the second shot actually went in the net.

MoreMogilny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-23-2011, 01:01 PM
  #4
LateNightOilerFan
Registered User
 
LateNightOilerFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 880
vCash: 500
He waived off the first shot that pinged the posts and then signalled the goal correctly.

If he had signalled a goal first, I think it would go to video review to determine that it wasn't a goal, and then the actual goal would have still counted because the play would be deemed to have been allowed to carry on.

LateNightOilerFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-23-2011, 01:02 PM
  #5
Ubi Sunt
QQ Joe
 
Ubi Sunt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 3,576
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by LateNightOilerFan View Post
He waived off the first shot that pinged the posts and then signalled the goal correctly.

If he had signalled a goal first, I think it would go to video review to determine that it wasn't a goal, and then the actual goal would have still counted because the play would be deemed to have been allowed to carry on.
But doesn't signaling a goal end the play?

Ubi Sunt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-23-2011, 01:03 PM
  #6
Crosbyfan
Registered User
 
Crosbyfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 7,577
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by MoreMogilny View Post
I don't think he signaled it a goal until the second shot actually went in the net.
I think you are right, but wondered what would have been the result if he had made the mistake of thinking it was in.

Crosbyfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-23-2011, 01:05 PM
  #7
crashman
Registered User
 
crashman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Michigan
Posts: 5,155
vCash: 1376
I'd have to see it again but it looked like it went in the net on the initial shot. That was a amazing play, so many passes.

That's a good question, that's why refs shouldn't blow the whistle unless they're sure the puck went. They can always review the play after the next play stoppage and count the goal if they missed it.

crashman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-23-2011, 01:07 PM
  #8
Crosbyfan
Registered User
 
Crosbyfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 7,577
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by LateNightOilerFan View Post
He waived off the first shot that pinged the posts and then signalled the goal correctly.

If he had signalled a goal first, I think it would go to video review to determine that it wasn't a goal, and then the actual goal would have still counted because the play would be deemed to have been allowed to carry on.
So the players disregard the ref and keep playing if they thought he was wrong? For how long?

(in the hypothetical case where the ref made the error)

Crosbyfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-23-2011, 01:10 PM
  #9
fing0rz
Registered User
 
fing0rz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 1,809
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ubi Sunt View Post
But doesn't signaling a goal end the play?

i would think this and would think the goal would not count.

fing0rz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-23-2011, 01:10 PM
  #10
kdon999
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 168
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crosbyfan View Post
So the players disregard the ref and keep playing if they thought he was wrong? For how long?

(in the hypothetical case where the ref made the error)
Seriously, why do you care? Why? This thread is retarded.

kdon999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-23-2011, 01:12 PM
  #11
fing0rz
Registered User
 
fing0rz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Buffalo, NY
Posts: 1,809
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdon999 View Post
Seriously, why do you care? Why? This thread is retarded.

hows this thread retarded?

I think its a legit question.

If a ref signals a goal, is that the end of the play even if it didnt go in?

(although the OP was a little confusing on what he was asking.)

fing0rz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-23-2011, 01:16 PM
  #12
Crosbyfan
Registered User
 
Crosbyfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 7,577
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by kdon999 View Post
Seriously, why do you care? Why? This thread is retarded.
LOL, You not understanding why I asked makes the thread retarded?

Seriously, It's simply a question on the rules.

Crosbyfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-23-2011, 01:29 PM
  #13
LateNightOilerFan
Registered User
 
LateNightOilerFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Posts: 880
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crosbyfan View Post
So the players disregard the ref and keep playing if they thought he was wrong? For how long?

(in the hypothetical case where the ref made the error)
The players keep playing until they hear a whistle though. If the ref signalled a goal, he would then blow the whistle so you aren't talking a long time.

If you want, the rules are here: http://www.nhl.com/ice/page.htm?id=26489

LateNightOilerFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-23-2011, 01:37 PM
  #14
NinthSpoke06
Registered User
 
NinthSpoke06's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Chestnut Hill
Country: United States
Posts: 9,567
vCash: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ubi Sunt View Post
But doesn't signaling a goal end the play?
No. The signalling of a goal alone does not end the play. The refs while determines when a play is blown dead.

NinthSpoke06 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-23-2011, 01:44 PM
  #15
MoreMogilny
Cap'n
 
MoreMogilny's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Oshawa
Country: Canada
Posts: 25,750
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by NathanSeguin View Post
No. The signalling of a goal alone does not end the play. The refs while determines when a play is blown dead.
Yeah, I would think a whistle blow should determine a play blown dead.

Unless of course if the ref did signal a goal, does that automatically mean "intent to blow the whistle"?

MoreMogilny is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-23-2011, 01:52 PM
  #16
UnderratedBrooks44
Registered User
 
UnderratedBrooks44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Miranda's house
Posts: 12,791
vCash: 500
If they think it's a goal and play continues they keep playing and on the next whistle they review it. If it did in fact go in it counts and they "rewind" the clock to when the goal was scored. So yes in case you're wondering if the other team scores and it turns out the original goal went in the second one doesn't count because it never happened really.

UnderratedBrooks44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-23-2011, 02:04 PM
  #17
SuburbanRhythm
ThorntonSezNoHittin
 
SuburbanRhythm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Pittsburgh
Posts: 4,567
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Crosbyfan View Post
So the players disregard the ref and keep playing if they thought he was wrong? For how long?

(in the hypothetical case where the ref made the error)
Not to derail the thread, but this made me laugh. At HF, the ref is always wrong, it's never hypothetical.

SuburbanRhythm is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-23-2011, 02:09 PM
  #18
Crosbyfan
Registered User
 
Crosbyfan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 7,577
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by UnderratedBrooks44 View Post
If they think it's a goal and play continues they keep playing and on the next whistle they review it. If it did in fact go in it counts and they "rewind" the clock to when the goal was scored. So yes in case you're wondering if the other team scores and it turns out the original goal went in the second one doesn't count because it never happened really.
No. I was wondering if a goal signal would, or could, end the play, even if a "real" goal was imminent, and thereby cost the team a goal.

In this particular case a signal was made after the puck went off both posts, but the ref was not in full view. I think he was making a "wash out" signal to indicate the puck had not gone in. After Gagne scored you could see a goal was being signaled at that point.

I know they checked before the faceoff to see if the puck was in on the initial shot before awarding the goal to Gagne.

So the question is a hypothetical one; What if he had signaled a goal after the first shot?

Crosbyfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-23-2011, 03:00 PM
  #19
Doctor Drej
Unregistered User
 
Doctor Drej's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: The Quiet Room
Country: United States
Posts: 10,920
vCash: 500
From the replay Sun Sports showed it looked like Purcell's shot initially went in but still a smart play by Gagne to just avoid all confusion together and toss it right back in the net.

That was a really pretty play. Teddy has some sick hands.

Doctor Drej is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:13 AM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2014 All Rights Reserved.