HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > NHL Eastern Conference > Metropolitan Division > New York Rangers
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Notices

All Things Viewing (Providers, HD, Online, Etc)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
12-15-2011, 04:13 PM
  #476
ECL
Very slippery slope
 
ECL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Middle America
Country: United States
Posts: 80,068
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to ECL
Quote:
Originally Posted by NHRangerfan View Post
The FCC isn't ordering Cablevision to provide the programming for free, so it kind of make your Apple vs Microsoft argument moot....only that they make it available for a fee the way they do everyone else. Would you prefer multiple cable/fiber carriers based on who owns programming or an exclusive agreement? Cablevisions arguments in court have been that HD is no different than the SD content they currently have a carriage agreement with Verizon for.
Hah, could you imagine having to have three different cable providers to watch football, hockey and baseball?

__________________
"Of course giving Sather cap space is like giving teenagers whiskey and car keys." - SBOB
"Watching Sather build a team is like watching a blind man with no fingers trying to put together an elaborate puzzle." - Shadowtron
I still think there should be a section of people at MSG behind the visiting bench, in curly wigs, and dark rimmed glasses, calling themselves the Pidtophiles. - Zamboner
ECL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-15-2011, 04:35 PM
  #477
DubiDubiDoo
Registered User
 
DubiDubiDoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Garden City, NY
Country: United States
Posts: 2,927
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to DubiDubiDoo
Quote:
Originally Posted by NHRangerfan View Post
The FCC isn't ordering Cablevision to provide the programming for free, so it kind of make your Apple vs Microsoft argument moot....only that they make it available for a fee the way they do everyone else. Would you prefer multiple cable/fiber carriers based on who owns programming or an exclusive agreement? Cablevisions arguments in court have been that HD is no different than the SD content they currently have a carriage agreement with Verizon for.
You do bring up a good point, Cablevisions arguement that HD and SD are really no different is definately laughable.
I would have prefered cablevision claim "look, we invested in the purchase of MSG as a exclusive bonus for our customers, so we could advertise a product others dont have in the market, no different than verizon investing in an advanced system for its customers that it advertises as an advantage over its competitors"

On those grounds I side with cablevision for making the investment and taking the risks involved with owning a sports franchise...

but your right, based on the grounds that SD and HD are essentially the same product...lol, not so much

DubiDubiDoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-15-2011, 05:06 PM
  #478
PromNite
This is awkward...
 
PromNite's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Tampa, FL
Country: United States
Posts: 9,213
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to PromNite
I just hope this means I can finally watch an MSG HD feed on Center Ice. I'm always stuck with the terrible low-def feed if it's the MSG feed, or the other team's HD feed, which I always begrudgingly pick.

__________________


Adam Tensta's from the 163
PromNite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-15-2011, 05:15 PM
  #479
SRTtoZ
Registered User
 
SRTtoZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New York, NY
Country: United States
Posts: 6,391
vCash: 500
wrong thread.

SRTtoZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-15-2011, 05:20 PM
  #480
Tomas Sandstrom 28
Registered User
 
Tomas Sandstrom 28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 569
vCash: 500
Just ordered Verizon... can't wait!

Tomas Sandstrom 28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-15-2011, 05:28 PM
  #481
bettercallstaal
Stepan Stepan Stepan
 
bettercallstaal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Wingdale
Country: Sweden
Posts: 2,355
vCash: 500
The lack of MSG HD is one of the only things that I missed about Comcast. The other being their on demand is so much better than Fios. I'm so excited to see the Rangers in HD again though. This makes my day.

bettercallstaal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-15-2011, 05:54 PM
  #482
wolfgaze
Interesting Cat
 
wolfgaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ
Country: United States
Posts: 12,364
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tomas Sandstrom 28 View Post
Just ordered Verizon... can't wait!
Make sure you are receiving (or request) the new Motorola Multi-Room DVR's, they are black finish and store 500GB's.... 2-way communication with the non-DVR boxes too....


Last edited by wolfgaze: 12-15-2011 at 06:21 PM.
wolfgaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-15-2011, 06:09 PM
  #483
SRTtoZ
Registered User
 
SRTtoZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New York, NY
Country: United States
Posts: 6,391
vCash: 500
Also if you have an Xbox 360, you can get the Fios app and it automatically configures itself to work as a Cable box and DVR.

And lastly, I Just put on the Isles/Stars game on MSG+ HD and wow, the feed look FANTASTIC.

SRTtoZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-15-2011, 06:27 PM
  #484
Hobgoblin Steve
Bacon of Light
 
Hobgoblin Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bay Ridge
Country: Germany
Posts: 2,965
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRTtoZ View Post
Also if you have an Xbox 360, you can get the Fios app and it automatically configures itself to work as a Cable box and DVR.

And lastly, I Just put on the Isles/Stars game on MSG+ HD and wow, the feed look FANTASTIC.

wait what? explain?

Hobgoblin Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-15-2011, 06:32 PM
  #485
SRTtoZ
Registered User
 
SRTtoZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New York, NY
Country: United States
Posts: 6,391
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hobgoblin Steve View Post
wait what? explain?
If you have a 360, there is a new FIOS app under the TV section of the Xbox live dashboard, you can download it and it will search to see if you're connected to a Fios network and configure itself. Then you can watch TV just like you can with a normal cable box and also use your 360 Hard drive as a DVR. Its pretty cool, I downloaded it the other day and it works great. You just need to make sure your connection is good.

SRTtoZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-15-2011, 06:34 PM
  #486
ECL
Very slippery slope
 
ECL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Middle America
Country: United States
Posts: 80,068
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to ECL
Works at my rents house in Monmouth NJ. Perfection.

ECL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-15-2011, 06:37 PM
  #487
ECL
Very slippery slope
 
ECL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Middle America
Country: United States
Posts: 80,068
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to ECL
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRTtoZ View Post
If you have a 360, there is a new FIOS app under the TV section of the Xbox live dashboard, you can download it and it will search to see if you're connected to a Fios network and configure itself. Then you can watch TV just like you can with a normal cable box and also use your 360 Hard drive as a DVR. Its pretty cool, I downloaded it the other day and it works great. You just need to make sure your connection is good.
It's only 26 channels, though.

ECL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-15-2011, 06:42 PM
  #488
SRTtoZ
Registered User
 
SRTtoZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: New York, NY
Country: United States
Posts: 6,391
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonathan. View Post
It's only 26 channels, though.
Yea I know but you would assume they will improve upon it in the future plus its free (unless you dont pay for XBL gold).

SRTtoZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-15-2011, 06:47 PM
  #489
Hobgoblin Steve
Bacon of Light
 
Hobgoblin Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bay Ridge
Country: Germany
Posts: 2,965
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRTtoZ View Post
If you have a 360, there is a new FIOS app under the TV section of the Xbox live dashboard, you can download it and it will search to see if you're connected to a Fios network and configure itself. Then you can watch TV just like you can with a normal cable box and also use your 360 Hard drive as a DVR. Its pretty cool, I downloaded it the other day and it works great. You just need to make sure your connection is good.
can I set to record stuff from a different floor though? The DVR is on the top floor and I have a regular box where the Xbox is(basement).

Hobgoblin Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-15-2011, 06:54 PM
  #490
ECL
Very slippery slope
 
ECL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Middle America
Country: United States
Posts: 80,068
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to ECL
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRTtoZ View Post
Yea I know but you would assume they will improve upon it in the future plus its free (unless you dont pay for XBL gold).
Well, it's not really free then.

ECL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-15-2011, 07:00 PM
  #491
BrooklynRangersFan
Change is good.
 
BrooklynRangersFan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Brooklyn of course
Country: United States
Posts: 10,910
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonathan. View Post
It's only 26 channels, though.
Does that include channel 578...?

BrooklynRangersFan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-15-2011, 08:57 PM
  #492
ECL
Very slippery slope
 
ECL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Middle America
Country: United States
Posts: 80,068
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to ECL
Quote:
Originally Posted by BrooklynRangersFan View Post
Does that include channel 578...?
Nope.

ECL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-15-2011, 09:06 PM
  #493
wolfgaze
Interesting Cat
 
wolfgaze's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: NJ
Country: United States
Posts: 12,364
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hobgoblin Steve View Post
can I set to record stuff from a different floor though? The DVR is on the top floor and I have a regular box where the Xbox is(basement).
Get the Motorola 500GB DVR from Verizon... You can trade in your current DVR at a drop-off center... It has a boat load of storage space and allows you to have 2-way communication with your other boxes... You would be able to watch, record, and delete recordings from the non-DVR boxes, which you weren't able to do with the older versions of their multi-room DVR, which only has 1-way communication (you could watch programs you recorded on the DVR but not delete or record programs from those non-DVR boxes)

wolfgaze is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-15-2011, 09:09 PM
  #494
gluvhand
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Rockland County
Country: Greece
Posts: 966
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by wolfgaze View Post
Get the Motorola 500GB DVR from Verizon... You can trade in your current DVR at a drop-off center... It has a boat load of storage space and allows you to have 2-way communication with your other boxes... You would be able to watch, record, and delete recordings from the non-DVR boxes, which you weren't able to do with the older versions of their multi-room DVR, which only has 1-way communication (You could watch programs you recorded on the DVR but not delete or record programs form those other boxes)
As well as connect an external hard drive for additional storage. They're advertising 1TB but I think people have connected 2TB drives successfully.

gluvhand is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-15-2011, 09:43 PM
  #495
ECL
Very slippery slope
 
ECL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Middle America
Country: United States
Posts: 80,068
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to ECL
Quote:
Originally Posted by gluvhand View Post
As well as connect an external hard drive for additional storage. They're advertising 1TB but I think people have connected 2TB drives successfully.
That's pretty ****ing awesome. Quite a bit of storage space for HD stuff.

ECL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-16-2011, 09:04 AM
  #496
skroob**
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 1,375
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by gluvhand View Post
As well as connect an external hard drive for additional storage. They're advertising 1TB but I think people have connected 2TB drives successfully.
too bad the price of Hard Drives have jumped up in price by 250-300% in the last month or so. Stupid floods.

skroob** is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-16-2011, 09:58 AM
  #497
abev
HFBoards Sponsor
 
abev's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: NY
Country: United States
Posts: 3,595
vCash: 500
Cablevision customer here ready to switch. It looks like if the Rangers are on the "3rd" msg channel (MSG+?) they will not be in hd on fios?

abev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-16-2011, 10:59 AM
  #498
Puckface NYR*
R.I.P. Boogyman
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Long Island
Posts: 8,167
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by SRTtoZ View Post
Yea I know but you would assume they will improve upon it in the future plus its free (unless you dont pay for XBL gold).
Wait so if i have xbox 360 and this app i don't need a dvr subscription just the one to my gold membership?

Puckface NYR* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-16-2011, 11:02 AM
  #499
NYRFAN218
Mac Truck
 
NYRFAN218's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Country: United States
Posts: 12,696
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by abev View Post
Cablevision customer here ready to switch. It looks like if the Rangers are on the "3rd" msg channel (MSG+?) they will not be in hd on fios?
If they are on the overflow channel (MSG2 or MSG+2) they will not be in HD.

__________________
http://hfboards.com/image.php?u=53946&type=sigpic&dateline=1320361610
NYRFAN218 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
12-16-2011, 11:04 AM
  #500
Hobgoblin Steve
Bacon of Light
 
Hobgoblin Steve's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bay Ridge
Country: Germany
Posts: 2,965
vCash: 500
So those with Fios last night, did you notice the game being laggy, or choppy? The whole time, my tv never showed smooth action.

Also, those with Vizio TVs, is there a good setting number for hockey? They have presets for football and whatnot, but no hockey.

Hobgoblin Steve is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 AM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2015 All Rights Reserved.