The decision to suspend them one game was good, and the team rallied behind it. The decision to suspend again was wrong, and now, as WS has brought up, if he brings them back it won't be because the message was well sent, it'll be because they lost and that nullifies the message.
I agree with what you are saying but technically they weren't suspended again, only scratched.
Why? I'm pretty sure the rule is the puck must be shot out of play. That deflected off Knuble's hand, he didn't pick it up and throw it.
"When any player, while in his defending zone, shoots or bats (using his hand or his stick) the puck directly (non-deflected) out of the playing surface, except where there is no glass, a penalty shall be assessed for delaying the game. When the puck is shot into the players’ bench, the penalty will not apply. When the puck is shot over the glass ‘behind’ the players’ bench, the penalty will be assessed."
That's from the rules, so it definitely should have been a penalty.