HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > NHL Eastern Conference > Metropolitan Division > New York Rangers
Notices

NBC Sports on Cablevision Freezing Issues

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
05-21-2012, 01:30 PM
  #1
LordsCup*
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 794
vCash: 500
NBC Sports on Cablevision Freezing Issues

At first I thought it was just me, but now i'm hearing this problem is happening to a lot of Cablevision customers...

For months now NBC Sports freezes for a second or two every 25-30 seconds during a hockey broadcast. When it freezes for a second during play is extremely annoying because you can miss a big check, shot, or even a goal.

Is there a way to fix it? I've tried resetting my box but that didnt do anything. It has to be on NBC or Cablevisions end since its just that one channel.

Who else is this happening to? Have you made any calls?

LordsCup* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-21-2012, 01:40 PM
  #2
TheCaptain
Registered User
 
TheCaptain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 116
vCash: 500
At a bar I went to the game didn't work at all on Cablevision.

TheCaptain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-21-2012, 01:41 PM
  #3
Abooch68
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 2,212
vCash: 500
Yes.. Get DirecTV or Fios when MSGHD comes to it..

Abooch68 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-21-2012, 01:42 PM
  #4
LetsGoBlueshirts
Registered User
 
LetsGoBlueshirts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: New Joisey
Country: United States
Posts: 498
vCash: 500
I thought it was just me as well. I keep resetting my box hoping it will change, sometimes it gets better. Only noticed it in the past week or so, I'm in northern NJ (for reference).

LetsGoBlueshirts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-21-2012, 01:49 PM
  #5
TrueBlue42
Registered User
 
TrueBlue42's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: New Jersey
Country: United States
Posts: 150
vCash: 500
Send a message via ICQ to TrueBlue42 Send a message via AIM to TrueBlue42 Send a message via MSN to TrueBlue42 Send a message via Skype™ to TrueBlue42
I've had no issues (Cablevision of Hudson County) with NBCSN, well no troubles besides when my DVR had a head platter collision earlier this year and I lost all my recorded games :'(.

The only time I had issues with video stutter/freezing was at my office and the problem was we were getting a direct feed from the distribution line without a tap in place (leading to extremely high TX/RX voltages and a very bad SNR.)

You can call the vision and ask them to do some diagnostics, they can generally get diagnostic information on your box over the cable network (the wonders of digital cable eh?) and determine if there is a wiring or signal issue to the box.

TrueBlue42 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-21-2012, 01:55 PM
  #6
rick063092
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 39
vCash: 500
Never had a problem w/ NBCSN..until they took over exclusive 2nd round and beyond broadcasts..Strangely doesn't freeze as often during non-Ranger broadcasts..Dolan! I'm in Nassau btw..

rick063092 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-21-2012, 01:58 PM
  #7
Greg02
Registered User
 
Greg02's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 1,655
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abooch68 View Post
Yes.. Get DirecTV or Fios when MSGHD comes to it..
Fios does have MSG HD.

Greg02 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-21-2012, 01:58 PM
  #8
redfzn
#94
 
redfzn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: NYC
Country: United States
Posts: 2,272
vCash: 500
Happens occasionally on Time Warner as well.

redfzn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-21-2012, 02:00 PM
  #9
RangerFan09
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Country: United States
Posts: 167
vCash: 500
Ive never had a problem with NBCSN on cablevision *knock on wood*

RangerFan09 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-21-2012, 02:02 PM
  #10
Kane One
Global Moderator
vBookie Bookie
 
Kane One's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Brooklyn, New NY
Country: United States
Posts: 25,905
vCash: 3000
Cablevision has been sucking huge balls for months now. Once FiOS comes to my neighborhood, I'm switching.

__________________
++++++++++[>+++++++>++++++++++>+++>+<<<<
-]>++++++.>+.+++++++++++++++.>+++++++++.<-.
>-------.<<-----.>----.>.<<+++++++++++.>-------------
-.+++++++++++++.-------.--.+++++++++++++.+.>+.>.

NHL Standings Under Different Point Systems
Kane One is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-21-2012, 02:08 PM
  #11
NYRFAN218
Brass God
 
NYRFAN218's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Country: United States
Posts: 11,449
vCash: 500
Haven't had any issues that have been too annoying on Cablevision here in Brooklyn. Maybe a quick freeze up once in a while but nothing too bad.

__________________
http://hfboards.com/image.php?u=53946&type=sigpic&dateline=1320361610
NYRFAN218 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-21-2012, 02:08 PM
  #12
Miamipuck
Al Swearengen
 
Miamipuck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Take a Wild Guess
Posts: 578
vCash: 500
It happens down here all the time. I have Comcast, South Florida. It is monumentally annoying.

Miamipuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-21-2012, 02:17 PM
  #13
giacomin1
Registered User
 
giacomin1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Central NJ
Country: United States
Posts: 126
vCash: 500
I have had this in the past, but almost not at all recently. I suggest having Cablevision check your signal strength. That's what seemed to fix it for me.

giacomin1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
05-21-2012, 02:20 PM
  #14
Shakezilla
Rookie User
 
Shakezilla's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Country: United States
Posts: 99
vCash: 500
try getting a new box. are you using HDMI ?

Shakezilla is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-21-2012, 02:25 PM
  #15
NCRanger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Charlotte, NC
Country: United States
Posts: 1,022
vCash: 500
Has to be an NBCSN issue. I'm not getting picture freezes, but I'm getting sound drops on DirecTV in Charlotte, NC.

NCRanger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-21-2012, 02:30 PM
  #16
charlie460
Stone Age Hockey
 
charlie460's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Florida
Country: United States
Posts: 3,594
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Abooch68 View Post
Yes.. Get DirecTV or Fios when MSGHD comes to it..
DirecTV and FiOS both have MSG and MSG 2 in HD (and MSG+).

Also, on DirecTV I have had no issues with freezing on NBCSN. Audio volume fluctuates but that's about it. (not a complete drop of audio like some have mentioned)

charlie460 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-21-2012, 03:05 PM
  #17
nyrmessier011
Registered User
 
nyrmessier011's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Charlotte/NYC
Country: United States
Posts: 3,347
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to nyrmessier011
brutal. CVC is such ****

nyrmessier011 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-21-2012, 03:10 PM
  #18
NYRKindms
Registered User
 
NYRKindms's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 522
vCash: 500
It has to be the boxes

We haven't had any freezing issues. Some dropped signal for very brief intervals but very rare

I think it is the cable boxes. I had directv and switched to cablevision. I couldn't believe how old the tech was that they are putting in peoples homes. the DVR i got from cablevision is using IDE HDDs. You almost can't find those anymore.

I had to have them come out and give me a new box as the platter spin noise was unbearable. He told me they are all refurbished. I guess there is some new tech out there but he said most people still have the older units.

NYRKindms is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-21-2012, 03:10 PM
  #19
GregSirico
Registered User
 
GregSirico's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Country: United States
Posts: 4,555
vCash: 500
I have the same issue with TWC

GregSirico is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-21-2012, 03:14 PM
  #20
007
Olympic nut
 
007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Mannahatta
Country: Lebanon
Posts: 3,471
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to 007 Send a message via MSN to 007
I've had that issue with TWC, but not often.

007 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-21-2012, 03:31 PM
  #21
Draft Guru
The Wizard of Özil
 
Draft Guru's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Long Island
Country: United States
Posts: 6,569
vCash: 500
I've had the same issue with 4 different HD DVR boxes in my house for the last few weeks. We just had Cablevision come out two weeks ago to fix our Internet signal and while the guy was here he checked the signals to all the cable boxes and said everything was fine.

Other channels work properly, as does NBC Sports EXCEPT during game broadcasts. It's so annoying and almost unbearable to try and watch. It has to be on their end or Cablevisions end. Something's not right

Draft Guru is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-21-2012, 04:11 PM
  #22
mjdlight
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 125
vCash: 500
As others have said, the best solution for CVC issues is to switch to FIOS or DirecTV. NBC Sports comes in with out any freezes or glitches on my FIOS service, and I literally have not dropped the internet for even a second since I got FIOS in September 2008. That includes several blizzards and Hurricane Irene. And MSGHD on FIOS is stunning (now that it finally got here!)

mjdlight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-21-2012, 04:16 PM
  #23
averyrule
Registered User
 
averyrule's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Long Island, NY
Country: United States
Posts: 375
vCash: 500
So it's not just me! That **** is so annoying!

averyrule is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-21-2012, 04:20 PM
  #24
charlie460
Stone Age Hockey
 
charlie460's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Florida
Country: United States
Posts: 3,594
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by mjdlight View Post
And MSGHD on FIOS is stunning (now that it finally got here!)
Ironic that MSG HD looks noticably better on DirecTV and FiOS than it does on Cablevision. All Cablevision HD channels have macroblocking/pixelation because they overcompress their HD. It really does look a lot better.

charlie460 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
05-21-2012, 05:01 PM
  #25
goalie dude
Rookie User
 
goalie dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: NYC
Country: United States
Posts: 120
vCash: 500
yeah cablevision compression is ******.. Wish I could get FiOS in my area on LI, but they dont allow it here :\

goalie dude is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 AM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. ©2014 All Rights Reserved.