HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Fantasy Hockey Talk > EA Sports NHL
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
EA Sports NHL Discussion forum for EA Sports NHL video games.

Be A Pro Thread

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
09-13-2012, 07:23 PM
  #51
IHaveNoCreativity
HFB Partner
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Somewhere in Quebec.
Country: Canada
Posts: 9,232
vCash: 500
Memorial cup with Sherbrooke, I had an insane post season, with 30 goals in 26 games I believe... Came down from 0-3 in the first round against Rouyn-Noranda...

IHaveNoCreativity is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-13-2012, 07:45 PM
  #52
Use the Schwartz*
****in' eh
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Country: Canada
Posts: 4,512
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaNcAlandariel View Post
Has this scene happened to you in the previous versions of NHL or just in the new one? I haven't gotten to play much of NHL 13 yet so I haven't taken too many hits to be able to have a decent shot at seeing an injury occur to my pro.
Just this one as far as I remember

Use the Schwartz* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-13-2012, 07:48 PM
  #53
Use the Schwartz*
****in' eh
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Country: Canada
Posts: 4,512
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by SaNcAlandariel View Post
Interesting, I think I'll try this.
It's a good way to beat the system. You should be playing every few games to get to exp required to stay or move up the lines. That's too time consuming so I just intervene when it's close, OT or my player has a chance at a milestone or a hat trick

Use the Schwartz* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-13-2012, 10:00 PM
  #54
Use the Schwartz*
****in' eh
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Country: Canada
Posts: 4,512
vCash: 500
Noticed that after I downloaded a tuner tonight, I had two freezes. I'll have to clear my cache. Or just save a lot.

17 years old, back on my quest for 60 goals. Have 17 in 18 so far.

It's funny how they seem to treat the second year of junior like a joke. They put it there but it's so incomplete. My teams bottom 6 consists of 4 made up players( all DFD) Ryan falkemham who's 45 overall and Austin hardie (also a d) who is 55 overall. My goals this year( after going 55-41 as a 16 year old) are to score 15 goals and get 17 assists.

Do these guys not play these games past the menus or what?

Use the Schwartz* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-14-2012, 03:09 AM
  #55
Tak7
Registered User
 
Tak7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: GTA or the UK
Posts: 6,865
vCash: 500
^That pretty much is Be a Pro right there - it's always felt like an incomplete, broken, and ignored game mode.

I've not touched it in two years, and it's a shame as it sounds as if it's not really improved.

Tak7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-14-2012, 09:47 AM
  #56
Propane Nightmares
Sales & Marketing
 
Propane Nightmares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Country: United Kingdom
Posts: 48,452
vCash: 500
Goalie mode is still broken, I'm done with it.

Propane Nightmares is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
09-14-2012, 11:13 AM
  #57
SaNcAlandariel
Registered User
 
SaNcAlandariel's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 288
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by 99 Problems View Post
Goalie mode is still broken, I'm done with it.
How so? Can you explain more about how it's broken? Are the shots still too few on the lower difficulties?

SaNcAlandariel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-14-2012, 12:48 PM
  #58
ChibiPooky
Moderator
Yay hockey!
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Fairfax, VA
Country: United States
Posts: 9,907
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by 99 Problems View Post
Goalie mode is still broken, I'm done with it.
Really? I haven't had any problems in BaP goalie, other than that I'm terrible.

ChibiPooky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-14-2012, 01:28 PM
  #59
LemieuxFTW
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Toronto
Country: Canada
Posts: 146
vCash: 500
I was having trouble with Goalie, not enough shots and usually the chances they get are high scoring chances and the power just blows it past my 50 ovr or whatever it starts out at.

EDIT: also, can someone fill me in on an easy way to get 200 hits? I adjusted the sliders and everything and the CPU just rolls off them and they dont register... or I hit them with my defensive d man 99 checking 96 strength and I AM THE ONE WHO FALLS?

LemieuxFTW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-14-2012, 01:35 PM
  #60
Propane Nightmares
Sales & Marketing
 
Propane Nightmares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Country: United Kingdom
Posts: 48,452
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by LemieuxFTW View Post
I was having trouble with Goalie, not enough shots and usually the chances they get are high scoring chances and the power just blows it past my 50 ovr or whatever it starts out at.
What he said, I will be in perfect position but my guy will let in the softest shot ever

Propane Nightmares is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
09-14-2012, 01:59 PM
  #61
Smash88
Registered User
 
Smash88's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 1,726
vCash: 500
Ok so i'm new to the online stuff (always played the NHL series but never went online)

So from what I gather I use my BAP in the EASHL? Is that right?

Smash88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-14-2012, 02:25 PM
  #62
Tak7
Registered User
 
Tak7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: GTA or the UK
Posts: 6,865
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Smash88 View Post
Ok so i'm new to the online stuff (always played the NHL series but never went online)

So from what I gather I use my BAP in the EASHL? Is that right?
You can, yes.

What everyone does is they create their own players for each different position - an offensive left Dman who is small, quick, agile, with good passing.

A left winger who has good speed, puck control, etc.

And then - once you get into a game and select the position you want to play, the created player you created for that particular position is the one that you end up playing with.

In your (and many other people's) cases, if you created a Be a Pro who is, say a center, then he would be used in the online game when the center position belonged to you.

Many other people don't play Be a Pro at all, so use their created players specifically for EASHL.

Tak7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-14-2012, 02:29 PM
  #63
Tak7
Registered User
 
Tak7's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: GTA or the UK
Posts: 6,865
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by LemieuxFTW View Post
I was having trouble with Goalie, not enough shots and usually the chances they get are high scoring chances and the power just blows it past my 50 ovr or whatever it starts out at.

EDIT: also, can someone fill me in on an easy way to get 200 hits? I adjusted the sliders and everything and the CPU just rolls off them and they dont register... or I hit them with my defensive d man 99 checking 96 strength and I AM THE ONE WHO FALLS?

Firstly in regards to your goalie - if you are playing offline, consider a few things: a) adjust the difficulty to superstar; b) adjust the sliders to give you/your team a chance. Superstar will ensure that you get the shots you need, and for whatever reason the game plays far more naturally in superstar mode (no silly snipes like in All-star). Adjust the sliders accordingly. If you feel like the other team is all over you, consider giving your team more acceleration and better fatigue recovery etc. Also consider adjusting the opposition's shot power/accuracy to give yourself a chance.

Second - On the hits. Make sure that again, the sliders are in your favor. In order to get around the ice and hit people, you will need to be a) quicker than them; adjust player acceleration and speed. You will need to be stronger than them b) adjust aggression). You will need to be c) hitting them hard; adjust hitting power. And of course you'll just need some good old fashioned assistance so d) adjust the hitting assistance to the very max.

Doing those will help you out.

Tak7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-14-2012, 03:09 PM
  #64
CaptainCamaro
Registered User
 
CaptainCamaro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Posts: 225
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tak7 View Post
You can, yes.

What everyone does is they create their own players for each different position - an offensive left Dman who is small, quick, agile, with good passing.

A left winger who has good speed, puck control, etc.

And then - once you get into a game and select the position you want to play, the created player you created for that particular position is the one that you end up playing with.

In your (and many other people's) cases, if you created a Be a Pro who is, say a center, then he would be used in the online game when the center position belonged to you.

Many other people don't play Be a Pro at all, so use their created players specifically for EASHL.

I could be wrong but... i'm pretty sure you CANNOT use your be a pro character in the EASHL.... the EASHL you need to get your own levels online in order to gain experience and get more skill xp to spend.

CaptainCamaro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-14-2012, 03:38 PM
  #65
SMoneyMonkey
Registered User
 
SMoneyMonkey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: LA/MTL
Country: Canada
Posts: 2,506
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by 99 Problems View Post
Goalie mode is still broken, I'm done with it.
Agreed. I'm tired of having to butcher the settings to make it in the least bit playable. The game's pretty okay, I am still hoping the EA crumbles so a respectable dev studio can pick up the series.

SMoneyMonkey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-14-2012, 03:59 PM
  #66
Propane Nightmares
Sales & Marketing
 
Propane Nightmares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Country: United Kingdom
Posts: 48,452
vCash: 500
I just get the feeling EA competely neglects be a pro, they just give us things like trade requests because it's something easy to do that people wanted, they don't bother fixing the gameplay

Propane Nightmares is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
09-14-2012, 05:58 PM
  #67
Use the Schwartz*
****in' eh
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Country: Canada
Posts: 4,512
vCash: 500
Pretty much, although I find the game play to be pretty good. The skating is amazing.

I find mroe problems with the game OUTSIDE of actually playing in game. Like a roster of DFD "forwards" in the second year(17 years old)(only in the CHL I'm assuming).

Scoring is tough for me, I'm getting better though. In my first year, I played a decent amount, intervening only for the most part. Out of 55 goals scored, I had one of them by empty net Now I usually score every two times I play.

Wrist shot, top shelf. Gold Jerry. Gold.

Use the Schwartz* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-15-2012, 12:04 AM
  #68
Use the Schwartz*
****in' eh
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Nova Scotia
Country: Canada
Posts: 4,512
vCash: 500
Got drafted 1st overall after a 53 goal, 100 point season! Playing on Tampa Bay with Stamkos, our roster is terrible. Our goalie is 78 overall, I'm hoping it's a young guy.with potential or else we''re screwed. Rest of the team is 70s except for the first line(Malone-stamkos-Purcell) and Lecaviler.

Defence is the same as it is in real life, pretty good.

Is the nhl harder then the q?

Use the Schwartz* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-15-2012, 01:44 AM
  #69
Telos
Moderator
In Dean We Trust
 
Telos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Reno, NV
Country: United States
Posts: 26,695
vCash: 424
Send a message via ICQ to Telos Send a message via AIM to Telos Send a message via MSN to Telos Send a message via Yahoo to Telos
When playing online, can you earn xp for your pro with a boost pack activated?

__________________

“This is for you Kings fans wherever you may be. All the frustration and disappointment of the past is gone. The 45 year drought is over. The Los Angeles Kings are indeed the Kings of the National Hockey League. They are the 2012 Stanley Cup Champions!” - Bob Miller
Telos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-15-2012, 01:50 AM
  #70
couture23
Sabres & Red Sox
 
couture23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: GTA/Ottawa
Country: Canada
Posts: 8,634
vCash: 500
Went first overall to the Flyers as a 6'2 220 centre after a 6 point Memorial Cup playoff series.:
Boston had the second pick, so either way I would be on a solid roster. And I quickly replaced Giroux as the number 1 centre

couture23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-15-2012, 07:09 AM
  #71
Propane Nightmares
Sales & Marketing
 
Propane Nightmares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Country: United Kingdom
Posts: 48,452
vCash: 500
The AI defence are so bad in goalie mode, they ALWAYS lose the puck right in front of your net. I'm trying to do the shutout moment with Mike Smith and it's actually impossible, it's not like I'm bad in goal either, I had great success with goalie mode in NHL 09, 10, and 11 but 12 and 13 has been diabolical for goalie mode.

Propane Nightmares is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
09-15-2012, 01:05 PM
  #72
ManyIdeas
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: St. Louis
Posts: 2,562
vCash: 500
As a center, 1.00 had too many faceoffs, 1.01 had like 5 a game, 1.02 has literally zero faceoffs if youre not first line, with 8 minutes a game as second line center with no pp or pk

ManyIdeas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-15-2012, 06:26 PM
  #73
Rubber Biscuit
Registered User
 
Rubber Biscuit's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Long Island
Country: United States
Posts: 5,456
vCash: 500
I'm having a lot of fun with my BAP. Second season with the Canucks. Drafted first overall after winning the Memorial Cup. Scored 25-25-50 as a rookie, and I've exploded my second year. Not much has changed, but I feel much more inclined to keep playing, as opposed to stopping after a few years. My only question, can we negotiate contracts in any way? Or even set prices or years? Or do we just get a couple of offers to choose from?

Rubber Biscuit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-15-2012, 11:19 PM
  #74
ekcut
Registered User
 
ekcut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Edmonton
Country: Canada
Posts: 1,901
vCash: 500
Send a message via MSN to ekcut
Anyone know of a way to fix the glitch of the "fast forwrd to next shift" menu not appearing when changing on the fly?

I HATE watching the AI battle the AI from the bench.

ekcut is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-15-2012, 11:40 PM
  #75
tsujimoto74
Registered User
 
tsujimoto74's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Virginia
Country: United States
Posts: 9,638
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekcut View Post
Anyone know of a way to fix the glitch of the "fast forwrd to next shift" menu not appearing when changing on the fly?

I HATE watching the AI battle the AI from the bench.
Just press triangle button and the menu will pop up.

tsujimoto74 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. ©2014 All Rights Reserved.