HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Non-Sports > Geek Emporium
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Geek Emporium Discuss computers, hardware, software, electronics, video games, internet, etc.

Planning to build a new computer? Read Here first! #5

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old
11-19-2012, 09:21 PM
  #1
SniperHF
Global Moderator
Desert Ranger
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 14,761
vCash: 500
Planning to build a new computer? Read Here first! #5

Planning to build a new computer? Don't know where to start? Read Here first!

Ask questions in this thread about upgrades and new system builds. Read through the OP and compare it to your own situation.

Things to remember: These builds do not include any OS, Keyboard, Mice, Speakers or Monitors. That is up to the builder to choose.

==================================================

Desktop PC Builds
Click the wish list link at the top of the build to purchase.
Click select all then add to cart at the bottom.



Entry Level: General purpose PC, good desktop productivity. Casual gaming.
Price Range: $400 - $450 AMD processor
Click Here to add all of the items to your cart.
Canadians can do the same by clicking here.

Hardware
Name
Price CA
Price US
Processor:AMD Trinity 5800k APU $129 CA $129 US
Motherboard:ASRock FM2A75 Pro4 FM2 $94CA $79 US
RAM:Crucial Ballistix 1866mhz 4gb $34 CA $34 US
Video Card:ONBOARD ONBOARDONBOARD
Power Supply:CoolerMaster Elite 460W $45 CA $29 US
Case:Thermaltake Versa 54 CA $44 US
HDD:Western Digital AV-GP 250GB $59 CA $54 US
Optical Drive:ASUS SATA DVD RW $18 CA $18 US
Total: Prices as of 7-29-13$453 CA$419 US


Entry Level: General purpose PC, good desktop productivity. Moderate gaming capability
Price Range: $500 - $600 AMD processor
Click Here to add all of the items to your cart.
Canadians can do the same by clicking here.

Hardware
Name
Price CA
Price US
Processor:AMD FX-6300 Vishera $139 CA $139 US
Motherboard:Gigabyte GA-970 D3 AM3+ $110 CA $89 US
RAM:G.Skill RipJaws 4GB 1866mhz $45 CA $43 US
Video Card:HIS HD7750 1gb $99 CA$99 US
Power Supply:CoolerMaster Elite 460W $44 CA $29 US
Case:Thermaltake Versa 54 CA $44 US
HDD:Seagate Barracuda 1TB $84 CA $84 US
Optical Drive:ASUS SATA DVD RW $18 CA $18 US
Total: Prices as of 7-29-12$575 CA$541 US


Mainstream: General purpose PC, good desktop productivity and most gaming
Price Range: $750 - $800 AMD processor
Click Here to add all of the items to your cart.
Canadians can do the same by clicking here.

Hardware
Name
Price CA
Price US
Processor:AMD FX-8350 Vishera $199 CA $199 US
Motherboard:Gigabyte GA-970 D3 $110 CA $89 US
RAM:G.Skill Sniper 1866mhz 8GB $49 CA $41 US
Video Card:PowerColor 7850 1GB $169 CA$169 US
Power Supply:Corsair CX600 v2 $69 CA $69 US
Case:Rosewill Challenger-U3 $69 CA $69 US
HDD:Seagate Barracuda 1TB $84 CA $84 US
Optical Drive:ASUS SATA DVD RW $17 CA $17 US
Total: Prices as of 2-25-12$761 CA$752 US


Mainstream: General purpose PC, good for desktop productivity, all gaming, with overclocking potential.
Price Range: $900 - $1000 Intel processor
Click Here to add all of the items to your cart.
Canadians can do the same by clicking here.

Hardware
Name
Price CA
Price US
Processor:Intel Core i5 4670k Haswell $249 CA $249 US
Motherboard:Gigabyte GA-Z77X $189 CA 189 US
RAM:Corsair Vengeance 8GB 2x4GB 1600mhz $49 CA $41 US
Video Card:MSI GTX 660 2GB OC $235 CA$199 US
Power Supply:Corsair TX750 $114 CA $109 US
Case:Rosewill Challenger U3 $69 CA $69 US
HDD:Seagate Barracuda 1TB $84 CA $84 US
Optical Drive:Samsung SATA DVD RW $17 CA $17 US
Total: Prices as of 7-29-13$1,021 CA$975 US


Enthusiast: Specialized system, good for High Performance gaming and overclocking
Price Range: $1500 - $1600 Intel processor
Click Here to add all of the items to your cart.
Canadians can do the same by clicking here.


Hardware
Name
Price CA
Price US
Processor:Intel Core i5 4670k Haswell $249 CA $249 US
Motherboard:GIGABYTE GA-Z87X 199 CA 199 US
RAM:Corsair Vengeance 8GB 2x4GB 1600mhz $49 CA $41 US
Video Card:Gigabyte Windforce GTX 770 2GB $409 CA$400 US
Power Supply:Corsair TX750 V2 $114 CA $09 US
Case:Antec 1100 $109 CA $99US
HDD:Seagate Barracuda 1TB $84 CA $84 US
Optical Drive:Samsung SATA DVD RW $17 CA $17 US
SSD:Samsung 840pro 256GB $241 CA $239 US
CPU Cooler:CoolerMaster Hyper 212+ $34 CA $30 US
Total: Prices as of 6-9-13$1,527 CA$1,494 US


Enthusiast: Specialized Multimedia System, Blu-Ray playblack/burning, gaming, 4 Tuner DVR.
Price Range: $1500 - $1600 Intel processor
Click Here to add all of the items to your cart.
Canadians can do the same by clicking here.


Hardware
Name
Price CA
Price US
Processor:Intel Core i7 4770 Haswell $324 CA $319 US
Motherboard:Asus Z87C $139 CA $139 US
RAM:Corsair Vengeance 8GB 2x4GB 1600mhz $49 CA $41 US
Video Card:Gigabyte GTX 660 2GB $214 CA $209 US
Power Supply:Corsair CX600 v2 $73 CA $69 US
Case:NZXT CA Full Tower $169 CA $169 US
HDD:2x Seagate SV35 2 TB $315 CA $259 US
Optical Drive:LITE-ON Blu-Ray Burner $86 CA $86 US
TV Tuner:Ceton InfiniTV 4 Tuner Card PCIe $200 CA $200 US
Total: Prices as of 6-9-13$1,519 CA$1,486 US


High end: Excellent all around system, near top of the line.
Price Range: $2100 - $2200 Intel processor
Click Here to add all of the items to your cart.
Canadians can do the same by clicking here.

Hardware
Name
Price CA
Price US
Processor:Intel Core i7 4770k Haswell $349 CA $349 US
Motherboard:AsRock Z87 Professional $264 CA $249 US
RAM:Corsair Vengeance 8GB 2x4GB 1866mhz $43 CA $52 US
Video Card:Gigabyte GTX 780 3GB $699 CA$679 US
Power Supply:SeaSonic X Series 1050W$239 CA$199 US
Case:Antec 1100 Super Mid $109 CA $99 US
HDD:Seagate Barracuda 1TB $84 CA $84 US
Optical Drive:Asus SATA DVD Burner $17 CA $17 US
SSD:Samsung 840pro 256GB $241 CA $239 US
CPU Cooler:Phanteks PH-TC14PE $83 CA$79 US
Total: Prices as of 6-9-13$2,166 CA$2,077 US


Who needs money!:
Price Range: $4900 - $5000 Intel processor
Click Here to add all of the items to your cart.
Canadians can do the same by clicking here.

Hardware
Name
Price CA
Price US
Processor:Intel Core i7 EE 3990X $1,079 $1,079 US
Motherboard:ASUS P9X79-E LGA2011 $499 CA $499 US
RAM:CORSAIR Dominator Platinum 32GB $354 CA $354 US
Video Card:2X Gigabyte GTX 780 3GB $1,399 CA$1,359 US
Power Supply:Corsair AX1200 $299 CA $299 US
Case:Corsair Obsidian Series 800D 289 CA $279 US
Optical Drive:ASUS SATA DVD RW $20 CA $20 US
Blu-Ray:Lite-ON Blu-Ray Burner w/3D $91 CA $89 US
SSD:2xSamsung 840 Pro 512GB $955CA $1,039 US
CPU Cooler:CORSAIR Hydro Series H100 $114 CA$114 US
Total: Prices as of 6-9-13$5,066 CA$5,066 US

==================================================

Common PC questions


Memory:
Ensure your Dual channel memory is appropriately configured. (Dated but relevant)

What are Memory Timings?

Processors (CPU's)

Different types of Sockets

Installing your Heatsink?: Use a proper thermal compound application


Video Cards:
Can't decide which video card to buy?:
Compare them by year
2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009

Want to upgrade your video card? Check here first

TechPowerup's VGA BIOS collection (for advanced tweaking)

Crossfire Compatibility chart.

SLI / Crossfire Q&A video.

Software

Backup, copy, and restore your computer:
Seagate Drives
Western Digital Drives

Put your new system to the test:
Benchmark it with Unigine - 3dmark11 - 3dmark13 - Lost Planet 2 - Final Fantasy XIV - AVP Bench - Resident Evil 6


Differences Between Windows 7 Versions

Never Installed Windows before?: Watch this video

Hard Drives

New SSD? Check out this introductory guide.

Tom's "Best SSD for the money 2013"

Motherboards

Guide to Motherboard Selection (slightly dated but good concepts)

Power Supplies (Or PSU's):

2013 PSU break-down

PSU reviews: Anandtech - Jonnyguru

Think your PSU is bad?: test it here. (post in the thread if you need assistance)

Want to save money?: Don't cut corners on the PSU.
How much power does a generic unit truly provide?

Power supply Efficiency levels


Reference: OEM's of Popular PSU brands

How much power do I need?
Power requirement estimator (very rough estimate)

Power Requirements for video cards from MSI


Video Tutorials on PC Building
I disagree with the host in some areas but overall it's a well done series. Long Winded however. For an absolute beginner it's a good resource. If you just need help with assembly, watch the second video.

Pt.1 Basic PC introduction and Component selection.
Pt.2 Assembling your system
Pt.3 Installing your OS, other odds and ends.


Thread Updated as Hardware is Released


I use NewEgg as a reference for PC components. Please shop around and find the best prices if they can be found elsewhere. In my experience NewEgg has fair prices though.

*Prices might not be 100% accurate. Check them carefully. Some items include additional mail in rebates as well. Those savings are not reflected in my prices so your build may actually be cheaper in the end.

**When choosing your parts remember you are the boss. do no hesitate to tailor one of these blueprints to your specific needs. Want a great multimedia PC but don't really need high end gaming? Spend less on the GPU and add a Blu-Ray player and Tuner Card. Need additional Storage? Go for the 2TB drive.

Updates:
7-29-13 - Updated pricing on some builds, upgraded video cards.
6-9-13 - Total thread rebuild for Haswelll, Nvidia 7xx.


Planning to build a new computer #4 (Ivy Bridge / Bulldozer gen)
Planning to build a new computer #3 (Sandy Bridge / Phenom II gen)
Planning to build a new computer #2
Planning to build a new computer #1 by Sined


Last edited by SniperHF: 07-29-2013 at 08:38 AM.
SniperHF is offline  
Old
11-19-2012, 09:23 PM
  #2
SniperHF
Global Moderator
Desert Ranger
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 14,761
vCash: 500
From the last thread:


Quote:
Originally Posted by 17futurecap View Post
Appreciate it, will definitely head to Best Buy some time soon. I did CNET'S help to find a laptop, and these two came up that would be in my price range. Does anyone think one would be better than the other, or are they both okay or bad?

http://reviews.cnet.com/4504-3430_7-...41326-35541360
Quote:
Originally Posted by SniperHF View Post
They are pretty similar, As a general rule I'd buy a Toshiba before an Acer. The main difference is the Toshiba has a low power consumption processor while the Acer has a faster processor.

But for your situation I would think the lower power consumption would be better unless you are going to run it like a desktop always plugged in.

Personally I'd just drop my price though. Not sure, given the uses you said, that you will see any benefit from an i5 laptop over an i3. I'd sooner buy an i3 based laptop and upgrade to an SSD, you'll see more benefits that way.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LickTheEnvelope View Post
The Acer is better.

SniperHF is offline  
Old
11-19-2012, 09:25 PM
  #3
LickTheEnvelope
6th Overall Blows
 
LickTheEnvelope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 27,953
vCash: 500
I should add to that last comment that I haven't used Toshiba laptops and it doesn't list the battery life, but the Acer's specs are better and i've been happy with my Acer Ultra-Portable for the last few years.

LickTheEnvelope is offline  
Old
11-19-2012, 09:43 PM
  #4
17futurecap
Registered User
 
17futurecap's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: NJ
Country: United States
Posts: 6,783
vCash: 500
Appreciate all the help, that was my next question for what I'm looking to do which isn't much would I even need an i5.

17futurecap is offline  
Old
11-19-2012, 09:51 PM
  #5
yakitate304
Crunch Time
 
yakitate304's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NY
Country: St Lucia
Posts: 13,915
vCash: 500
Just an update from the last thread, where I had mentioned that I would be getting a multimedia editing/design desktop put together for work, and then found out it wasn't happening and would be getting a laptop instead... I figured it would be a good laptop since the company that was donating it is a significant digital media organization, but it ended up being a Lenovo ThinkPad from ~2008/9 that has a Core 2 Duo processor and a whopping 2 GB of RAM. It does have a very basic Quadro, but it's pretty clear that I'm not going to be doing any sort of video editing with this thing.

Pretty disappointing.

yakitate304 is offline  
Old
11-23-2012, 11:23 AM
  #6
Johnny Bravo
1st overall again
 
Johnny Bravo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Game on
Country: Canada
Posts: 4,351
vCash: 500
Though I would add the computer I'm getting!
specs:

Intel i7 3770k
Asus sabretooth z77
Evga Geoforce 680 4gb!
Corsair vengeance 16gb 1600mhz
Corsair h100
Nzxt switch 810
seagate barracuda 2tb
Intel ssd 180gb

I'm really exited! 1st Pc ever! I have a macbook pro, and it's way to slow for what I like to do.

Johnny Bravo is offline  
Old
11-24-2012, 09:34 PM
  #7
Sined
The AndroidBugler!
 
Sined's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 6,416
vCash: 500
Woot, so after a bunch of troubleshooting and late nights I finally upgraded my two desktops.

Old PC brought up to speed:
AMD Athlon 64 3000+
2GB RAM
[NEW] 1TB Hard Drive
Geforce 6200

My PC upgraded:
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9300
[NEW] 8GB DDR RAM
[NEW] 120GB Samsung 840 SSD
[NEW] Geforce GTX 560 TI Fermi

I learned that SATA2 isn't backwards compatible with SATA and you need to set jumpers to hold back speeds to make it compatible. Luckly I for some jumpers to fit on the HD to make it compatible with SATA.

My PC's BIOS was SO finicky when I upgraded to 8GB but a CMOS clear fixed all issues.

Sined is offline  
Old
11-24-2012, 09:42 PM
  #8
SniperHF
Global Moderator
Desert Ranger
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 14,761
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sined View Post
Woot, so after a bunch of troubleshooting and late nights I finally upgraded my two desktops.

Old PC brought up to speed:
AMD Athlon 64 3000+
2GB RAM
[NEW] 1TB Hard Drive
Geforce 6200
Heh, I still have a couple of these floating around. They make great internet boxes. Still run faster than crappy Atom based systems so long as you don't bloat the OS.

Did you OC your Q9300?



EDIT: For some reason I found this CPU on newegg hilarious.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116799
$5.99


Last edited by SniperHF: 11-25-2012 at 03:55 AM.
SniperHF is offline  
Old
11-25-2012, 05:13 PM
  #9
Slot 3
exitus acta probat
 
Slot 3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vancouver
Country: Canada
Posts: 1,540
vCash: 600
Quote:
Originally Posted by SniperHF View Post
EDIT: For some reason I found this CPU on newegg hilarious.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16819116799
$5.99
Quote:
Pros: overclocked to 222.6ghz and ran faster than 10 i7 3960x!!!! buy now it will kill every other cpu out there worth the five dolllars

Cons: none beats 10 i7s

Other Thoughts: BUY BUY BUY BUY LIQUID COOLING

Slot 3 is offline  
Old
11-27-2012, 05:15 PM
  #10
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,835
vCash: 500
http://ncix.ca/products/?sku=74618&v...SI%2FMicroStar

thinkin hard about pullin the trigger on that tonight.

so tasty.

Zodiac is offline  
Old
11-27-2012, 05:40 PM
  #11
Johnny Bravo
1st overall again
 
Johnny Bravo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Game on
Country: Canada
Posts: 4,351
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zodiac View Post
http://ncix.ca/products/?sku=74618&v...SI%2FMicroStar

thinkin hard about pullin the trigger on that tonight.

so tasty.
http://www.memoryexpress.com/Products/MX40134

I would recommend this one!

Johnny Bravo is offline  
Old
11-27-2012, 05:45 PM
  #12
SniperHF
Global Moderator
Desert Ranger
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 14,761
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zodiac View Post
http://ncix.ca/products/?sku=74618&v...SI%2FMicroStar

thinkin hard about pullin the trigger on that tonight.

so tasty.
I would probably wait one more generation if I had two 460's. Is there anything you cant run full right now? Or are you shooting for something like 1440p?

SniperHF is offline  
Old
11-27-2012, 05:48 PM
  #13
SolidSnakeUS
Registered User
 
SolidSnakeUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pipersville, PA
Country: United States
Posts: 29,709
vCash: 500
I have an EVGA one, mainly because their warranty is that awesome.

SolidSnakeUS is online now  
Old
11-27-2012, 06:13 PM
  #14
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,835
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Bravo View Post
very nice, but i want a 4gig card ...that Lightning card, while still pretty sweet, is 2gb. the Lightning might be a bit better for overclocking, but i'm really not looking to overclock the card further than it already is out of the box.

i really want the 4gig so i can comfortably load up lots of mods/high res textures in games like Crysis2 (and soon Crysis 3), Skyrim, Dark Souls, etc.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SniperHF View Post
I would probably wait one more generation if I had two 460's. Is there anything you cant run full right now? Or are you shooting for something like 1440p?
meh ...pretty tired of these cards. i'm starting to really dislike the situation i'm in when SLI doesn't get proper support in a game ...which in those situations i'm stuck with the performance of 1 card ...which isn't that hot these days.

SLI performance is still pretty good, but even when i'm using that there's games that i can't max out ...ie, Metro 2033, Battlefield 3, Crysis 2, Skyrim (with mods), Dark Souls (with mods - actually there's no SLI support for this game anyway), Batman Arkham City (maxed out with highest physx isn't perfect), etc., etc. there's lots of situations where i could use a pretty big improvement over these cards in SLI even.

best case scenario, in SLI, they perform roughly around the same as a GTX580 ...minus the extra vram of the 580.

i'd much rather 1 really powerful card at this point. maybe do SLI again sometime down the road ...but it'd be a long ways off if i got this gtx680.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SolidSnakeUS View Post
I have an EVGA one, mainly because their warranty is that awesome.
yeah EVGA is good ...but i really like the MSI cards too, and i really like their heatsink/fan setups. ...plus i've been using an MSI Twinfrozr setup for the last 2 years, so i'm kinda used to them and pleased with their features/apps/temps/noise levels, etc.


Last edited by Zodiac: 11-27-2012 at 06:22 PM.
Zodiac is offline  
Old
11-27-2012, 06:23 PM
  #15
Johnny Bravo
1st overall again
 
Johnny Bravo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Game on
Country: Canada
Posts: 4,351
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zodiac View Post
very nice, but i want a 4gig card ...that Lightning card, while still pretty sweet, is 2gb. the Lightning might be a bit better for overclocking, but i'm really not looking to overclock the card further than it already is out of the box.
Fair enough! I'm in the same dilemma, I don't know if I should get 4gb or 2gb. I did look into it, and asked on a forum called Overclock.net. They told me that the extra 2gb really only matters if your running more than one monitor. Or if your using a monitor with a really high rez.

Your choice, just trying to help you out

Johnny Bravo is offline  
Old
11-27-2012, 06:25 PM
  #16
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,835
vCash: 500
i haven't really looked around much @ these different 680 cards ...i'll have to do some of that myself before i jump on anything.

i'd like that MSI Lightning if it had 4 gig ...but i don't think they have that version released yet. tho i could be wrong ...i haven't really looked around much yet.


i have a feeling that the MSI 680 4gig that i posted earlier is probably about as good as its gonna get for a 4gig card ...for me anyway. really not interested in AMD ...(yeah i know they have good performance and everything ...but i'm an intel/nvidia guy. been that way for years ...and i'm not interested in changin my ways just yet.


Last edited by Zodiac: 11-27-2012 at 06:39 PM.
Zodiac is offline  
Old
11-27-2012, 08:33 PM
  #17
Johnny Bravo
1st overall again
 
Johnny Bravo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Game on
Country: Canada
Posts: 4,351
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zodiac View Post
i haven't really looked around much @ these different 680 cards ...i'll have to do some of that myself before i jump on anything.

i'd like that MSI Lightning if it had 4 gig ...but i don't think they have that version released yet. tho i could be wrong ...i haven't really looked around much yet.


i have a feeling that the MSI 680 4gig that i posted earlier is probably about as good as its gonna get for a 4gig card ...for me anyway. really not interested in AMD ...(yeah i know they have good performance and everything ...but i'm an intel/nvidia guy. been that way for years ...and i'm not interested in changin my ways just yet.
Evga could be a better bet. They have much better costumer service, plus I have heard bad things about MSI support.

Johnny Bravo is offline  
Old
11-27-2012, 10:06 PM
  #18
SniperHF
Global Moderator
Desert Ranger
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 14,761
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zodiac View Post
i'd like that MSI Lightning if it had 4 gig ...but i don't think they have that version released yet. tho i could be wrong ...i haven't really looked around much yet.
Definitely stick to your guns on the 4gb. BF3 is already shown to use 2-2.5GB.

Quote:

SLI performance is still pretty good, but even when i'm using that there's games that i can't max out ...ie, Metro 2033,
Metro is an unoptimized turd, that's what makes it a good benchmark

SniperHF is offline  
Old
11-27-2012, 10:51 PM
  #19
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,835
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny Bravo View Post
Evga could be a better bet. They have much better costumer service, plus I have heard bad things about MSI support.
i don't doubt that EVGA have better support, i just hope that regardless of what piece of hardware i ever buy, that i never have to use it. (knock on wood)

quick little story ...i did buy an EVGA card years ago, it was an nvidia 8800GT, the plain jane vanilla model with stock clocks (bought it on day 1 when they were in very short supply so there were no overclocked cards at the time ...at least, not at the store i managed to grab one at).

anyway ...i get the card home, plug it in and find out that it's actually clocked to the EVGA super overclocked speeds. i think 'yeah this is great' ...until i started playing games and they started crashing, etc.

so the only way to stop the crashing was to actually clock the card down to its default stock speeds. i didn't want to return the card to my local store where i bought it, because they had no more in stock ...so i emailed EVGA and asked if it'd be alright if i flashed the card with the proper bios so i could get the proper speeds without me having to always down clock the card. i gave him the serial number of the card, he hooked me up with the proper bios, and away i went ...the card worked fine for years afterwards.

BUT ...it's a little thing like that that kinda stuck with me over the years and made me kind of avoid EVGA ...eventhough i know they generally have a good reputation, etc.

my current MSI cards have been very good to me over the last couple of years ...never had 1 issue, which is the way i like it ...which is kinda part of the reason why i looked very hard at MSI's offerings right off the bat when it came to the GTX680.



Quote:
Originally Posted by SniperHF View Post
Definitely stick to your guns on the 4gb. BF3 is already shown to use 2-2.5GB.



Metro is an unoptimized turd, that's what makes it a good benchmark
ya i'm stickin to the 4gig ...i want room to play around with mods, etc, ...and a little bit of future proofing never hurt anyone.

and yeah, Metro is a pig ...no doubt it's upcoming sequel will be even more so.

Zodiac is offline  
Old
11-28-2012, 12:18 AM
  #20
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,835
vCash: 500
so i just bought the MSI gtx680 4gb ...wooot!

there's really not many options out there for the 4gb models and that MSI card seemed like a decent one @ a decent price.

here's a listing of the 680 4gb models that Newegg sells ...
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...eId=1&name=4GB

7 to choose from and 3 are not in stock.

the MSI card was in low stock @ NCIX and that was the best price for that card that i could find ($20 instant rebate and then $499 after $20 mail in rebate).

so i'm guessing i'll probably have the card around this time next week. should be fun to test it out.

Zodiac is offline  
Old
11-28-2012, 02:03 AM
  #21
SniperHF
Global Moderator
Desert Ranger
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 14,761
vCash: 500
I've owned two MSI cards, both were top notch and good overclockers.

If you really wanna test something, when you get your card installed bench mark it in Metro with your CPU at stock clocks. Then up your OC to where it is now and try it. See how much your CPU holds it back. I doubt its much at all OCed.

SniperHF is offline  
Old
11-28-2012, 01:10 PM
  #22
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,835
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by SniperHF View Post
I've owned two MSI cards, both were top notch and good overclockers.

If you really wanna test something, when you get your card installed bench mark it in Metro with your CPU at stock clocks. Then up your OC to where it is now and try it. See how much your CPU holds it back. I doubt its much at all OCed.
yeah i tried that before ...ie, ran the Metro benchmark with my cpu @ its default clock of 2.8ghz (intel i5 760), then ran it again with the overclock to 3.8ghz.

if i remember it correctly, it might have given me 1 or 2 extra fps when overclocked.

Zodiac is offline  
Old
11-28-2012, 01:44 PM
  #23
SniperHF
Global Moderator
Desert Ranger
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 14,761
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zodiac View Post
yeah i tried that before ...ie, ran the Metro benchmark with my cpu @ its default clock of 2.8ghz (intel i5 760), then ran it again with the overclock to 3.8ghz.

if i remember it correctly, it might have given me 1 or 2 extra fps when overclocked.
But that was with your current setup right? I think with a GTX 680 you are more likely to hold it back a tad. Not much but a little. Especially in say multiplayer BF3.

SniperHF is offline  
Old
11-28-2012, 02:32 PM
  #24
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,835
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by SniperHF View Post
But that was with your current setup right? I think with a GTX 680 you are more likely to hold it back a tad. Not much but a little. Especially in say multiplayer BF3.
you mean that the cpu @ 3.8ghz would hold the 680 back?

no doubt it would in some situations, but for the most part i think it should do pretty well alongside the 680.

i mean, it's likely an i5 2500k or i7 2600k would no doubt hold it back a bit too in some situations. its pretty much to be expected, i guess.

i remember running a cpu benchmark a few months ago, and my cpu scored around the same as an i5 2500k ...so i think that's pretty good company to be in.

i'll have to run another benchmark on the cpu sometime and compare it again, to refresh my memory.

Zodiac is offline  
Old
11-28-2012, 02:44 PM
  #25
SniperHF
Global Moderator
Desert Ranger
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 14,761
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zodiac View Post
you mean that the cpu @ 3.8ghz
That's a good OC, didn't realize it was that high. No it probably won't hold you back then more than anything else would. You are probably still well in the point where it's about as good as its going to be for gaming.

I'd probably still run the test out of curiosity though, see at what point your i5 starts to choke it a bit. Is it stock? 3ghz? 3.2ghz? etc.

SniperHF is offline  
Closed Thread

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:12 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2014 All Rights Reserved.