HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Non-Sports > Geek Emporium
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Geek Emporium Discuss computers, hardware, software, electronics, video games, internet, etc.

The Official BlackBerry Thread | Part 2 | BlackBerry Q10 & Z10 Available Now

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old
12-06-2012, 07:57 PM
  #376
Kestrel
Registered User
 
Kestrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,893
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Protest the Hero View Post
My playbook feels like it's dying on me. The browser has been crashing constantly, mainly on image heavy pages, and the sound just stops working randomly. When that happens, music and videos stop working, including youtube videos which will only load the first couple seconds.

Restarting it fixes the problem, but it's only a matter of time before it stops again.
Have you tried doing a security wipe, and starting from fresh?

Kestrel is offline  
Old
12-06-2012, 10:16 PM
  #377
Protest the Hero
Registered User
 
Protest the Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario
Country: Canada
Posts: 5,383
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kestrel View Post
Have you tried doing a security wipe, and starting from fresh?
No, I don't really want to wipe it then transfer all of my music back onto it with the slow wi-fi transfer. It's just an annoyance at this point, the entire thing isn't crashing yet.

Protest the Hero is offline  
Old
12-07-2012, 05:47 AM
  #378
Neely2005
Grey Cup Champions
 
Neely2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Country: Canada
Posts: 17,529
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Protest the Hero View Post
No, I don't really want to wipe it then transfer all of my music back onto it with the slow wi-fi transfer. It's just an annoyance at this point, the entire thing isn't crashing yet.
You shouldn't have to. Use the free BlackBerry Desktop Software to back it up to your PC vis USB.

Neely2005 is offline  
Old
12-07-2012, 10:08 AM
  #379
Protest the Hero
Registered User
 
Protest the Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario
Country: Canada
Posts: 5,383
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neely2005 View Post
You shouldn't have to. Use the free BlackBerry Desktop Software to back it up to your PC vis USB.
I could never get USB transfer to work with the PC I have access to.

Protest the Hero is offline  
Old
12-07-2012, 12:12 PM
  #380
Neely2005
Grey Cup Champions
 
Neely2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Country: Canada
Posts: 17,529
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Protest the Hero View Post
I could never get USB transfer to work with the PC I have access to.
Are you running the newest version of BlackBerry Desktop Software?

http://ca.blackberry.com/software/desktop.html

Neely2005 is offline  
Old
12-07-2012, 12:50 PM
  #381
Protest the Hero
Registered User
 
Protest the Hero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ontario
Country: Canada
Posts: 5,383
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neely2005 View Post
Are you running the newest version of BlackBerry Desktop Software?

http://ca.blackberry.com/software/desktop.html
At the time yes, I haven't tried it since I first got it because I'm pretty sure it's a problem with the PC I was using, not my playbook, or the software. I've had MP3 players fail to connect too basically the same way.

Protest the Hero is offline  
Old
12-09-2012, 11:55 AM
  #382
GIN ANTONIC
Registered User
 
GIN ANTONIC's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Country: Canada
Posts: 7,719
vCash: 500
Hey Blackberries!

I'm a Galaxy man myself, but I come in peace asking for help. I made a thread but since this is sort of Blackberry specific I'm hoping you guys and gals can help me out.

So long story short, my GF lives in Vancouver. I live in Toronto (don't ask, that's another thread). Anyway, she's going on business to Chicago in a couple of weeks and she's freaking out because we won't be able to constantly text like she's accustomed to. She just got a new company phone, Blackberry Curve 9360 and the provider is Bell.

So basically just wondering what the best option is for getting her phone to work in the states. I've heard of getting a US sim card with a pay as you go plan but maybe the phone needs to be unlocked for that? I'm pretty sure hers is not and I can't see her being able to figure that out on her own.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

The link to the thread is here, in case you'd prefer to post replies on that one instead of clogging up this one with a personal request

http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/sh....php?t=1305699

Thanks!

GIN ANTONIC is offline  
Old
12-09-2012, 05:53 PM
  #383
Neely2005
Grey Cup Champions
 
Neely2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Country: Canada
Posts: 17,529
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by GIN ANTONIC View Post
Hey Blackberries!

I'm a Galaxy man myself, but I come in peace asking for help. I made a thread but since this is sort of Blackberry specific I'm hoping you guys and gals can help me out.

So long story short, my GF lives in Vancouver. I live in Toronto (don't ask, that's another thread). Anyway, she's going on business to Chicago in a couple of weeks and she's freaking out because we won't be able to constantly text like she's accustomed to. She just got a new company phone, Blackberry Curve 9360 and the provider is Bell.

So basically just wondering what the best option is for getting her phone to work in the states. I've heard of getting a US sim card with a pay as you go plan but maybe the phone needs to be unlocked for that? I'm pretty sure hers is not and I can't see her being able to figure that out on her own.

Any help would be greatly appreciated!

The link to the thread is here, in case you'd prefer to post replies on that one instead of clogging up this one with a personal request

http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/sh....php?t=1305699

Thanks!
How long is she going to be in the States for? If it's short term she can probably just buy a US Travel Package.

Otherwise she'll probably have to get it unlocked & get a US SIM card.

However if it's a company phone that may limit her options.

Neely2005 is offline  
Old
12-10-2012, 10:50 AM
  #384
Neely2005
Grey Cup Champions
 
Neely2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Country: Canada
Posts: 17,529
vCash: 500
BBM7 is available now

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neely2005 View Post
Available for Current BlackBerry phones.

RIM introduces BBM Voice - Make calls to BBM friends free over Wi-Fi:

http://crackberry.com/bbm-voice
BBM7 is available now as a free download in BlackBerry App World. It allows you to make Free Voice Calls over Wi-Fi. (BB OS 6 or higher required)

http://business.financialpost.com/20...voice-service/

Neely2005 is offline  
Old
12-11-2012, 12:02 AM
  #385
Johnny LaRue
Registered User
 
Johnny LaRue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kudamatsu-shi, Japan
Country: Canada
Posts: 10,489
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neely2005 View Post
BBM7 is available now as a free download in BlackBerry App World. It allows you to make Free Voice Calls over Wi-Fi. (BB OS 6 or higher required)

http://business.financialpost.com/20...voice-service/
That is cool if you have friends who use BBM. I thankfully have nine. Most do not.

Johnny LaRue is offline  
Old
12-11-2012, 08:48 AM
  #386
Neely2005
Grey Cup Champions
 
Neely2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Country: Canada
Posts: 17,529
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny LaRue View Post
That is cool if you have friends who use BBM. I thankfully have nine. Most do not.
I have 33, I just have to wait for some of them to upgrade to BBM7.

Neely2005 is offline  
Old
12-11-2012, 11:03 PM
  #387
ZenMaster*
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 555
vCash: 500
Boom. Next BlackBerry phone leaked:


More hi-res pictures: http://crackberry.com/blackberry-10-...ous-new-images

ZenMaster* is offline  
Old
12-11-2012, 11:53 PM
  #388
Milan the God*
king karlsson
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Canada
Country: Canada
Posts: 8,958
vCash: 500
That looks nice. The back cover on the phone looks like it wouldn't feel cheap in your hands like some phones do, yet it still has a nice, premium look to it.

Milan the God* is offline  
Old
12-12-2012, 12:52 AM
  #389
Johnny LaRue
Registered User
 
Johnny LaRue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Kudamatsu-shi, Japan
Country: Canada
Posts: 10,489
vCash: 500
The phone looks brilliant.

Johnny LaRue is offline  
Old
12-12-2012, 07:18 AM
  #390
beowulf
Poster of the Year!
 
beowulf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ottawa
Country: Canada
Posts: 36,483
vCash: 500
Send a message via MSN to beowulf
Not bad at all. I'm still leaning towards the physical keyboard but we shall see I guess.

beowulf is offline  
Old
12-12-2012, 08:20 AM
  #391
JaymzB
Registered User
 
JaymzB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Toronto
Country: Lord Howe Island
Posts: 2,554
vCash: 500
Anyone here know if it is still possible to find the 16GB Playbook for sale in Canada. Looking to get Xmas gifts, and a $100 tablet (eveb if it is only wifi) would do the trick nicely.

JaymzB is offline  
Old
12-12-2012, 08:28 AM
  #392
RJ8812
Gunner Stahl #9
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sudbury
Country: Canada
Posts: 25,617
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnny LaRue View Post
That is cool if you have friends who use BBM. I thankfully have nine. Most do not.
ya, I still have a lot of friends that use it. about 30

RJ8812 is offline  
Old
12-12-2012, 08:32 AM
  #393
RJ8812
Gunner Stahl #9
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Sudbury
Country: Canada
Posts: 25,617
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by JaymzB View Post
Anyone here know if it is still possible to find the 16GB Playbook for sale in Canada. Looking to get Xmas gifts, and a $100 tablet (eveb if it is only wifi) would do the trick nicely.
Future Shop, Best Buy, Wal-Mart...at this time of the year, it might be hard to find one.

Go with the 32GB though. It's only $20 more than the 16GB

RJ8812 is offline  
Old
12-12-2012, 09:34 AM
  #394
Neely2005
Grey Cup Champions
 
Neely2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Country: Canada
Posts: 17,529
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by beowulf View Post
Not bad at all. I'm still leaning towards the physical keyboard but we shall see I guess.
Same here. I'll probably try the All Touchscreen model but I can't see going with it over the Physical Keyboard model.

Neely2005 is offline  
Old
12-12-2012, 11:02 AM
  #395
Neely2005
Grey Cup Champions
 
Neely2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Country: Canada
Posts: 17,529
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by ZenMaster View Post
Boom. Next BlackBerry phone leaked:


More hi-res pictures: http://crackberry.com/blackberry-10-...ous-new-images
Video Leaked:

http://crackberry.com/blackberry-10-...nd-dev-alpha-b




Neely2005 is offline  
Old
12-12-2012, 11:06 AM
  #396
Gobias Industries
Registered User
 
Gobias Industries's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Toronto
Country: Canada
Posts: 11,386
vCash: 500
Thicker than I would have thought, not crazy impressed to be honest.

Gobias Industries is offline  
Old
12-12-2012, 11:26 AM
  #397
beowulf
Poster of the Year!
 
beowulf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Ottawa
Country: Canada
Posts: 36,483
vCash: 500
Send a message via MSN to beowulf
Another pretty positive article about BB10 and RIM.

http://www.cbc.ca/news/technology/st...10-review.html

beowulf is offline  
Old
12-12-2012, 02:23 PM
  #398
Kestrel
Registered User
 
Kestrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,893
vCash: 500
Looks really nice - I'm just waiting for the actual phones to come out. I'm phone-less right now - and not getting another phone until shortly before I leave for Brazil, so if I'm going to be converted, it's now or never RIM!

Kestrel is offline  
Old
12-12-2012, 02:28 PM
  #399
Baarle*
Lähme looduses
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: 28.294194, -39.07612
Country: Netherlands
Posts: 8,307
vCash: 500
So I upgraded my plan to include data instead of just wifi, but I can't seem to acess anything when just connected to Koodo? What else do I need to connect to to use data features? Also, are there any better browsers I can download?

Baarle* is offline  
Old
12-12-2012, 02:31 PM
  #400
Kestrel
Registered User
 
Kestrel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 2,893
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Baarle View Post
So I upgraded my plan to include data instead of just wifi, but I can't seem to acess anything when just connected to Koodo? What else do I need to connect to to use data features? Also, are there any better browsers I can download?
http://koodomobile.com/en/ab/non-koo...ta-setup.shtml

Kestrel is offline  
Closed Thread

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 AM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. ©2014 All Rights Reserved.