HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Fantasy Hockey Talk > EA Sports NHL
EA Sports NHL Discussion forum for EA Sports NHL video games.

Bluth Discussion Thread PT 7: Advance 1/18 @ 11PM CST

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old
12-17-2012, 02:37 PM
  #26
bootsgaudet
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 830
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArGarBarGar View Post
Who are you?
I'm just your average every day silent guardian, a watchful protector if you will ... a Dark Knight..."

bootsgaudet is offline  
Old
12-17-2012, 02:37 PM
  #27
xX Hot Fuss
HFBoards Sponsor
 
xX Hot Fuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 9,815
vCash: 500
So even if i do the 72 games played from the starter version of this rule, its still subject to the same W-L confusion. I think i'll have to do a combo of both like Jack is saying.

Atleast 600 minutes played + a Win-Loss Record that adds up to 10 games played.

xX Hot Fuss is offline  
Old
12-17-2012, 02:39 PM
  #28
avsfan89
Registered User
 
avsfan89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,278
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArGarBarGar View Post
I think banning from free agency is fine. It isn't a hard rule to follow, guys. Just freaking do it.


Also, screw you, Varlamov.
http://www.easports.com/media/play/video/145612828
that save made me jump lol couldn't believe it

avsfan89 is offline  
Old
12-17-2012, 02:41 PM
  #29
dbridge
Registered User
 
dbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chicago
Country: United States
Posts: 1,180
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by avsfan89 View Post
that save made me jump lol couldn't believe it
It appears neither of our goalies could live up to the same standards in our game. That was one of the wilder games I've been apart of in this league, lots of back and forth there.

dbridge is online now  
Old
12-17-2012, 02:43 PM
  #30
SUBdrewgANS
born into trouble
 
SUBdrewgANS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Country: United States
Posts: 6,303
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to SUBdrewgANS
Quote:
Originally Posted by xX Hot Fuss View Post
So even if i do the 72 games played from the starter version of this rule, its still subject to the same W-L confusion. I think i'll have to do a combo of both like Jack is saying.

Atleast 600 minutes played + a Win-Loss Record that adds up to 10 games played.
I dont mean to continue to poke holes, just want to cover the bases..

even with the minutes I think people can find Loopholes.. for instance teams that regularly kill certain teams and are up by a considerable margin by the 3rd period could play their back up for the the rest of the game to stack up their minutes..

in addition to the W-L confusion.. but admitably that would be a lot of work and dedication to do that though.. and probably wouldnt be worth it to that GM, but I'm just laying out a senario..

SUBdrewgANS is offline  
Old
12-17-2012, 02:45 PM
  #31
ArGarBarGar
Moderator
Doc Messier
 
ArGarBarGar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Country: United States
Posts: 22,868
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by SUBdrewgANS View Post
I dont mean to continue to poke holes, just want to cover the bases..

even with the minutes I think people can find Loopholes.. for instance teams that regularly kill certain teams and are up by a considerable margin by the 3rd period could play their back up for the the rest of the game to stack up their minutes..

in addition to the W-L confusion.. but admitably that would be a lot of work and dedication to do that though.. and probably wouldnt be worth it to that GM, but I'm just laying out a senario..
They would still need to have the wins and losses as well, so it's not really exploitable.

ArGarBarGar is online now  
Old
12-17-2012, 02:47 PM
  #32
xX Hot Fuss
HFBoards Sponsor
 
xX Hot Fuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 9,815
vCash: 500
Seems like an awful lot to put yourself through just to avoid starting your backup(s). Give GMs more credit. I dont think any of us are really going to try and exploit and loopholes.

xX Hot Fuss is offline  
Old
12-17-2012, 02:47 PM
  #33
SUBdrewgANS
born into trouble
 
SUBdrewgANS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Country: United States
Posts: 6,303
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to SUBdrewgANS
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArGarBarGar View Post
They would still need to have the wins and losses as well, so it's not really exploitable.
so you could start your back up in one game, score a quick goal, switch your starter back in the other team never ties the game, you win.. your back up gets the win..

like I said this would take a lot of effort from that GM, but there are loopholes..

EDIT: and it's possibly i made it worst by mentioning it, if no one else would've really thought about it.. haha but i feel most of the GM's are honest and will do the right thing.. haha

SUBdrewgANS is offline  
Old
12-17-2012, 02:48 PM
  #34
Jack de la Hoya
Registered User
 
Jack de la Hoya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Texas
Country: United States
Posts: 12,549
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by xX Hot Fuss View Post
Seems like an awful lot to put yourself through just to avoid starting your backup(s).
Yeah, a requirement that the backup gets ~ 600 minutes (have to allow for delayed penalties, EN, etc.) and 10 decisions should be enough to get most people to comply with the spirit of the rule.

Jack de la Hoya is offline  
Old
12-17-2012, 02:51 PM
  #35
ArGarBarGar
Moderator
Doc Messier
 
ArGarBarGar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Country: United States
Posts: 22,868
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by SUBdrewgANS View Post
so you could start your back up in one game, score a quick goal, switch your starter back in the other team never ties the game, you win.. your back up gets the win..

like I said this would take a lot of effort from that GM, but there are loopholes..

EDIT: and it's possibly i made it worst by mentioning it, if no one else would've really thought about it.. haha but i feel most of the GM's are honest and will do the right thing.. haha
No GM is going to try that, and if they do it will be noticed by the other guy when they try a goaltending change after a single goal.

ArGarBarGar is online now  
Old
12-17-2012, 02:52 PM
  #36
SUBdrewgANS
born into trouble
 
SUBdrewgANS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Country: United States
Posts: 6,303
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to SUBdrewgANS
but another thing on a more serious note.. if you start your backup and almost every start you give him he gets lit up (because he's bad) and the game is out of reach and since no one likes to lose 8,9,or10-0 you put your starter in at say 5-0 to try to stop the bleeding.. we would be faulted because we didnt want to be even more embarrassed? though it may even out if you replace your starter with your backup whenever he's having a bad start too.

I'll stop being a devils advocate now.

SUBdrewgANS is offline  
Old
12-17-2012, 02:53 PM
  #37
Jack de la Hoya
Registered User
 
Jack de la Hoya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Texas
Country: United States
Posts: 12,549
vCash: 500
To be honest, I've never figured out how to change my goalie in game.

Am I an idiot? Whenever i tried after a bad goal, it didn't appear as an option on the "edit lines" screen.


Quote:
Originally Posted by SUBdrewgANS View Post
but another thing on a more serious note.. if you start your backup and almost every start you give him he gets lit up (because he's bad) and the game is out of reach and since no one likes to lose 8,9,or10-0 you put your starter in at say 5-0 to try to stop the bleeding.. we would be faulted because we didnt want to be even more embarrassed? though it may even out if you replace your starter with your backup whenever he's having a bad start too.

I'll stop being a devils advocate now.
Basically, yes. I'd say, suck it up and take the pain (is 8-0 really that much worse than 5-0?), or plan to play the backup an extra game.

Jack de la Hoya is offline  
Old
12-17-2012, 02:55 PM
  #38
ArGarBarGar
Moderator
Doc Messier
 
ArGarBarGar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Country: United States
Posts: 22,868
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack de la Hoya View Post
To be honest, I've never figured out how to change my goalie in game.

Am I an idiot? Whenever i tried after a bad goal, it didn't appear as an option on the "edit lines" screen.




Basically, yes. I'd say, suck it up and take the pain (is 8-0 really that much worse than 5-0?), or plan to play the backup an extra game.
It's in team management. You have to pause the game to access it.

ArGarBarGar is online now  
Old
12-17-2012, 02:57 PM
  #39
Jack de la Hoya
Registered User
 
Jack de la Hoya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Texas
Country: United States
Posts: 12,549
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArGarBarGar View Post
It's in team management. You have to pause the game to access it.
Do you have to take a time-out?

I've tried it before, but when I cycled my lines, the goalies never appeared.

Jack de la Hoya is offline  
Old
12-17-2012, 02:58 PM
  #40
ArGarBarGar
Moderator
Doc Messier
 
ArGarBarGar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Country: United States
Posts: 22,868
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack de la Hoya View Post
Do you have to take a time-out?

I've tried it before, but when I cycled my lines, the goalies never appeared.
No, you just need to go to your goalies and switch them. It's really not that hard.

If they aren't appearing you are doing something wrong.

ArGarBarGar is online now  
Old
12-17-2012, 02:59 PM
  #41
Jack de la Hoya
Registered User
 
Jack de la Hoya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Texas
Country: United States
Posts: 12,549
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArGarBarGar View Post
No, you just need to go to your goalies and switch them. It's really not that hard.

If they aren't appearing you are doing something wrong.
Wouldn't be the first time.

Anyway, I haven't tried to do it since a few weeks after the release. At that point, I couldn't find it, and when I asked on these boards, someone said you either had to call a time-out or wait for an intermission. I assumed that was true, but never found a reason to switch again. I've seen other people do it in my games, so I simply assumed they called a time-out. I guess I was misinformed.

Jack de la Hoya is offline  
Old
12-17-2012, 03:00 PM
  #42
xX Hot Fuss
HFBoards Sponsor
 
xX Hot Fuss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 9,815
vCash: 500
I only thought you could do it inbetween periods

@Sub, part of managing of good team in Bluth is now going to include having a good/decent backup goalie just like in real life. Thats the main reason for this rule actually. So to answer your Devil's advocate part...keep him in all game or violate the rule.

xX Hot Fuss is offline  
Old
12-17-2012, 03:08 PM
  #43
dbridge
Registered User
 
dbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chicago
Country: United States
Posts: 1,180
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack de la Hoya View Post
Wouldn't be the first time.

Anyway, I haven't tried to do it since a few weeks after the release. At that point, I couldn't find it, and when I asked on these boards, someone said you either had to call a time-out or wait for an intermission. I assumed that was true, but never found a reason to switch again. I've seen other people do it in my games, so I simply assumed they called a time-out. I guess I was misinformed.
There is a way to change your goalie after a goal against. The way I do it is to not press A after the goal is scored, and right when they start showing the replay press pause. Then you can change your goalie. If you do it right before the puck is dropped as players are lined up for a faceoff, for some reason the game won't let you change your goalie. I'm pretty sure I pulled Lindback in the middle of a period against you earlier this season, so it's definitely possible if done right.

dbridge is online now  
Old
12-17-2012, 03:10 PM
  #44
Jack de la Hoya
Registered User
 
Jack de la Hoya's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Texas
Country: United States
Posts: 12,549
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbridge92 View Post
There is a way to change your goalie after a goal against. The way I do it is to not press A after the goal is scored, and right when they start showing the replay press pause. Then you can change your goalie. If you do it right before the puck is dropped as players are lined up for a faceoff, for some reason the game won't let you change your goalie. I'm pretty sure I pulled Lindback in the middle of a period against you earlier this season, so it's definitely possible if done right.
That sounds right.

Jack de la Hoya is offline  
Old
12-17-2012, 03:13 PM
  #45
SUBdrewgANS
born into trouble
 
SUBdrewgANS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Country: United States
Posts: 6,303
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to SUBdrewgANS
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jack de la Hoya View Post
Do you have to take a time-out?

I've tried it before, but when I cycled my lines, the goalies never appeared.
you cant do it the instant the goal is scored.. if you press start right after its scored the goalies wont show up.. let the replay of the goal start to play and then pause it.. you can then switch your goaltender.. it makes no damn sense.

SUBdrewgANS is offline  
Old
12-17-2012, 03:15 PM
  #46
avsfan89
Registered User
 
avsfan89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,278
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbridge92 View Post
It appears neither of our goalies could live up to the same standards in our game. That was one of the wilder games I've been apart of in this league, lots of back and forth there.
it was insane lol great comeback from 3-0 man. although it was anderson for our game and that save was varly

avsfan89 is offline  
Old
12-17-2012, 03:17 PM
  #47
dbridge
Registered User
 
dbridge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Chicago
Country: United States
Posts: 1,180
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by avsfan89 View Post
it was insane lol great comeback from 3-0 man. although it was anderson for our game and that save was varly
Yeah I saw we had a backup battle going there. That might've been Helenius's worst game of the year so far, he's been stellar otherwise. Anderson started off really well, but then I think Paul Stastny decided he wanted to make the Hedman trade not look so bad and he goes out and gets 4 points.

dbridge is online now  
Old
12-17-2012, 03:19 PM
  #48
avsfan89
Registered User
 
avsfan89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 2,278
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by dbridge92 View Post
Yeah I saw we had a backup battle going there. That might've been Helenius's worst game of the year so far, he's been stellar otherwise. Anderson started off really well, but then I think Paul Stastny decided he wanted to make the Hedman trade not look so bad and he goes out and gets 4 points.
haha yeah I saw that. Stas has a chip on his shoulder, even zanon lol

avsfan89 is offline  
Old
12-17-2012, 04:08 PM
  #49
Price 89
Registered User
 
Price 89's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Country: Canada
Posts: 978
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by xX Hot Fuss View Post
I'm starting to notice that each "Discussion Thread" seems to have one or two major topics that are the most heavily discussed. If this thread does focus on anything, i'd like it to be this...

STOP COMPLAINING ABOUT EVERYTHING

It seems like every post is one of the following...

-GM X did this to me! Isn't this banned?
-I outshot my opponent and lost again! This game hates me!


...enough already. You guys are making these discussion threads a drag to read through. I dont even get excited coming to MY OWN threads anymore because theres just so much negativity. Its not all of you but it is most of you. This game isn't perfect. I get it, you get it, we all get it. But lets squeeze as much enjoyment out of it as possible. Isn't that better than coming to a forum and *****ing, hoping that someone will quote your post and be like "Yeah! I agree with this guy!"?

I'm not going to ban complaining or anything like that but you guys need to knock it off. As far as what is and what is not allowed, this is the last time i'm saying anything about it. Next time anyone brings it up and asks another completely unneccesary question i'm only going to respond with "Read the Rules in Post #1 of this thread". I dont want to deal with these discussion anymore. I've made it totally clear and yet you guys keep muddying everything up.

So, in summary:

-Stop Complaining so much about every little thing
-If you're confused about a rule, read Post #1. I've explained it dozens of times and no GM in my league is new enough to deserve further explanation.

thank jesus christ or should i say JESUS price

Price 89 is offline  
Old
12-17-2012, 04:12 PM
  #50
SUBdrewgANS
born into trouble
 
SUBdrewgANS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Country: United States
Posts: 6,303
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to SUBdrewgANS
Has anyone heard from Stockey? I PM'd him.. and on my xbox friends list says he was last online 2 days ago.

SUBdrewgANS is offline  
Closed Thread

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:52 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2014 All Rights Reserved.