HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Non-Sports > Geek Emporium
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Geek Emporium Discuss computers, hardware, software, electronics, video games, internet, etc.

Planning to build a new computer? Read Here first! #5

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old
01-12-2013, 01:56 PM
  #201
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,858
vCash: 500
so how many fans do you have in the case?

have you looked in your bios to see if there's a setting to control the fan speed? maybe it's set low.

on my motherboard, in the bios, there's a CPU Q-fan Control and a Chassis Q-fan Control. depending on how they are set, you could get more or less cooling/fan speed.

settings in my bios for Chassis Q-fan Control are:
Standard - makes the chassis fan auto adjust depending on the chassis temperature.
Silent - to minimize the fan speed for quiet chassis fan operation.
Turbo - to achieve maximum chassis fan speed.

i have an Asus motherboard, btw, and i see you're using one as well, so you should have similar settings in the bios.


maybe its set to Standard or Silent ...dunno. try Turbo out and see what happens.

at least you have another fan you can add to your case for more cooling now, no?

Zodiac is offline  
Old
01-12-2013, 02:03 PM
  #202
Francesa
Moderator
(╯□)╯︵ SƖ ןɥu ɐǝ
 
Francesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Posts: 186,441
vCash: 500
There are supposed to be 5 fans, but the BIOS only recognizes 2. One of them is the CPU Fan and the other is the exhaust fan. Don't think the other fans are plugged in.

I will check advanced BIOS settings to see if any setting like that exists. I also looked for Fan Xpert but no program like that exists. I do have AI Suite II, though.

This seems like something that can be fixed with hardware or some kind of computer setting.

Francesa is offline  
Old
01-12-2013, 02:12 PM
  #203
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,858
vCash: 500
when you say that the bios only detects 2, maybe its only 2 that are connected to the motherboard? could be. you'd have to look and see.

maybe the rest are just connected to the power supply via molex connection.


if that were the case, they'd just be running full blast ...which is fine with me, unless you're really looking for silent operation.

Zodiac is offline  
Old
01-12-2013, 02:14 PM
  #204
Francesa
Moderator
(╯□)╯︵ SƖ ןɥu ɐǝ
 
Francesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Posts: 186,441
vCash: 500
The others light up but I didn't plug them in because they're all Molex and I ran out of Molex connectors on my PSU. Don't want to deal with them

Francesa is offline  
Old
01-12-2013, 02:17 PM
  #205
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,858
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by ixcuincle View Post
The others light up but I didn't plug them in because they're all Molex and I ran out of Molex connectors on my PSU. Don't want to deal with them
what psu do you have btw?

surprised that you would run out of them like that.

Zodiac is offline  
Old
01-12-2013, 02:41 PM
  #206
Francesa
Moderator
(╯□)╯︵ SƖ ןɥu ɐǝ
 
Francesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Posts: 186,441
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zodiac View Post
what psu do you have btw?

surprised that you would run out of them like that.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817182133

Anyway I need some way to increase the fan speed from the PC, which is probably the issue

Francesa is offline  
Old
01-12-2013, 02:53 PM
  #207
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,858
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by ixcuincle View Post
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817182133

Anyway I need some way to increase the fan speed from the PC, which is probably the issue
have you checked the bios yet to see if you have fan speed settings for the chassis fan?

Zodiac is offline  
Old
01-12-2013, 03:10 PM
  #208
Francesa
Moderator
(╯□)╯︵ SƖ ןɥu ɐǝ
 
Francesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Posts: 186,441
vCash: 500
I am looking at Chassis 1 Q Fan control now

Q Fan Control Enabled
Fan Speed low limit 600 RPM
Fan PRofile Standard

Despite this, fan is still spinning at 570 RPM. On the box it said it would spin at 950 RPM

Put it on Turbo and the fan spins at 590 RPM...what's holding it back...


Last edited by Francesa: 01-12-2013 at 03:15 PM.
Francesa is offline  
Old
01-12-2013, 03:40 PM
  #209
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,858
vCash: 500
what make/model of fan is the one that's causing issue?

and just to be sure, i assume that you replaced the proper fan right?

its not a case of the same old fan that was in there from the start (the original one that caused concern) is still in there, is it?

Zodiac is offline  
Old
01-12-2013, 03:41 PM
  #210
Francesa
Moderator
(╯□)╯︵ SƖ ןɥu ɐǝ
 
Francesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Posts: 186,441
vCash: 500
Yes, I took the old fan out and put the new one in. It's still low speed

One I replaced it with was an 8 dollar one from Micro Center

Kingwin 120 mm CFBL-012LB

I am currently running it at Standard and it's in the high 500's

Francesa is offline  
Old
01-12-2013, 04:04 PM
  #211
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,858
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by ixcuincle View Post
Yes, I took the old fan out and put the new one in. It's still low speed

One I replaced it with was an 8 dollar one from Micro Center

Kingwin 120 mm CFBL-012LB

I am currently running it at Standard and it's in the high 500's
so the fan that got replaced isn't the same make/model is it?

that Kingwin is rated as a max 950rpms ...which isn't the fastest out there for sure, so maybe its a case of replacing a slow fan with another slow fan.

tho, i'd think you'd get more than high 500rpms out of it ...maybe not tho. and the Turbo setting doesn't give you much more than the Standard setting, eh?

just to compare ...i bought a few of these fans for my case ...
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16835103060
Coolermasters rated for a max of 2000rpms ...got them for $4.99 each at the time.

Zodiac is offline  
Old
01-12-2013, 04:16 PM
  #212
Francesa
Moderator
(╯□)╯︵ SƖ ןɥu ɐǝ
 
Francesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Posts: 186,441
vCash: 500
The fan worked fine before Friday, which is weird. Suddenly there's a decrease in the original fan and the newer fan.

Francesa is offline  
Old
01-12-2013, 06:09 PM
  #213
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,858
vCash: 500
have you tried it with Qfan off?

Qfan is off by default in the bios. i don't even use it myself. i just let the fans run full blast, cus i'm not concerned about the extra noise (pc is in reckroom where the small amount of extra noise doesn't matter to me) ...plus i'm overclocking, so i wanted the most cooling possible.

but u could try turning Qfan off altogether, and then check your fan speeds to see how they change. just to see how different they are, if at all ...then turn it back on if u want.

maybe a bios update might help improve things for you. might help, and it might not help. i noticed that there's a few bios updates for your board since the version you're using.

just throwing things out there.

like mentioned before, you could set the fan warning limit a little lower ...like 550 instead of 600 maybe. if your system temps are cool, you might consider this.

still tho ...its an interesting situation. i'll think about it some more ...and google around to see what i can find that might help.

Zodiac is offline  
Old
01-12-2013, 06:12 PM
  #214
SniperHF
Global Moderator
Here we go again.
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 14,944
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zodiac View Post
like mentioned before, you could set the fan warning limit a little lower ...like 550 instead of 600 maybe. if your system temps are cool, you might consider this.
Still the best solution IMO.

SniperHF is online now  
Old
01-12-2013, 06:13 PM
  #215
Francesa
Moderator
(╯□)╯︵ SƖ ןɥu ɐǝ
 
Francesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Posts: 186,441
vCash: 500
Set limit to 500 earlier

Problem is fine for now...it wasn't really acting up when it was at 600, just a few warnings. I'm just alarmed that the speed isn't higher.

Also have tried to update BIOS earlier but this is the most recent copy. Asus is being weird. Earlier a few months ago ASUS kept warning of anti-surge crap and kept turning my computer off out of nowhere. Never really fixed it because I don't want parts to fry. Good thing is this happens sparingly.

Will try the Q thing later


Last edited by Francesa: 01-12-2013 at 06:21 PM.
Francesa is offline  
Old
01-12-2013, 06:21 PM
  #216
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,858
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by ixcuincle View Post
Set limit to 500 earlier

Problem is fine for now...it wasn't really acting up when it was at 600, just a few warnings. I'm just alarmed that the speed isn't higher.

Also have tried to update BIOS earlier but this is the most recent copy. Asus is being weird. Earlier a few months ago ASUS kept warning of anti-surge crap and kept turning my computer off out of nowhere. Never really fixed it because I don't want parts to fry.

well ya, its caught my interest and i'd like to know what's really going on with it now.

i mean ...its fine one day ....then the next day its a couple hundred rpms lower, and wont go higher regardless of setting.

setting it lower takes the warning alert away from your eyes, but the thought of knowing that its not actually fixed would still be in my mind.

i'll still look around to see what could be the deal.

maybe Qfan is just flaky ...dunno. Asus tech support would likely suggest a bios update ...but maybe they wouldn't. maybe they'd have a more solid answer for ya.

Zodiac is offline  
Old
01-12-2013, 06:29 PM
  #217
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,858
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by ixcuincle View Post
Set limit to 500 earlier

Problem is fine for now...it wasn't really acting up when it was at 600, just a few warnings. I'm just alarmed that the speed isn't higher.

Also have tried to update BIOS earlier but this is the most recent copy. Asus is being weird. Earlier a few months ago ASUS kept warning of anti-surge crap and kept turning my computer off out of nowhere. Never really fixed it because I don't want parts to fry. Good thing is this happens sparingly.

Will try the Q thing later
from your picture on the last page you're using an Asus P8Z77-V LK right? with bios version 0404 shown.

the newest that i'm seeing, on their website, is version 0908. so you're on 0908 now then?

Zodiac is offline  
Old
01-12-2013, 06:34 PM
  #218
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,858
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by SniperHF View Post
Still the best solution IMO.
well yeah, as long as temps are good then its likely fine and dandy.

i get kinda OCD on these things sometimes tho. i tend to want things to be perfect.

any ideas as to the issue tho? its kinda strange ...works one day ...then the next its not working as good as before regardless of speed setting.

weird.

something wrong with the sensor? i dunno. i don't wanna read into it too much ...but ya never know.

Zodiac is offline  
Old
01-12-2013, 07:57 PM
  #219
Francesa
Moderator
(╯□)╯︵ SƖ ןɥu ɐǝ
 
Francesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Posts: 186,441
vCash: 500
It should be 404. I tried updating it but it said it was incompatible. I think I have the most recent version.

Francesa is offline  
Old
01-12-2013, 08:08 PM
  #220
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,858
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by ixcuincle View Post
It should be 404. I tried updating it but it said it was incompatible. I think I have the most recent version.
here's what i'm seeing ...
http://ca.asus.com/en/Motherboards/I...V_LK/#download

last time it was updated ...

2012.12.04 update = Version 0908

that's the last update i see on there. there's been 4 updates since 0404 that improve memory compatibility, improved on system stability each time, and improves compatibility with Windows 8.

Zodiac is offline  
Old
01-13-2013, 12:36 AM
  #221
SolidSnakeUS
Registered User
 
SolidSnakeUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pipersville, PA
Country: United States
Posts: 30,159
vCash: 500
All I know is, I would love one of these cases:

http://gizmodo.com/5974911/this-is-t...badass-pc-case

But holy **** is it pricy.


SolidSnakeUS is offline  
Old
01-13-2013, 01:33 AM
  #222
Benny Lava
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Anaheim
Country: Marshall Islands
Posts: 8,044
vCash: 500
Speaking of fans, I just replaced my case fans with these bad boys. Can't hear them at all and they actually look pretty cool, which isn't something I was going for, but it's a nice bonus.

Benny Lava is offline  
Old
01-13-2013, 07:42 AM
  #223
Francesa
Moderator
(╯□)╯︵ SƖ ןɥu ɐǝ
 
Francesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Posts: 186,441
vCash: 500
Alright, QFan was enabled, I turned it off, and the speed of the fan is now in the high 800's. That's more like it.

Also, with those prices for the above fans, I might look into that one too.

Francesa is offline  
Old
01-13-2013, 10:05 AM
  #224
LickTheEnvelope
6th Overall Blows
 
LickTheEnvelope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 28,045
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Benny Lava View Post
Speaking of fans, I just replaced my case fans with these bad boys. Can't hear them at all and they actually look pretty cool, which isn't something I was going for, but it's a nice bonus.
Nice.

For fans the 3 extra internal ones I add a few months back were similar:
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16835345017

LickTheEnvelope is offline  
Old
01-13-2013, 01:05 PM
  #225
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,858
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by ixcuincle View Post
Alright, QFan was enabled, I turned it off, and the speed of the fan is now in the high 800's. That's more like it.

Also, with those prices for the above fans, I might look into that one too.
good ...like i said, i don't use Qfan either. i suppose it's good if you're concerned about having a more quiet pc, but otherwise, i'd just let the fans crank out the most they can. the cooler the pc the better, imo.

Zodiac is offline  
Closed Thread

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:05 AM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2014 All Rights Reserved.