HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > NHL Eastern Conference > Metropolitan Division > Philadelphia Flyers
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Notices

NHL Center Ice / NHL GameCenter Live all info

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
01-19-2013, 05:55 PM
  #126
oilers2k10
Yak Don't Back Down
 
oilers2k10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,389
vCash: 203
im on PS3, I paid and everything but it sucks..cant get any games to start...useless

oilers2k10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-19-2013, 06:50 PM
  #127
PHILOUDELPHIA
Registered User
 
PHILOUDELPHIA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: PHILADELPHIA
Posts: 603
vCash: 500
bruins looking very good,

a lot of games on center ice are on fast pace, and really good action.

PHILOUDELPHIA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-19-2013, 07:15 PM
  #128
oilers2k10
Yak Don't Back Down
 
oilers2k10's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2,389
vCash: 203
center ice is a useless service if u only.have ps3 to run it on

oilers2k10 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-19-2013, 11:54 PM
  #129
BringBackStevens
Registered User
 
BringBackStevens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Philadelphia
Country: United States
Posts: 12,044
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by oilers2k10 View Post
center ice is a useless service if u only.have ps3 to run it on
The app isnt out yet for this year. Still a few weeks for some reason

BringBackStevens is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-20-2013, 12:14 AM
  #130
achdumeingute
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: NorCal
Posts: 2,262
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by oilers2k10 View Post
center ice is a useless service if u only.have ps3 to run it on
Center ice like through a cable/sat provider?

Couldnt you just watch it on tv?

achdumeingute is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-20-2013, 12:37 AM
  #131
PHILOUDELPHIA
Registered User
 
PHILOUDELPHIA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: PHILADELPHIA
Posts: 603
vCash: 500
NHL center ice is on your tv.

NHL GCL is for online and devices

PHILOUDELPHIA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-20-2013, 09:03 PM
  #132
FLYERSFAN18
Registered User
 
FLYERSFAN18's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Florida
Country: United States
Posts: 1,882
vCash: 500
I have Comcast and they have a Free Preview of Center Ice going on, but I can't find the games in HD. Can anyone help with this?

FLYERSFAN18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-20-2013, 10:01 PM
  #133
funghoul
retardo montalbon
 
funghoul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: upper drugs
Country: United States
Posts: 1,671
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by FLYERSFAN18 View Post
I have Comcast and they have a Free Preview of Center Ice going on, but I can't find the games in HD. Can anyone help with this?
i have crappy RCN and out of all the nhl channels only one of the 15 or whatever is hd. last night's vancouver ducks game and tonights flames sharks were the only ones on that channel.

funghoul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-20-2013, 10:36 PM
  #134
FLYERSFAN18
Registered User
 
FLYERSFAN18's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Florida
Country: United States
Posts: 1,882
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by funghoul View Post
i have crappy RCN and out of all the nhl channels only one of the 15 or whatever is hd. last night's vancouver ducks game and tonights flames sharks were the only ones on that channel.
I have the same thing with Comcast it seems. There are two HD channels and whenever I try to watch one it just has a black screen. Normally if I do not have the channel it will say "not authorized" pr something like that. I don't know what the deal is. I am thinking about purchasing since it is $50 and I live in Florida, but I don't want to have to watch all the games without HD, so I am wondering if it will be the same way if I purchase it.

FLYERSFAN18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-20-2013, 10:46 PM
  #135
Hollywood Couturier
Moderator
 
Hollywood Couturier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: South Jersey
Country: United States
Posts: 19,957
vCash: 500
I had Center Ice on Comcast last year and could never get HD games. The SD looked terrible so I bought GCL this year. I'm at my girlfriends now watching CI on Verizon and they're in HD. It's bothering me.

__________________

"I Came Here To Bury Caesar, Not Praise Him" - Roy Halladay
Hollywood Couturier is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-20-2013, 11:01 PM
  #136
FLYERSFAN18
Registered User
 
FLYERSFAN18's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Florida
Country: United States
Posts: 1,882
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hollywood Couturier View Post
I had Center Ice on Comcast last year and could never get HD games. The SD looked terrible so I bought GCL this year. I'm at my girlfriends now watching CI on Verizon and they're in HD. It's bothering me.
Thanks for the info. I guess Comcast just doesn't have the HD. I will probably be better off getting the gamecenter live as well. I'll have to go look at the price. The Standard definition is atrocious to try to watch.

Edit: looks like they are the same price. I might have to go with the gamecenter.

FLYERSFAN18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2013, 01:26 PM
  #137
Flyersfan139
Registered User
 
Flyersfan139's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Exton, PA
Country: United States
Posts: 3,966
vCash: 500
Has anyone figured out how to get picture in picture to work on the web app? It works on my Xbox but not in my browser.

Flyersfan139 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2013, 01:45 PM
  #138
tomcatNYR
Registered User
 
tomcatNYR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 388
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyersfan139 View Post
Has anyone figured out how to get picture in picture to work on the web app? It works on my Xbox but not in my browser.
Doesn't work. I've tried a million times today and yesterday.

tomcatNYR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2013, 04:13 PM
  #139
Swiper the Fox
Registered User
 
Swiper the Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 349
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by FLYERSFAN18 View Post
I have the same thing with Comcast it seems. There are two HD channels and whenever I try to watch one it just has a black screen. Normally if I do not have the channel it will say "not authorized" pr something like that. I don't know what the deal is. I am thinking about purchasing since it is $50 and I live in Florida, but I don't want to have to watch all the games without HD, so I am wondering if it will be the same way if I purchase it.
just wondering about you folks with comcast
could the reason you don't get center ice in HD is because your receiver is not compatible. When i was on shaw (in canada) i had a hd receiver, but could not get center ice until they swapped out the box with an MPEG4 receiver

just a though, you may want to look into

Swiper the Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2013, 04:31 PM
  #140
DickTony
Registered User
 
DickTony's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: West Chester, PA
Country: United States
Posts: 1,029
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swiper the Fox View Post
just wondering about you folks with comcast
could the reason you don't get center ice in HD is because your receiver is not compatible. When i was on shaw (in canada) i had a hd receiver, but could not get center ice until they swapped out the box with an MPEG4 receiver

just a though, you may want to look into
Comcast only has two HD channels set aside for Center Ice, sometimes only utilizing one (for some asinine reason). They charge as much as everyone else for an inferior service. Frankly, it's a joke. This is my first year with GCL, and judging by the free preview of CI I had on at my bar last night, I made the right decision.

So no, the HD receiver is not the issue here.

DickTony is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2013, 07:57 PM
  #141
Kovifan27
Registered User
 
Kovifan27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Philly, PA
Posts: 1,821
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by DickTony View Post
Comcast only has two HD channels set aside for Center Ice, sometimes only utilizing one (for some asinine reason). They charge as much as everyone else for an inferior service. Frankly, it's a joke. This is my first year with GCL, and judging by the free preview of CI I had on at my bar last night, I made the right decision.

So no, the HD receiver is not the issue here.
This is correct. It's insane that Comcast does not offer HD but for the two channels and they usually don't use them unless its a bigger drawing game.

I called comcast awhile back and asked them they basically said it eats up too much bandwith to show in HD. I get that for the replay but for the live game its crap. Only about 1/3 of the Pens game are in HD on Center Ice. As the SD channels get cut out they would add more HD for basketball/mlb/nhl is what they said. I believe it was 2010 when I got that statement. So yeah you can tell it's a top priority.

Kovifan27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2013, 08:24 PM
  #142
Swiper the Fox
Registered User
 
Swiper the Fox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 349
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by DickTony View Post
Comcast only has two HD channels set aside for Center Ice, sometimes only utilizing one (for some asinine reason). They charge as much as everyone else for an inferior service. Frankly, it's a joke. This is my first year with GCL, and judging by the free preview of CI I had on at my bar last night, I made the right decision.

So no, the HD receiver is not the issue here.
I know from personal experience being a comcast rep (outsourced a looong time ago) that sometimes, it takes a FEW people to call before you get the correct answer
if you catch my drift !!
)
just for kicks you may want to check your receiver and see if it is MPEG4
)

but yeah, it is comcast....... its mos likely them

Swiper the Fox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2013, 08:29 PM
  #143
FLYERSFAN18
Registered User
 
FLYERSFAN18's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Florida
Country: United States
Posts: 1,882
vCash: 500
This is just crazy. Comcast really sucks in this department. I know for a fact that Directv has the same free preview and they are all in HD.

FLYERSFAN18 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-22-2013, 03:25 AM
  #144
Flyman
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 921
vCash: 500
Send a message via MSN to Flyman
We in Europe are suffering from Blackouts on NHL GCL....just because other channels here on TV are broadcasting games! But these channels are not national TV, it's also per-per-view....lol

I paid 50 bucks for a service unable to provide me with all the games, contrary to last season....complete disgrace!

Flyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-22-2013, 09:51 AM
  #145
Flyerfan4life
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Richmond BC, Canada
Country: England
Posts: 12,052
vCash: 500
well so far ive wanted to watch 3 games on GCL, all 3 have been blackedout.

not not a good start..

both Flyers games and last nites CLB game...

/facepalm

Flyerfan4life is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-22-2013, 10:40 AM
  #146
JLHockeyKnight
IMA Real American
 
JLHockeyKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Central Jersey
Country: United States
Posts: 19,438
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by BringBackStevens View Post
The app isnt out yet for this year. Still a few weeks for some reason
They announced on their website (www.ps3.com/nhl) that the app is being worked on, and that it will be out soon. The old app won't work for this season.

I believe the main board said they are aiming for a February 1 release for the PS3 app.

In all honesty, if you have a laptop with an HDMI output, just HDMI into your TV, full screen the video, enjoy. Quality is pretty good except for the occasion lag-out where the quality dips. Amongst all the upgrades they have been doing to not run into the Day 1 total flop again, I'd expect that to occur every once in a while.

JLHockeyKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-22-2013, 10:55 AM
  #147
kicksave27
Registered User
 
kicksave27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,250
vCash: 500
Somewhat related topic, I'm think of ditching cable and just going with apple tv and the internet, flyers games are one of the reasons I still pay my hefty cable bill. Anyone have pros & cons for me.

kicksave27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-22-2013, 10:58 AM
  #148
PHILOUDELPHIA
Registered User
 
PHILOUDELPHIA's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: PHILADELPHIA
Posts: 603
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by FLYERSFAN18 View Post
Thanks for the info. I guess Comcast just doesn't have the HD. I will probably be better off getting the gamecenter live as well. I'll have to go look at the price. The Standard definition is atrocious to try to watch.

Edit: looks like they are the same price. I might have to go with the gamecenter.

I left Comcast for FIOS in October, so far everything has been great.

they offer 5 HD Center Ice / Extra innings channels ( both packages use the same channels)

Comcast had 0 HD channels in Philadelphia area.

So far everything has been great, but I noticed 2 telecast that were on HD channels but they didn't show the HD it was reduced to the same as SD, infact I looked at both the SD and HD and were same thing.

Also yesterday During the Bruins game the picture of the HD was choppy, I had to watch SD of jets Bruins and was fine.

But the other HD games came in good, so I'm thinking its Indemand not delivering the good stuff at times.

PHILOUDELPHIA is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-22-2013, 12:34 PM
  #149
JLHockeyKnight
IMA Real American
 
JLHockeyKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Central Jersey
Country: United States
Posts: 19,438
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by kicksave27 View Post
Somewhat related topic, I'm think of ditching cable and just going with apple tv and the internet, flyers games are one of the reasons I still pay my hefty cable bill. Anyone have pros & cons for me.
Con with Gamecenter Live is if the game is on TV in your area it'll get blacked out on GCL. If you live in the Philadelphia area, that will leave you with pretty much zero Flyers games.

JLHockeyKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-22-2013, 02:40 PM
  #150
Schenn Bros Pizza*
All-Star
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Michigan
Posts: 776
vCash: 500
Please don't tell me tonight's game will be blacked out too... This is pretty stupid.

Schenn Bros Pizza* is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56 AM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. ©2014 All Rights Reserved.