HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Non-Sports > Geek Emporium
Geek Emporium Discuss computers, hardware, software, electronics, video games, internet, etc.

Planning to build a new computer? Read Here first! #5

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old
01-24-2013, 01:27 PM
  #251
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,491
vCash: 500
another nice Corsair ...
http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16817139010

Zodiac is offline  
Old
01-24-2013, 01:43 PM
  #252
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,491
vCash: 500
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...-20148449-L04B

Crucial M4 CT256M4SSD2CCA 2.5" 256GB SATA III MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD) with Transfer Kit
$179.99
Save: $70.00 (28%)

not bad.

Zodiac is offline  
Old
01-24-2013, 01:47 PM
  #253
Francesa
Global Moderator
 
Francesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 171,663
vCash: 500
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139040

Looking at this product

Is this any good

Francesa is offline  
Old
01-24-2013, 02:02 PM
  #254
SniperHF
Moderator
Random Red Couch....
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 13,654
vCash: 500
Corsair CX is a good power supply. Though it's not modular if that concerns you.

EDIT:

This is the modular version of the one you are looking at.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139051

SniperHF is online now  
Old
01-24-2013, 03:12 PM
  #255
Benny Lava
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Anaheim
Country: Marshall Islands
Posts: 8,048
vCash: 500
The SeaSonic should be fine even with dual Xfire/SLI so long as they aren't super high end cards.

Benny Lava is offline  
Old
01-24-2013, 07:18 PM
  #256
Puck
Ninja
 
Puck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Ottawa
Country: Tahiti
Posts: 8,154
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by ixcuincle View Post
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817139040

Looking at this product

Is this any good
Yes.

Puck is offline  
Old
01-26-2013, 10:23 PM
  #257
BeBen*
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Montreal
Country: Canada
Posts: 5,998
vCash: 500
So...something i've been wondering lately, is nowadays hooking a PC to a TV as simple as connecting a HDMI cable from the TV to the video card?

BeBen* is offline  
Old
01-26-2013, 10:32 PM
  #258
Lambda
Registered User
 
Lambda's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Long Island, NY
Country: United States
Posts: 126
vCash: 500
yep, that's pretty much it. I've tried this a couple of times without any problems configuring video. I know my mid 2009 macbook pro doesnt support outputting audio via the HDMI cable, and the nvidia in the desktop i built (after consulting this thread and pretty much sticking to the recommended "high end" specs ) has a separate set of drivers for putting out audio that way. On my mbp, i just use a separate audio cable out

Lambda is offline  
Old
01-26-2013, 11:42 PM
  #259
LickTheEnvelope
Decertified Poster
 
LickTheEnvelope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 26,075
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by BeBen View Post
So...something i've been wondering lately, is nowadays hooking a PC to a TV as simple as connecting a HDMI cable from the TV to the video card?
Yup, then just change the settings on your PC display to which you want as primary monitor and secondary. I've had my TV as my 2nd monitor for 5 years or so.

LickTheEnvelope is offline  
Old
01-27-2013, 02:49 PM
  #260
Belamorte
Feed Your Head
 
Belamorte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: North American Scum
Posts: 1,934
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by LickTheEnvelope View Post
Yup, then just change the settings on your PC display to which you want as primary monitor and secondary. I've had my TV as my 2nd monitor for 5 years or so.
As well for some reason I dont get sound from the TV unless I unplug the computer speakers. But ya, plug it in and set your tv to the input device and it should work. Sometimes I need a reboot for it all to work but no big deal.

Belamorte is offline  
Old
01-27-2013, 03:10 PM
  #261
LickTheEnvelope
Decertified Poster
 
LickTheEnvelope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 26,075
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Monkeyhouse View Post
As well for some reason I dont get sound from the TV unless I unplug the computer speakers. But ya, plug it in and set your tv to the input device and it should work. Sometimes I need a reboot for it all to work but no big deal.
Ya I just use my PC Speakers anyways as they are better than my TV speakers.

LickTheEnvelope is offline  
Old
01-27-2013, 06:48 PM
  #262
Francesa
Global Moderator
 
Francesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 171,663
vCash: 500
Was talking with an associate of mine about the faulty PSU and we got into a discussion about my USB 3.0 cable which I've been too lazy to plug into the motherboard since it's too short.



He said I should put all the wires behind the case

Will try to do so when the new PSU comes

Francesa is offline  
Old
01-27-2013, 07:52 PM
  #263
Bruins4Lifer
HFBoards Sponsor
 
Bruins4Lifer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Regina, SK
Country: Canada
Posts: 7,918
vCash: 500
Fix that rat's nest of cables man. That's what the space behind the mobo and those nice rubber grommets are for.

__________________

Bruins4Lifer is offline  
Old
01-27-2013, 08:15 PM
  #264
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,491
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bruins4Lifer View Post
Fix that rat's nest of cables man. That's what the space behind the mobo and those nice rubber grommets are for.
this.

and i'd always go with a modular psu to help cut down on clutter.

like this one ...http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16817139010

Quote:
Slay the cable kraken
The modular cable set allows you to use only the cables you need for your particular set of components. There’s no more unwieldy mythical tentacled monstrosity of unused cables to clutter up the inside of your case.

Zodiac is offline  
Old
01-27-2013, 08:28 PM
  #265
SniperHF
Moderator
Random Red Couch....
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 13,654
vCash: 500
LOL at you guys thinking that's cluttered. I've had cases with easily triple that amount of wires running around.

Has zip affect on performance so who cares

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zodiac View Post
I have this PSU, it's fantastic. Though I still consider modular overrated.

Because the way they design these stupid modern cable chains you have to run the molex separate from the SATA power. So what ends up happening is if you need just ONE molex connection for a legacy device or a fan, you have to run an entire chain of 4 molex connections. And if you need a 4pin mini molex you are utterly screwed.


Though one thing about Ix's picture does interest me. He seems to be running a double molex to PCIe power adapter. I'm not sure why? Any modern power supply will have at least one 6 pin PCIe which is all his 660 needs. That's where 90% of the clutter you are seeing is coming from.

SniperHF is online now  
Old
01-27-2013, 09:22 PM
  #266
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,491
vCash: 500
i hate anything that is unnecessarily messy. if i can do anything to make things neat and tidy ...it gets done.

and depending on how bad the mess of cables are, it could hamper quality air flow throughout the case ...so there's that aspect, too.


and now that you pointed out those molex connectors to the video card ...ya that looks a little different. why not just use the 6 pin pcie connector?

Zodiac is offline  
Old
01-28-2013, 02:44 PM
  #267
Francesa
Global Moderator
 
Francesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 171,663
vCash: 500
Corsair works fine so far and is quieter. The CD Rom drive isn't working but that's my fault. Just tired of plugging crap in and trying to wire stuff through the back and then finding out the case won't close

Francesa is offline  
Old
01-30-2013, 04:14 PM
  #268
SolidSnakeUS
Registered User
 
SolidSnakeUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pipersville, PA
Country: United States
Posts: 28,066
vCash: 500
If I still had my job, I would probably buy this at this price:

http://www.amazon.com/Samsung-MZ-7TD...gizmodoamzn-20

SolidSnakeUS is online now  
Old
01-30-2013, 08:05 PM
  #269
Stainless Soul
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Buffalo, NY
Country: United States
Posts: 271
vCash: 500
Fan Controller

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...scrollFullInfo

This is great functionally, aesthetically the mesh looks like it would clash with the mesh on my case. The mesh on my Antec 1100 looks larger and it would grind my gears if it doesn't match.

So help please, looking for a fan controller. Minimum 3 fans controlled, 5.25" bay preferred.

Stainless Soul is offline  
Old
02-02-2013, 04:01 AM
  #270
BeBen*
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Montreal
Country: Canada
Posts: 5,998
vCash: 500
7900 series

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16800995145

7800 series

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16800995146

BeBen* is offline  
Old
02-03-2013, 05:40 AM
  #271
SniperHF
Moderator
Random Red Couch....
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 13,654
vCash: 500
Really good article from Tom's about the state of PSU's. If anyone was looking for a unit this is good to check out.

http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/...urer,2913.html

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeBen View Post
That makes it really tempting to sell my 6950, buy a 7950, and get a performance boost for $50+cost of games.

Probably gonna wait one more gen though. 7xx or 8xxx.

SniperHF is online now  
Old
02-05-2013, 05:55 AM
  #272
BeBen*
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Montreal
Country: Canada
Posts: 5,998
vCash: 500
lawl

Went on Newegg's live chat and said

''i was promised a coupon for my video card, can i get it when it gets restocked''

and i linked the Bioshock Infinite + Crysis 3 coupon that started couple days ago and the guy said he would send it

Not even gonna feel bad if they end up sending a 2nd coupon they pissed me off so much

BeBen* is offline  
Old
02-05-2013, 08:52 AM
  #273
Swedish Puck Mafia
Break The HeMan Down
 
Swedish Puck Mafia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 28,109
vCash: 157
Quote:
Originally Posted by SniperHF View Post
Though one thing about Ix's picture does interest me. He seems to be running a double molex to PCIe power adapter. I'm not sure why? Any modern power supply will have at least one 6 pin PCIe which is all his 660 needs. That's where 90% of the clutter you are seeing is coming from.
They put those 6-pin to double molex cables in the boxes for most graphics cards. He might have put it on thinking it was necessary.

They include them as if someone spending $300+ on a graphics card is going to have a power supply without the 6-pin adapters.

Swedish Puck Mafia is offline  
Old
02-05-2013, 08:53 AM
  #274
Swedish Puck Mafia
Break The HeMan Down
 
Swedish Puck Mafia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 28,109
vCash: 157
I should upload some pictures of my computer eventually.

Swedish Puck Mafia is offline  
Old
02-05-2013, 09:44 AM
  #275
Beef Invictus
Global Moderator
AICMAM
 
Beef Invictus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Alexandria
Country: Liberia
Posts: 34,218
vCash: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by ixcuincle View Post
Was talking with an associate of mine about the faulty PSU and we got into a discussion about my USB 3.0 cable which I've been too lazy to plug into the motherboard since it's too short.



He said I should put all the wires behind the case

Will try to do so when the new PSU comes
We have the same case!

I didn't have a problem plugging in the USB 3.0...but I did have issues plugging in all the fans. I had to take the back off the case to find the cable and feed more of it out. Perhaps you have the same issue?

__________________
Down in the basement, I've got a Craftsman lathe. Show it to the children when they misbehave.
Beef Invictus is offline  
Closed Thread

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:23 AM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. ©2014 All Rights Reserved.