bad hit well deserving of the 5 and a game he was given but i think anything more than a 1 game suspension would be ridiculous and im not justifying it but this guy plays hard every game and especially hard this game trying to hand it to his former organization for never giving him a very good chance
Reading all the comments in the isles GDT I was expecting Lovejoy to get destroyed. Still a bad hit and worth the 5 mins. Stupid play at a terrible time. Good thing we have one of the top PK units in the league or it could have really cost us.
I didn't think it was as bad as the announcers made it out to be. Lovejoy knew MacDonald was there and there needs to be some responsibility on the player handling the puck to not put himself in such a vulnerable position.
Definitely a penalty though.
Yeah, Lovejoy's actions weren't smart knowing the other player is in his pocket. You see Dmen countless times in a game that put themselves in a better position to absorb the hit. Shouldn't be any more then an in game penalty, but lets see if Shanny spins the wheel.
Personally, I thought it should have been a double minor. It wasn't like Lovejoy was knocked out or something along those lines.
It should have been 1 less minute because the person getting hit remained conscious? On what planet does it make sense to discipline the offender based on result rather than action? Boarding is boarding, regardless of the outcome.
Having seen the hit now, I don't think it was a particularly dirty or scary hit, but the 5 was deserved. Not something that should earn the guy a reputation or retribution really, unless it turns into some kind of habit, but a pretty cut and dry example of boarding. Again, not overly vicious boarding, but pretty much exactly the definition of the call. I think the 5 was enough, but wouldn't be surprised to see him get a game, just as a "that's not going to fly if you expect to play in the bigs" kind of thing. Impossible to predict discipline in this league.
Last edited by Ollie Queen: 01-30-2013 at 01:38 AM.
Here we go again..... If I were to put the Phaneuf hit up on Taveras there is not much of a difference.
So Shannahan calls a hearing if the hearing is going to be how long? And then there is an independent arbitrator for an appeal if he rules 5 or more games, correct?
Isn't the hearing automatic because the call was 5 and a game?
Anyway, it was an incredibly stupid play by McDonald. The call on the ice was the right call. Anything more would just be absurd. The guy has absolutely no history of disciplinary action in either the AHL or the NHL and thankfully Lovejoy was not injured.
Rough hit. I really don't like seeing that play made these days. Really should have lost a little speed and wrapped him up going into the boards instead of full on blasting him. Hopefully McDonald will sit a few games for it, but that hit reminded me a lot of this one and this one got no SD at all...