HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Non-Sports > Geek Emporium
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Geek Emporium Discuss computers, hardware, software, electronics, video games, internet, etc.

Planning to build a new computer? Read Here first! #5

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old
02-12-2013, 07:07 PM
  #326
SniperHF
Global Moderator
Desert Ranger
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 14,750
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slot 3 View Post
Just a bit. It's not as P2W as some of the louder "baddies" like to claim.

I'm actually contemplating an upgrade; I have a 5830 at the moment and it's a good 2 generations old, but I still get very smooth and acceptable frame-rates for the games I play...
A new 660 (non ti) would be a pretty nice upgrade. I really like their Price / Performance level right now.

SniperHF is online now  
Old
02-12-2013, 07:26 PM
  #327
BeBen*
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Montreal
Country: Canada
Posts: 5,997
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Slot 3 View Post
Just a bit. It's not as P2W as some of the louder "baddies" like to claim.

I'm actually contemplating an upgrade; I have a 5830 at the moment and it's a good 2 generations old, but I still get very smooth and acceptable frame-rates for the games I play...
Dunno what i heard was some kind of golden ammo thats clearly better than anything you can buy with in game currency only

Seems P2W

Also you know you want to upgrade wink wink

BeBen* is offline  
Old
02-13-2013, 04:59 AM
  #328
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,832
vCash: 500
Unigine Heaven 4.0 benchmark is out. gonna have to try it out later.

http://www.unigine.com/products/heaven/download/



Quote:
What's New in Heaven 4.0?
  • Benchmarking presets for convenient comparison of results
  • GPU temperature and clock monitoring
  • Drastic improvement of SSDO
  • Stars at nighttime
  • Improvement of lens flares
  • New, improved version of UNIGINE Engine under the hood
  • Detection of multiple GPUs
  • Anti-aliasing support on Mac OS X
  • Enhancement of automation scripts in Pro version
  • New Advanced edition (see details below)
  • Russian and Chinese localization

Zodiac is offline  
Old
02-13-2013, 03:20 PM
  #329
SniperHF
Global Moderator
Desert Ranger
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 14,750
vCash: 500
So I'm working on this crusty old laptop for a friends son. Celeron single core 1.7ghz or so. 256mb ram. It made this god awful noise, figured it was the HD. So I popped in a spare drive I have, and sure enough of the laptop works. But to my surprise, the spare drive had WINDOWS 98 first edition I almost don't want to format it with Kubuntu 12.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Zodiac View Post
Unigine Heaven 4.0 benchmark is out. gonna have to try it out later.
7950 boost+2500k @4ghz.

Heaven 4.0
FPS: 53.3
Score: 1343
Min FPS: 8.4
Max FPS: 102.7

1600x900, Normal Tessellation, 4xAA Ultra Quality. DX11

SniperHF is online now  
Old
02-14-2013, 09:09 AM
  #330
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,832
vCash: 500
i usually use 1920x1080 resolution, but i used the same res as you this time to get a comparison ... so with the same settings
Quote:
1600x900, Normal Tessellation, 4xAA Ultra Quality. DX11
:

Heaven 4.0

FPS: 66.1
Score: 1665
Min FPS: 26.3
Max FPS: 138.0

using a GTX680 with 4gb ...max temp reached (according to the benchmark) was 66c ....stayed at 65c for a long time, but finally hit 66c.

cpu = i5 760 @ 3.8ghz and 8gig ram.

i wonder how an AMD 7970 does? Beben?? anyone?

Zodiac is offline  
Old
02-15-2013, 03:18 PM
  #331
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,832
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by SniperHF View Post
So I'm working on this crusty old laptop for a friends son. Celeron single core 1.7ghz or so. 256mb ram. It made this god awful noise, figured it was the HD. So I popped in a spare drive I have, and sure enough of the laptop works. But to my surprise, the spare drive had WINDOWS 98 first edition I almost don't want to format it with Kubuntu 12.


7950 boost+2500k @4ghz.

Heaven 4.0
FPS: 53.3
Score: 1343
Min FPS: 8.4
Max FPS: 102.7

1600x900, Normal Tessellation, 4xAA Ultra Quality. DX11
here's another one that you can check out sometime ...
http://unigine.com/products/valley/


Zodiac is offline  
Old
02-16-2013, 12:40 PM
  #332
kmart
Registered User
 
kmart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,272
vCash: 500
Send a message via MSN to kmart
since my old notebook is going to break in a few days i plan to build a pc

around 500-600

here is wat i found

amd fx 6300/(6x3.5GHz)/1500GB SATA3/+ssd
8ram
MSI 760G Mainboard
AMD HD7770

my question is now, is this ssd speed addition that important on desktops or can i live without it ? since that takes a lot of cash away.

kmart is offline  
Old
02-16-2013, 01:37 PM
  #333
The Imp
Registered User
 
The Imp's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Country: Denmark
Posts: 3,409
vCash: 500
I installed an SSD in my desktop in the fall.

Computer boot time is about 15 seconds (haven't measured, so it's an estimated). Feels so fast.

The Imp is offline  
Old
02-16-2013, 02:11 PM
  #334
LickTheEnvelope
6th Overall Blows
 
LickTheEnvelope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 27,930
vCash: 500
I wouldn't say SSD is essential but for the OS it certainly helps boot and load times, quite substantially.

LickTheEnvelope is offline  
Old
02-16-2013, 02:27 PM
  #335
Francesa
(╯□)╯︵ SƖ ןɥu ɐǝ
 
Francesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Posts: 183,027
vCash: 500
I have 8 gigs of RAM right now. Everything is completely fine with my computer right now, but I'm exploring Newegg deals for any good bargains. Is it really worth it at this time to get 16 GB of RAM?

Francesa is offline  
Old
02-16-2013, 02:58 PM
  #336
Benny Lava
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Anaheim
Country: Marshall Islands
Posts: 8,044
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by kmart View Post
since my old notebook is going to break in a few days i plan to build a pc

around 500-600€

here is wat i found

amd fx 6300/(6x3.5GHz)/1500GB SATA3/+ssd
8ram
MSI 760G Mainboard
AMD HD7770

my question is now, is this ssd speed addition that important on desktops or can i live without it ? since that takes a lot of cash away.
Get a 7850. Maybe $20-$30 more for a pretty big step up in performance. I'd also look into a better motherboard, especially if you plan on overclocking.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ixcuincle View Post
I have 8 gigs of RAM right now. Everything is completely fine with my computer right now, but I'm exploring Newegg deals for any good bargains. Is it really worth it at this time to get 16 GB of RAM?
Depends on what you're doing, but for the vast majority of people 8gb is plenty right now.

Benny Lava is offline  
Old
02-16-2013, 06:27 PM
  #337
LickTheEnvelope
6th Overall Blows
 
LickTheEnvelope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 27,930
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by ixcuincle View Post
I have 8 gigs of RAM right now. Everything is completely fine with my computer right now, but I'm exploring Newegg deals for any good bargains. Is it really worth it at this time to get 16 GB of RAM?
Right now 8gb ram is usually more than enough.

LickTheEnvelope is offline  
Old
02-18-2013, 11:48 PM
  #338
The K Man
Registered User
 
The K Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Country: Canada
Posts: 1,252
vCash: 500
So I just got a new build and apparently my MSI GTX 670 isn't working correctly. The store doesn't have any more in stock, but do have a refurbished MSI GTX 670 Power Edition that they are willing to give me instead of ordering a new standard MSI GTX 670.

Are refurbished cards reliable or should I just wait for them to order me a new one?

The K Man is offline  
Old
02-19-2013, 12:01 AM
  #339
LickTheEnvelope
6th Overall Blows
 
LickTheEnvelope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 27,930
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by The K Man View Post
So I just got a new build and apparently my MSI GTX 670 isn't working correctly. The store doesn't have any more in stock, but do have a refurbished MSI GTX 670 Power Edition that they are willing to give me instead of ordering a new standard MSI GTX 670.

Are refurbished cards reliable or should I just wait for them to order me a new one?
Depends on how fast you want the card. Usually refurbished hardware is totally fine, usually whomever is fixing it will have to put it through a bunch of extra testing to verify it can be re-sold, so often refurbed units will go through more testing than batch sold units.

If you really like the idea of a brand new untouched one you can wait too

LickTheEnvelope is offline  
Old
02-19-2013, 12:58 AM
  #340
SniperHF
Global Moderator
Desert Ranger
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 14,750
vCash: 500
IMO, the big thing for the refurbished part is to ask if its still eligible for the same level of RMA service from MSI as the new one. If it's not I probably wouldn't accept it.

Cards can go kaput after a few months and you might be SOL if you can't RMA it.

SniperHF is online now  
Old
02-19-2013, 06:38 AM
  #341
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,832
vCash: 500
i'd want a brand spankin new card as a replacement. i mean, you paid for a new card, not a refurb ...so that is what you should get.

it shouldn't take them that long to get them back in stock ...at least you wouldn't think so.

but anyway, what is wrong with the current GTX670?

Zodiac is offline  
Old
02-19-2013, 12:35 PM
  #342
The K Man
Registered User
 
The K Man's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Calgary
Country: Canada
Posts: 1,252
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by LickTheEnvelope View Post
Depends on how fast you want the card. Usually refurbished hardware is totally fine, usually whomever is fixing it will have to put it through a bunch of extra testing to verify it can be re-sold, so often refurbed units will go through more testing than batch sold units.

If you really like the idea of a brand new untouched one you can wait too
Quote:
Originally Posted by SniperHF View Post
IMO, the big thing for the refurbished part is to ask if its still eligible for the same level of RMA service from MSI as the new one. If it's not I probably wouldn't accept it.

Cards can go kaput after a few months and you might be SOL if you can't RMA it.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Zodiac View Post
i'd want a brand spankin new card as a replacement. i mean, you paid for a new card, not a refurb ...so that is what you should get.

it shouldn't take them that long to get them back in stock ...at least you wouldn't think so.

but anyway, what is wrong with the current GTX670?
Alright thanks guys, I'll have to make my decision off of how long it'll take to get here and the warranty I can get on it.

Not really sure what was wrong specifically with the card, but when I'd turn on the computer it would very rarely actually turn on my monitor.

The K Man is offline  
Old
02-21-2013, 09:50 AM
  #343
Orpheus
Valar Morgulis
 
Orpheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Country: Canada
Posts: 1,637
vCash: 500
Adding the FF14 Benchmark to the PC Benchmark pile. It's not quite as demanding as the others but it's good test for a mid range game coming out within the year.

http://na.finalfantasyxiv.com/benchmark/

Got a score of 5200 running at 1920x1080 with everything on maximum. So, I'm happy with my performance!

Orpheus is offline  
Old
02-21-2013, 12:13 PM
  #344
SniperHF
Global Moderator
Desert Ranger
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 14,750
vCash: 500
nVidia Geforce Titan reviews are out.
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/N...X_Titan/1.html

So 20-25% faster than the 680/7970 GHZ? Cool.......$1000!!!!!

More than double the price of a 7970GHZ/680.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Orpheus View Post
Adding the FF14 Benchmark to the PC Benchmark pile. It's not quite as demanding as the others but it's good test for a mid range game coming out within the year.

http://na.finalfantasyxiv.com/benchmark/

Got a score of 5200 running at 1920x1080 with everything on maximum. So, I'm happy with my performance!
Cool, added it to the OP. I'll give it a try later.

SniperHF is online now  
Old
02-21-2013, 12:51 PM
  #345
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,832
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by SniperHF View Post
nVidia Geforce Titan reviews are out.
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/N...X_Titan/1.html

So 20-25% faster than the 680/7970 GHZ? Cool.......$1000!!!!!

More than double the price of a 7970GHZ/680.

nice card, but a silly pricetag.

Quote:
Sure, the statement "NVIDIA has the fastest single GPU," holds true, but "NVIDIA has the most overpriced single-GPU card in 25 years of VGA history," is equally true.
^that made me chuckle.

Nvidia just want to be the clear cut performance leader ...but man, that price is just sad.

i wonder how much and how quick it'll come down in price?

i also wonder what kind of performance companies like MSI and Asus can get out of it with their nice coolers. etc?

some people will eat that stuff up tho. i already saw a few people on NEogaf say they were getting 2 to SLI ...hehe. its all about that E Peen, i guess eh?

Zodiac is offline  
Old
02-21-2013, 02:10 PM
  #346
SniperHF
Global Moderator
Desert Ranger
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 14,750
vCash: 500
Considering it's very low power consumption I would think it would OC well. Price will probably bottom out at 700-800 until another card is released. Which probably won't be for a while. AMD was originally gonna release in Q2 but that's not happening now. Both seem to be willing to wait for a while, current cards are selling okay and run current games fine.

SniperHF is online now  
Old
02-21-2013, 06:52 PM
  #347
Swedish Puck Mafia
Break The HeMan Down
 
Swedish Puck Mafia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 28,226
vCash: 50
Recently replaced my 20" monitor with a 24" monitor.

So with this spare monitor, I'm planning on making a kind of hybrid arcade machine (built into a coffee table) with my X-Arcade stick. Just a single monitor setup to run Mame and other emulators, not really going for a monster PC like the one I have now.

I'm going to part an old Sempron computer I have (at the very least I'm replacing the processor and ram), but are there any specs that I should aim to hit?

I'm thinking of just going with an HTPC box, I found one on Newegg with a 500w power supply that will be more than enough.

Swedish Puck Mafia is offline  
Old
02-22-2013, 08:25 PM
  #348
Swedish Puck Mafia
Break The HeMan Down
 
Swedish Puck Mafia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 28,226
vCash: 50
Never mind.

I have an old laptop I can use.

If it ends up being not enough, I might look at upgrading.

Swedish Puck Mafia is offline  
Old
02-23-2013, 09:08 AM
  #349
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,832
vCash: 500
there's a Resident Evil 6 benchmark out now ...

http://www.geforce.com/games-applica...il-6/downloads


Zodiac is offline  
Old
02-23-2013, 09:45 AM
  #350
Johnny Bravo
1st overall again
 
Johnny Bravo's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Game on
Country: Canada
Posts: 4,351
vCash: 500
How far should I push my 3770k guys? I have it on water with the H100i.

I'm thinking around 4.6 ghz.

Johnny Bravo is offline  
Closed Thread

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2014 All Rights Reserved.