HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Non-Sports > Geek Emporium
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Geek Emporium Discuss computers, hardware, software, electronics, video games, internet, etc.

Planning to build a new computer? Read Here first! #5

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old
03-05-2013, 10:11 PM
  #376
DBL
Registered User
 
DBL's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Country: Canada
Posts: 3,633
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by SniperHF View Post
As well as a lot of other editing software out there.

if you aren't gaming, consider dropping the video card to a cheaper model like the GTX 650.

http://www.newegg.ca/Product/Product...82E16814130827

Then use the savings on getting a SSD boot drive. That will benefit you a lot more than a $180 graphics card as a non-gamer.



On the motherboard front, most any AM3+ motherboard will work for you. Especially if you aren't interested in overclocking, budget boards will do fine.
I think I'm going to do exactly this...thank you!

DBL is offline  
Old
03-05-2013, 10:54 PM
  #377
SniperHF
Global Moderator
Desert Ranger
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 14,655
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by DBL View Post
I think I'm going to do exactly this...thank you!
If you want a final review by someone before you hit complete, go ahead and post up your cart

SniperHF is offline  
Old
03-06-2013, 02:18 PM
  #378
Zeroknowledge*
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Facing a PC
Posts: 1,644
vCash: 500
So about to build a new Home Theater PC that can game and got me the following for 900$. Good deal?

Gigabyte GA-Z77X-UD3H LGA1155 DDR3 Motherboard ATX
Intel i5-3570 3.40 GHz LGA1155 Ivy Bridge Processor BX80637I53570
Corsair Vengeance 8GB DDR3 1866MHz Memory CMZ8GX3M2A1866C9
WD Caviar Blue 1TB SATA 6.0 HDD WD10EZEX
Asus DRW-24B1ST 24x SATA Optical Drive DRW-24B1ST/BLK/B
Asus GTX 660 DirectCU 2GB DDR5 Video Card GTX660-DC2-2GD5
ANTEC SONATA IV 620W PSU Quiet Mid Tower Case

Zeroknowledge* is offline  
Old
03-06-2013, 02:18 PM
  #379
Francesa
(╯□)╯︵ SƖ ןɥu ɐǝ
 
Francesa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Country: United Kingdom
Posts: 180,420
vCash: 500
Good deal

Francesa is offline  
Old
03-12-2013, 05:02 PM
  #380
yakitate304
Crunch Time
 
yakitate304's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NY
Country: St Lucia
Posts: 13,915
vCash: 500
My parents are looking to buy a new desktop. Their budget is 300-500 USD. Although I've explained that buying individual parts and assembling is the way to go, they want a prebuilt desktop. They are currently using a ~12 year old computer with about 40GB hard drive, and maybe 1GB RAM but possibly less. It's at the point where loading Firefox takes between 5 and 30 seconds.

They don't need much - no gaming (unless you count flash games) or media editing - but want something that will hold up for 10 years and be responsive. Preferably, Windows 7. The most "demanding" thing they'll be doing is watching movies in 1080p but it seems that the Intel integrated graphics should be fine for that.

Is this worthwhile?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16883155640


Or is that beyond what they need?

yakitate304 is offline  
Old
03-12-2013, 05:56 PM
  #381
SniperHF
Global Moderator
Desert Ranger
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 14,655
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by yakitate304 View Post
Is this worthwhile?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16883155640


Or is that beyond what they need?
That desktop would be more than capable for those needs. In that price range I probably wouldn't bother building one either.

Asking for something to hold up 10 years in that price range is a a bit much and a guess anyway. But if you want to ensure as much future proofing as possible, try and get something with a quad core +. Either an i5 or like an FX 6300. Also make sure you can add more RAM.

This one is a tad over budget, but has a quad core.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16883113198



This one also has an i5, with 6GB of RAM. Though it's 8 not 7. Also a small form factor so that might hurt repairing/upgrading.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16883255375

Though generally in this price range, I wouldn't bother with future proofing. Go cheaper if anything, then when you have to upgrade later you don't feel as bad.

SniperHF is offline  
Old
03-13-2013, 09:11 PM
  #382
Swedish Puck Mafia
Break The HeMan Down
 
Swedish Puck Mafia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 28,206
vCash: 355
Just built a new computer for that coffee table project I talked about a little whiles back.

AMD A10-5800k
Cooler Master Gemini II
MSI A75MA
2 x 4gb G.Skill Ares 1866Mhz
Samsung 840 120gb SSD
Samsung DVD drive

HP 20XI

Apex DM-387 with included 250w power supply (I needed a case less than 5 inches tall)

Also bought a dedicated wi-fi card for my desktop instead of using a USB wifi stick. A lot faster.

Swedish Puck Mafia is offline  
Old
03-13-2013, 09:47 PM
  #383
yakitate304
Crunch Time
 
yakitate304's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NY
Country: St Lucia
Posts: 13,915
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by SniperHF View Post
That desktop would be more than capable for those needs. In that price range I probably wouldn't bother building one either.

Asking for something to hold up 10 years in that price range is a a bit much and a guess anyway. But if you want to ensure as much future proofing as possible, try and get something with a quad core +. Either an i5 or like an FX 6300. Also make sure you can add more RAM.

This one is a tad over budget, but has a quad core.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16883113198



This one also has an i5, with 6GB of RAM. Though it's 8 not 7. Also a small form factor so that might hurt repairing/upgrading.
http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16883255375

Though generally in this price range, I wouldn't bother with future proofing. Go cheaper if anything, then when you have to upgrade later you don't feel as bad.
Thanks! How much of a difference is there between the i3 that I linked and i5 that you linked (w/ Windows 7)? Would it even matter for internet browsing, youtubing, ebaying, etc.?

That first one with the i5 might be better than my current gaming rig aside from the lack of a video card. My computer (built in 2010) is an AMD Phenom II x4 955, 4GB RAM (soon to be upgraded, but I have to buy all 8-16 at once), and a Radeon 5770. Definitely want to upgrade some of my own stuff eventually.

yakitate304 is offline  
Old
03-13-2013, 10:55 PM
  #384
SniperHF
Global Moderator
Desert Ranger
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 14,655
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by yakitate304 View Post
Thanks! How much of a difference is there between the i3 that I linked and i5 that you linked (w/ Windows 7)? Would it even matter for internet browsing, youtubing, ebaying, etc.?

That first one with the i5 might be better than my current gaming rig aside from the lack of a video card. My computer (built in 2010) is an AMD Phenom II x4 955, 4GB RAM (soon to be upgraded, but I have to buy all 8-16 at once), and a Radeon 5770. Definitely want to upgrade some of my own stuff eventually.

For the purposes you described right now, the i5 vs i3 won't make one bit of difference. I only suggest the i5 as a potential measure of future proofing if you wanna go that way. But I think the better way to go is a cheaper system now, and then another cheap system later. As opposed to a single more expensive system. Though the gateway w/i5 does have other advantages like more memory and a bigger HDD as in addition to the i5. But they won't really need the extra RAM now, and most people who just cruise the net don't need a 2TB hard drive either.


Yeah, the i5 system is quite a bit faster than your 955 in terms of raw processing power. But since you only have a 5770 you don't need a new CPU without upgrading the video really. Another option would be overclocking the crap out of the 955 and getting a video card.


Quote:
Originally Posted by Swedish Puck Mafia View Post
Just built a new computer for that coffee table project I talked about a little whiles back.

AMD A10-5800k
Cooler Master Gemini II
MSI A75MA
2 x 4gb G.Skill Ares 1866Mhz
Samsung 840 120gb SSD
Samsung DVD drive
Cool build, one of these days I'll do a small form factor system. I'd probably get a slightly beefier PSU out of paranoia though. 250w should be enough, but who knows if that one is any good or not.

SniperHF is offline  
Old
03-14-2013, 07:18 PM
  #385
Swedish Puck Mafia
Break The HeMan Down
 
Swedish Puck Mafia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 28,206
vCash: 355
Quote:
Originally Posted by SniperHF View Post
Cool build, one of these days I'll do a small form factor system. I'd probably get a slightly beefier PSU out of paranoia though. 250w should be enough, but who knows if that one is any good or not.
It's actually 275w, I misremembered. The case was actually cheaper than almost all comparable cases, and most of them didn't even have power supplies. Even if the power supply craps out, I'll still have a pretty good case.

The SSD got delivered today, and I finished putting it together. Granted, it's not as powerful as my desktop, it's a pretty snappy machine (especially with at boot time).

Swedish Puck Mafia is offline  
Old
03-14-2013, 09:41 PM
  #386
Swedish Puck Mafia
Break The HeMan Down
 
Swedish Puck Mafia's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 28,206
vCash: 355
I'm going to put off on posting pictures until I get the glass table top (which is the last part of this project).

Swedish Puck Mafia is offline  
Old
03-15-2013, 08:25 AM
  #387
Lier X Agerate
Avs and Wolves
 
Lier X Agerate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Country: Canada
Posts: 1,273
vCash: 500
Hey guys, so I'm going to be building my own computer soon. I have $450 in Best Buy gift cards and I am planning to dump another $550 into it.

I was considering the following:

CPU: Intel i5 3570k - ($235)
GPU: ASUS GTX 660 - ($215)
RAM: Corsiar Vengance 2x4GB ($55)
MBoard: ???
Tower: Roswell Challenger ($66)
HDD: Seagate Barracuda ($85)
SSD: ???
Power: ???

What MB, power and SSDs should I roll with? Planning on doing gaming, not too much OC but I may in the future.

Thanks!


I'm flexible on all of the parts. I'm currently debating the AMD 8350 CPU and I'm still unsure on the GPU. Any help would be appreciated.


Last edited by Lier X Agerate: 03-15-2013 at 08:31 AM.
Lier X Agerate is offline  
Old
03-15-2013, 09:03 AM
  #388
SolidSnakeUS
Registered User
 
SolidSnakeUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Pipersville, PA
Country: United States
Posts: 29,450
vCash: 500
If you wanted to splurge 10 bucks more, I could suggest these:

PSU: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16817374032
Motherboard: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16813157293
SSD: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16820167093

SolidSnakeUS is offline  
Old
03-15-2013, 03:28 PM
  #389
SniperHF
Global Moderator
Desert Ranger
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 14,655
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lier X Agerate View Post
Hey guys, so I'm going to be building my own computer soon. I have $450 in Best Buy gift cards and I am planning to dump another $550 into it.

I was considering the following:

CPU: Intel i5 3570k - ($235)
GPU: ASUS GTX 660 - ($215)
RAM: Corsiar Vengance 2x4GB ($55)
MBoard: ???
Tower: Roswell Challenger ($66)
HDD: Seagate Barracuda ($85)
SSD: ???
Power: ???

What MB, power and SSDs should I roll with? Planning on doing gaming, not too much OC but I may in the future.

Thanks!


I'm flexible on all of the parts. I'm currently debating the AMD 8350 CPU and I'm still unsure on the GPU. Any help would be appreciated.
The Asrock Solid suggested is a good one.

How much you want to spend on the SSD? Looking for a boot drive or a larger one?

PSU, if overclocking in the future I'd target the 750w-850w range.
Kinda depends on what you want to spend as well. Can't go wrong with a Corsair or SeaSonic.

Even if you aren't going to OC right away, I highly suggest getting an aftermarket CPU cooler now. Much easier to put on during the initial build then changing it later. Even if you never OC it will run a lot cooler.

3570 vs 8350. Well it's basically a push right now. 8350 does better at some things and 3570 at others. 8350 is cheaper and its socket isn't a dead end. 3570 is faster at single threaded applications. Since it's basically a tie I kinda like the 8350 because of the lower price. But it really doesn't matter much.

SniperHF is offline  
Old
03-15-2013, 04:21 PM
  #390
yakitate304
Crunch Time
 
yakitate304's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NY
Country: St Lucia
Posts: 13,915
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by SniperHF View Post
For the purposes you described right now, the i5 vs i3 won't make one bit of difference. I only suggest the i5 as a potential measure of future proofing if you wanna go that way. But I think the better way to go is a cheaper system now, and then another cheap system later. As opposed to a single more expensive system. Though the gateway w/i5 does have other advantages like more memory and a bigger HDD as in addition to the i5. But they won't really need the extra RAM now, and most people who just cruise the net don't need a 2TB hard drive either.


Yeah, the i5 system is quite a bit faster than your 955 in terms of raw processing power. But since you only have a 5770 you don't need a new CPU without upgrading the video really. Another option would be overclocking the crap out of the 955 and getting a video card.
Looks like they're going to go with your suggestion: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16883113198

Thanks for the advice!

yakitate304 is offline  
Old
03-15-2013, 05:04 PM
  #391
SniperHF
Global Moderator
Desert Ranger
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 14,655
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by yakitate304 View Post
Looks like they're going to go with your suggestion: http://www.newegg.com/Product/Produc...82E16883113198

Thanks for the advice!
See that's what happens when I suggest two things, I CAN'T BE WRONG

SniperHF is offline  
Old
03-15-2013, 05:35 PM
  #392
CanadienDude
Katie B.
 
CanadienDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St. John's, NL
Country: Canada
Posts: 571
vCash: 500
I'm going to be building a new rig within the next month or so and was looking at making something in between the high end/enthusiast build.

I currently have a Zotec 560 ti(http://www.ncix.com/products/?sku=58453) and was wondering if this evga card(http://ncix.com/products/?sku=61889&...A&promoid=1323) would be suitable to run in SLI.

Or should I be looking at a different card or just upgrade to an 680?

CanadienDude is offline  
Old
03-15-2013, 05:56 PM
  #393
Do Make Say Think
Soul & Onward
 
Do Make Say Think's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 16,465
vCash: 256
If you are thinking of getting a 680 I'd recommend the GTX 670 FTW (http://www.ncix.com/products/?sku=71...A&promoid=1067)

It's cheaper and just about as good as a regular 680

I have one and it's wicked

Do Make Say Think is offline  
Old
03-15-2013, 06:40 PM
  #394
SniperHF
Global Moderator
Desert Ranger
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 14,655
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadienDude View Post
I'm going to be building a new rig within the next month or so and was looking at making something in between the high end/enthusiast build.

I currently have a Zotec 560 ti(http://www.ncix.com/products/?sku=58453) and was wondering if this evga card(http://ncix.com/products/?sku=61889&...A&promoid=1323) would be suitable to run in SLI.

Or should I be looking at a different card or just upgrade to an 680?
Links aren't working for me for some reason. Most 560 ti's were 1GB, so for that reason alone I'd probably go with a newer card. If you are gaming at 1080p a 7870 le /660 ti would be good. Or higher of course.

Crysis 3 on high without any AA (with very high taking more) uses a full GB on my 7950. If my card had 1GB I'd be getting bottle necked pretty bad by RAM. So probably best to move on from 1GB cards.

If you don't have the funds, you could always use the 560 ti by itself for a bit in the new build then drop in a new card later

560 ti SLI would probably perform better right now in most environments, but I'd rather have the 680 a year from now almost certainly.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Canadian Guy View Post
If you are thinking of getting a 680 I'd recommend the GTX 670 FTW

It's cheaper and just about as good as a regular 680

I have one and it's wicked
As I understand it they actually make those 670 FTW's on 680 PCBs.

SniperHF is offline  
Old
03-15-2013, 07:15 PM
  #395
CanadienDude
Katie B.
 
CanadienDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St. John's, NL
Country: Canada
Posts: 571
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by SniperHF View Post
Links aren't working for me for some reason. Most 560 ti's were 1GB, so for that reason alone I'd probably go with a newer card. If you are gaming at 1080p a 7870 le /660 ti would be good. Or higher of course.

Crysis 3 on high without any AA (with very high taking more) uses a full GB on my 7950. If my card had 1GB I'd be getting bottle necked pretty bad by RAM. So probably best to move on from 1GB cards.

If you don't have the funds, you could always use the 560 ti by itself for a bit in the new build then drop in a new card later

560 ti SLI would probably perform better right now in most environments, but I'd rather have the 680 a year from now almost certainly.
I was mainly asking about that particular card as it was on sale for $160 and if i could get close to a 680's performance(through SLI) for $160 I thought it'd be worth it. (though I always have the option to upgrade in the future)

CanadienDude is offline  
Old
03-15-2013, 07:22 PM
  #396
LickTheEnvelope
6th Overall Blows
 
LickTheEnvelope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 27,855
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Swedish Puck Mafia View Post
I'm going to put off on posting pictures until I get the glass table top (which is the last part of this project).
What is the screen that you are using SPM?

LickTheEnvelope is offline  
Old
03-15-2013, 10:29 PM
  #397
SniperHF
Global Moderator
Desert Ranger
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 14,655
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadienDude View Post
I was mainly asking about that particular card as it was on sale for $160 and if i could get close to a 680's performance(through SLI) for $160 I thought it'd be worth it. (though I always have the option to upgrade in the future)
If you can fix the links I'll have a look at them.

SLI 560's will be faster in most cases, assuming there aren't driver issues and such.

680
http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/555
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/N...TX_680/18.html

Wins Unigine Heaven, Battleforge,

560 ti SLI
http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/441
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/N...Ti_SLI/14.html

Wins Metro 2033, Crysis, AvP,


Those are the only ones that they have in common anyway. But I think it's pretty clear the 560's are faster if they win Metro.

SniperHF is offline  
Old
03-15-2013, 10:41 PM
  #398
CanadienDude
Katie B.
 
CanadienDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: St. John's, NL
Country: Canada
Posts: 571
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by SniperHF View Post
If you can fix the links I'll have a look at them.
Current Card
Click Here

Card I'm looking at
Click Here

Not sure if those worked.

CanadienDude is offline  
Old
03-15-2013, 10:54 PM
  #399
Benny Lava
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Anaheim
Country: Marshall Islands
Posts: 8,046
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by SniperHF View Post
If you can fix the links I'll have a look at them.

SLI 560's will be faster in most cases, assuming there aren't driver issues and such.

680
http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/555
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/N...TX_680/18.html

Wins Unigine Heaven, Battleforge,

560 ti SLI
http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/441
http://www.techpowerup.com/reviews/N...Ti_SLI/14.html

Wins Metro 2033, Crysis, AvP,


Those are the only ones that they have in common anyway. But I think it's pretty clear the 560's are faster if they win Metro.
I don't know if I'm misreading it or what, but the anandtech benches show the 680 winning on Metro 2033.

If there's not a big difference between the two I'd go for the single card just because SLI doesn't always like to play nice with every program and then you're stuck running something with a single 560Ti instead of a single 680.

Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadienDude View Post
Current Card
Click Here

Card I'm looking at
Click Here

Not sure if those worked.
Still not working.

Benny Lava is offline  
Old
03-15-2013, 11:23 PM
  #400
SniperHF
Global Moderator
Desert Ranger
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 14,655
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Benny Lava View Post
I don't know if I'm misreading it or what, but the anandtech benches show the 680 winning on Metro 2033.

Yeah it did, but I suspect that's because they changed their test bed too much between the years. Techpowerup's setup was exactly the same. 3.8 GHZ i7 920.

I think he's looking at the 560 ti SLI because for $160 bucks he can get that level of performance. That's not gonna happen with even a 670/7970. Let alone a 680. I'd probably just cut the cord, sell the 560 and move on but it works either way.


Quote:
Originally Posted by CanadienDude View Post
Current Card
Click Here

Card I'm looking at
Click Here
Just paste in the main line like this: Galaxy GeForce GTX 660 Ti GC 1006MHZ 3GB 6.0GHZ GDDR5 SLI 2xDVI HDMI DP PCI-E DirectX 11 Video Card

We can find it that way

SniperHF is offline  
Closed Thread

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52 AM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2014 All Rights Reserved.