HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Non-Sports > Geek Emporium
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Geek Emporium Discuss computers, hardware, software, electronics, video games, internet, etc.

Sim City

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old
03-08-2013, 04:23 PM
  #651
EvilCorporateLawyer
Very slippery slope
 
EvilCorporateLawyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Country Roads
Country: United States
Posts: 75,171
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to EvilCorporateLawyer
Quote:
Originally Posted by ixcuincle View Post
To me, it's silly to request a refund and I wouldn't do it. The game has its downfalls right now, but as time goes by, these errors are bound to be fixed. Look at what happened with Battlefield 3 and Diablo 3

I mean, if you think the city sizes are too small, go ahead

But don't ask for a refund because the servers are jammed up
Maybe I will buy it in 4 months when the price goes down and the servers aren't ****ed. I also think the game is boring compared to SimCity 4 with the unreasonably small maps. It's my money and I would rather spend it on The Show 13.

__________________
"Of course giving Sather cap space is like giving teenagers whiskey and car keys." - SBOB
"Watching Sather build a team is like watching a blind man with no fingers trying to put together an elaborate puzzle." - Shadowtron
"Used to be only Twinkies and cockroaches could survive a nuke. I'd add Habs to that. I'm convinced the CH stands for Club du Hypocrisy." - Gee Wally
EvilCorporateLawyer is online now  
Old
03-08-2013, 04:26 PM
  #652
yakitate304
Crunch Time
 
yakitate304's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NY
Country: St Lucia
Posts: 13,915
vCash: 500
Also, Tropico 4's price on Steam just got dropped to 9.99 for the full game and all DLC. Surely a coincidence.

yakitate304 is offline  
Old
03-08-2013, 04:53 PM
  #653
Turrican*
Not a homer
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: Stabmonton
Country: Canada
Posts: 5,960
vCash: 500
hahaha Steam is ******** on EA pretty good.

Turrican* is offline  
Old
03-08-2013, 05:20 PM
  #654
TheFlyingV
Anatidaephobia
 
TheFlyingV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Country: United States
Posts: 2,632
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by ixcuincle View Post
To me, it's silly to request a refund and I wouldn't do it. The game has its downfalls right now, but as time goes by, these errors are bound to be fixed. Look at what happened with Battlefield 3 and Diablo 3

I mean, if you think the city sizes are too small, go ahead

But don't ask for a refund because the servers are jammed up
If I buy a game I want it to work day 1, not day 120.


It would help if people didn't say how much they hate EA, think that the DRM is intrusive, speculate that servers aren't going to hold day 1 and go ahead and pre-order the game anyways.

TheFlyingV is offline  
Old
03-08-2013, 05:26 PM
  #655
parabola
Global Moderator
novus ordo seclorum
 
parabola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: ಠ_ಠ
Posts: 42,078
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by ixcuincle View Post
To me, it's silly to request a refund and I wouldn't do it. The game has its downfalls right now, but as time goes by, these errors are bound to be fixed. Look at what happened with Battlefield 3 and Diablo 3

I mean, if you think the city sizes are too small, go ahead

But don't ask for a refund because the servers are jammed up
What? If anything the server issue is the reason you should be asking for a refund not the city sizes. The city size issue was known before launch, it was well documented in screenshots and videos that the cities were really small.

The online servers being jammed on the other hand is preventing you playing a game you bought... Also with "non-essential" features being removed it's also not the game they advertised. That's a reason to get a refund.

parabola is offline  
Old
03-08-2013, 05:30 PM
  #656
parabola
Global Moderator
novus ordo seclorum
 
parabola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: ಠ_ಠ
Posts: 42,078
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheFlyingV View Post
It would help if people didn't say how much they hate EA, think that the DRM is intrusive, speculate that servers aren't going to hold day 1 and go ahead and pre-order the game anyways.
You shouldn't be surprised. People are dumb.

parabola is offline  
Old
03-08-2013, 05:32 PM
  #657
TomPlex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,143
vCash: 500
Just installed my new GTX660. Thing is a ****ing beast. Bumped everything up to ultra and it ran without a hiccup. Of course, that was just the tutorial, and when I exited to the main menu I lost server connection... FML

TomPlex is offline  
Old
03-08-2013, 06:20 PM
  #658
EvilCorporateLawyer
Very slippery slope
 
EvilCorporateLawyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Country Roads
Country: United States
Posts: 75,171
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to EvilCorporateLawyer
Quote:
Originally Posted by parabola View Post
You shouldn't be surprised. People are dumb.
Yeah, but isn't this the reason they beta tested the **** out of this? I despise EA, but I am even a bit surprised that the launch has been this bad.

EvilCorporateLawyer is online now  
Old
03-08-2013, 06:33 PM
  #659
Graveland
HONE YOUR CRAFT
 
Graveland's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Sunnyvale
Country: United States
Posts: 11,612
vCash: 500
LOL Blizzard pretty much fixed their servers by the next day.

Graveland is offline  
Old
03-08-2013, 06:36 PM
  #660
Orpheus
Valar Morgulis
 
Orpheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Country: Canada
Posts: 1,637
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by EA Senior Producer
"What we saw was that players were having such a good time they didn't want to leave the game, which kept our servers packed and made it difficult for new players to join," .
http://www.destructoid.com/ea-simcit...fot0cH62CJq.99

Are they blaming...the players?

Orpheus is offline  
Old
03-08-2013, 06:43 PM
  #661
LickTheEnvelope
6th Overall Blows
 
LickTheEnvelope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 28,192
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by parabola View Post
What? If anything the server issue is the reason you should be asking for a refund not the city sizes. The city size issue was known before launch, it was well documented in screenshots and videos that the cities were really small.

The online servers being jammed on the other hand is preventing you playing a game you bought... Also with "non-essential" features being removed it's also not the game they advertised. That's a reason to get a refund.
City size is why I didn't buy, not the always online (which I knew would be an issue).

Sad part is I was hoping they would increase size but everything i've read says the way they developed the agent AI makes it almost impossible to increase the city size. Very very unimpressed with the decision to have the population as individual agents. Just a terrible idea given the resources it requires and how difficult it is to program them to do anything remarkable.

Also looks like EA is pulling all active marketing for the game:
http://ca.ign.com/articles/2013/03/0...g-pulled-by-ea

LickTheEnvelope is offline  
Old
03-08-2013, 06:44 PM
  #662
LickTheEnvelope
6th Overall Blows
 
LickTheEnvelope's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Vancouver
Posts: 28,192
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by TomPlex View Post
Just installed my new GTX660. Thing is a ****ing beast. Bumped everything up to ultra and it ran without a hiccup. Of course, that was just the tutorial, and when I exited to the main menu I lost server connection... FML
Hey welcome to the world of the GTX 600 series. o.o

LickTheEnvelope is offline  
Old
03-08-2013, 06:46 PM
  #663
DrFeelgood
Chairman Meow
 
DrFeelgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Redwood City, CA
Country: United States
Posts: 18,729
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orpheus View Post
That's a pretty cherry picked quote taken out of context. He's not far from the truth, the problem is because so many people are trying to play it at once. The bigger issue is that the problem wasn't mitigated properly, which he pretty much admitted to in his full post, but to say that he is wrong or that he is trying to blame the players is really stretching it.

DrFeelgood is offline  
Old
03-08-2013, 06:48 PM
  #664
Loose Sens
Drafting my Overalls
 
Loose Sens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa
Country: Canada
Posts: 11,932
vCash: 500
I'm stuck on rollback. I play for 5 minutes and BOOM takes me back to menu and tells me to rollback (go back to where I was when I last started playing - so it loops me - I make progress, erased, I make progress, erased - I'm stuck at 100-120kish residents) or abandon and restart.

Loose Sens is online now  
Old
03-08-2013, 06:56 PM
  #665
parabola
Global Moderator
novus ordo seclorum
 
parabola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: ಠ_ಠ
Posts: 42,078
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrFeelgood View Post
That's a pretty cherry picked quote taken out of context. He's not far from the truth, the problem is because so many people are trying to play it at once. The bigger issue is that the problem wasn't mitigated properly, which he pretty much admitted to in his full post, but to say that he is wrong or that he is trying to blame the players is really stretching it.
The full quote is this:

Quote:
Server capacity is our biggest obstacle. We launched in North America on Tuesday and our servers filled up within a matter of hours. What we saw was that players were having such a good time they didn't want to leave the game, which kept our servers packed and made it difficult for new players to join. We added more servers to accommodate the launch in Australia and Japan, and then more yesterday to accommodate the launch in Europe. As of right now, we are adding even more servers which will be going live over the next three days. And, our plan is to continue to bring more servers online until we have enough to meet the demand, increase player capacity and let more people through the gates and into the game.
I would not say that was taken out of context. I mean seriously, they didn't expect people who bought the game to want to play it for long periods of time? Isn't that the reason for making a multiplayer/social SimCity?

This game is just a complete disaster in pretty much every aspect. Stop trying to defend it.

parabola is offline  
Old
03-08-2013, 07:03 PM
  #666
TheFlyingV
Anatidaephobia
 
TheFlyingV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Country: United States
Posts: 2,632
vCash: 500
Only EA would be "surprised" about large player numbers after pressing unrealistic sales quotas and having their servers fail every time a big game is released.

TheFlyingV is offline  
Old
03-08-2013, 07:06 PM
  #667
DrFeelgood
Chairman Meow
 
DrFeelgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Redwood City, CA
Country: United States
Posts: 18,729
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by parabola View Post
The full quote is this:



I would not say that was taken out of context. I mean seriously, they didn't expect people who bought the game to want to play it for long periods of time? Isn't that the reason for making a multiplayer/social SimCity?

This game is just a complete disaster in pretty much every aspect. Stop trying to defend it.
It's not a duration problem, it's a quantity problem. The servers are basically getting DDoS'd by massive amounts of people trying to play at the same time. That is what he is saying.

The game itself is a lot of fun, when it works. The launch has been a complete disaster though, yes.

And it's not a problem of not expecting it, it's a problem of not testing it to the proper capacity and clearly deciding far too late in the process to shard the servers. When you're only able to test the servers at 20 or 30% of the capacity that is expected at launch, you end up with problems like this. They clearly didn't have a good mitigation plan in place and they've really **** the bed as a result. I'm not trying to defend anybody, but to say that he's blaming the players and effectively absolving blame of himself, is absolutely ridiculous.

DrFeelgood is offline  
Old
03-08-2013, 07:18 PM
  #668
TheFlyingV
Anatidaephobia
 
TheFlyingV's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Yorba Linda, CA
Country: United States
Posts: 2,632
vCash: 500
Sim City has been trending off and on today on Twitter, lots of angry gamers and articles about the botched launch.

TheFlyingV is offline  
Old
03-08-2013, 07:22 PM
  #669
parabola
Global Moderator
novus ordo seclorum
 
parabola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: ಠ_ಠ
Posts: 42,078
vCash: 500
Not once in that article does he say that EA didn't test the servers properly.

He's not directly blaming the players, but he's definitely deflecting the real problems of the game.

The don't know how you can find the game fun either. Seems like it's half a game.

parabola is offline  
Old
03-08-2013, 07:24 PM
  #670
Beef Invictus
Global Moderator
Beef Runner
 
Beef Invictus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Centreville
Country: Lord Howe Island
Posts: 42,043
vCash: 500
The game is broken because it's too fun. Uh huh.

__________________
Down in the basement, I've got a Craftsman lathe. Show it to the children when they misbehave.
Beef Invictus is online now  
Old
03-08-2013, 07:27 PM
  #671
DrFeelgood
Chairman Meow
 
DrFeelgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Redwood City, CA
Country: United States
Posts: 18,729
vCash: 500
I'm aware the article didn't mention the testing, that's not where I gathered that information from.

I'm having quite a bit of fun with the regional play, sending people to work between cities and building highly specialized cities. I've been working on a 7 city region by myself so far and i've been having a blast. I just wish the borders for cities were actually connected so that I could build one large contiguous region but it's not a deal breaker for me.

DrFeelgood is offline  
Old
03-08-2013, 07:59 PM
  #672
yakitate304
Crunch Time
 
yakitate304's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: NY
Country: St Lucia
Posts: 13,915
vCash: 500
Someone just leaked a playable copy of the game, for free:

http://tholman.com/playable-simcity-2013/

yakitate304 is offline  
Old
03-08-2013, 08:28 PM
  #673
Towers
Is it on Origin?
 
Towers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Country: Canada
Posts: 6,722
vCash: 500
Send a message via MSN to Towers
30 minutes queue!?

OMG!

Towers is offline  
Old
03-08-2013, 08:32 PM
  #674
Loose Sens
Drafting my Overalls
 
Loose Sens's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa
Country: Canada
Posts: 11,932
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by yakitate304 View Post
Someone just leaked a playable copy of the game, for free:

http://tholman.com/playable-simcity-2013/
Is it a joke? I'm assuming it just gives you the error messages and queue on repeat.

Loose Sens is online now  
Old
03-08-2013, 08:56 PM
  #675
Slot 3
exitus acta probat
 
Slot 3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Vancouver
Country: Canada
Posts: 1,542
vCash: 500
Was able to play for about 3 hours today, so I'm kind of thankful for that. I ran into some problems where I wasn't able to buy the power/sewage/water I needed off neighbouring cities; I assume this is due to the servers?

Slot 3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2014 All Rights Reserved.