HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Non-Sports > Geek Emporium
Geek Emporium Discuss computers, hardware, software, electronics, video games, internet, etc.

Sim City

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old
03-10-2013, 12:09 PM
  #801
D Fresh
Certified Dope
 
D Fresh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ottawa, ON
Country: Canada
Posts: 11,746
vCash: 50
This game is so fun..
My god.

D Fresh is offline  
Old
03-10-2013, 12:17 PM
  #802
UKPanther
@GJenSports
 
UKPanther's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Country: United Kingdom
Posts: 230
vCash: 500
I can't deny that as annoyed as I am about the problems, the game itself is a blast. Not mind-blowing, but loads of fun in the traditional Sim City style.

UKPanther is offline  
Old
03-10-2013, 12:42 PM
  #803
vBurmi
Blue-Line Dekes
 
vBurmi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Greater Detroit
Country: Canada
Posts: 3,361
vCash: 1726
Quote:
Originally Posted by UKPanther View Post
I can't deny that as annoyed as I am about the problems, the game itself is a blast. Not mind-blowing, but loads of fun in the traditional Sim City style.
Yep, nothing revolutionary, not even necessarily better than Sim City 4 IMO, but different enough to warrant playing and just plain fun. I'm beginning to realize I like city simulation games enough that they could have released almost anything and I'd enjoy it. Hypothetically, if Sim City 4 was released now (and not before), it'd still be a great game.

The bad launch, as annoying as it is for those who it affected, probably isn't a big deal in the long run. The expectations for the game have been lowered to the point now that people who played it will defend it and people who haven't will be pleasantly surprised. Being over-hyped at launch as a billion times better than SC4 would have been more destructive for this game IMO.

vBurmi is offline  
Old
03-10-2013, 02:34 PM
  #804
jimmythescot
Registered User
 
jimmythescot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Country: Canada
Posts: 4,227
vCash: 500
Just bought the Indian version. I can handle the teething (hopefully) problems if it only costs 18.

jimmythescot is offline  
Old
03-10-2013, 02:52 PM
  #805
Fixed to Ruin
Come wit it now!
 
Fixed to Ruin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Grande Prairie, AB
Posts: 5,952
vCash: 50
Got my city called Samsung to 230k. My two other cities in the region (Toshiba and Sony) are in the 50-70k range.

I am really enjoying this game so far. Especially now that i have started to get a handle on all the details.

Expo centre is a sick way to make some money.

Fixed to Ruin is offline  
Old
03-10-2013, 03:24 PM
  #806
Belamorte
Feed Your Head
 
Belamorte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: North American Scum
Posts: 2,003
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by D Fresh View Post
HAH!

They do speak gibberish.
Yeah, they peak simlish, same as The Sims games and such.

Belamorte is offline  
Old
03-10-2013, 04:00 PM
  #807
D Fresh
Certified Dope
 
D Fresh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Ottawa, ON
Country: Canada
Posts: 11,746
vCash: 50
Still waiting to find out if there's any space left in HFLand

D Fresh is offline  
Old
03-10-2013, 04:33 PM
  #808
TomPlex
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 3,118
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by D Fresh View Post
Still waiting to find out if there's any space left in HFLand
Plenty of space left. NA1. I'm not sure if I can invite you. Even if I could, server is down ATM.

TomPlex is offline  
Old
03-10-2013, 05:13 PM
  #809
Sovereign
sic parvis magna
 
Sovereign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Country: Canada
Posts: 9,644
vCash: 500
Trading is irritating for me.

Sovereign is offline  
Old
03-10-2013, 05:57 PM
  #810
Tubby Tuke
Drafting my Overalls
 
Tubby Tuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa
Country: Canada
Posts: 11,327
vCash: 500
Only having 1 road to connect to the outside world is a bit annoying. I have a line of cars on the highway coming in and leaving so I can't sell stuff and they're clogging up my streets.

I mean REALLY? You need lots of connecting roads to stop congestion - but if you want tier 3 buildings, you need large roads/avenues. What do those do? They give you traffic lights.

What do traffic lights do? Slow down traffic.

And then on top of that the traffic jam is happening/starting outside my city so I have no idea what the heck is going on.


Last edited by Tubby Tuke: 03-10-2013 at 06:04 PM.
Tubby Tuke is offline  
Old
03-10-2013, 06:08 PM
  #811
Rob Brown
Way She Goes
 
Rob Brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Country: Canada
Posts: 5,175
vCash: 500
I want to try this out, but I don't know about the specs. By looking at the specs online it appears I'm more than good enough, but when I try the scan on "Can I Run It" it says I can't. Should I be okay?

Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 460 @ 2.53GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.5GHz
Memory: 4096MB RAM
Chip type: Intel(R) HD Graphics (Core i5)
Shared Memory: 1632 MB

I know the graphics card sucks, but I don't care if I run on low to mid. Everything else seems good enough, no?

Rob Brown is offline  
Old
03-10-2013, 06:13 PM
  #812
Bird Law
Daisy's back.
 
Bird Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Country Roads
Country: United States
Posts: 71,437
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to Bird Law
Trust me. You don't want to try it out yet.

__________________
"Of course giving Sather cap space is like giving teenagers whiskey and car keys." - SBOB
"Watching Sather build a team is like watching a blind man with no fingers trying to put together an elaborate puzzle." - Shadowtron
"Used to be only Twinkies and cockroaches could survive a nuke. I'd add Habs to that. I'm convinced the CH stands for Club du Hypocrisy." - Gee Wally
Bird Law is offline  
Old
03-10-2013, 06:27 PM
  #813
Rob Brown
Way She Goes
 
Rob Brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Country: Canada
Posts: 5,175
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jonathan. View Post
Trust me. You don't want to try it out yet.
Yeah, if I got it I'd wait a few weeks to get the issues sorted out.

Rob Brown is offline  
Old
03-10-2013, 06:44 PM
  #814
Sovereign
sic parvis magna
 
Sovereign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Country: Canada
Posts: 9,644
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by peon View Post
Only having 1 road to connect to the outside world is a bit annoying. I have a line of cars on the highway coming in and leaving so I can't sell stuff and they're clogging up my streets.

I mean REALLY? You need lots of connecting roads to stop congestion - but if you want tier 3 buildings, you need large roads/avenues. What do those do? They give you traffic lights.

What do traffic lights do? Slow down traffic.

And then on top of that the traffic jam is happening/starting outside my city so I have no idea what the heck is going on.
Yep. My current issue as well since its hurting my trade income.

Sovereign is offline  
Old
03-10-2013, 06:44 PM
  #815
DrFeelgood
Chairman Meow
 
DrFeelgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Redwood City, CA
Country: United States
Posts: 18,329
vCash: 500
Region i'm working on with a friend from work. My emerging mining/industrial center in the foreground with my big education/tourism center in the background


DrFeelgood is offline  
Old
03-10-2013, 06:45 PM
  #816
Tubby Tuke
Drafting my Overalls
 
Tubby Tuke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Ottawa
Country: Canada
Posts: 11,327
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by IHerb View Post
Yep. My current issue as well since its hurting my trade income.
I figured it out. I had abandoned an area earlier and apparently all my crap was still there. I went and destroyed it now my outgoing flow is fine.

So if you have a neighbor with a terrible setup who doesn't let in a lot of traffic - you're going to get SCREWED as hard as him/her if not harder.

Tubby Tuke is offline  
Old
03-10-2013, 06:45 PM
  #817
DrFeelgood
Chairman Meow
 
DrFeelgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Redwood City, CA
Country: United States
Posts: 18,329
vCash: 500
Tip on managing traffic: use medium density roads and connect to high density backbones. Medium density roads only leave stop signs where they merge and they will yield to traffic on the high density roads. This works great for high density avenues and funneling traffic

DrFeelgood is offline  
Old
03-10-2013, 07:48 PM
  #818
Beef Invictus
Global Moderator
Wing or Retire!
 
Beef Invictus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Alexandria
Country: Liberia
Posts: 36,312
vCash: 156
Quote:
Originally Posted by peon View Post
I figured it out. I had abandoned an area earlier and apparently all my crap was still there. I went and destroyed it now my outgoing flow is fine.

So if you have a neighbor with a terrible setup who doesn't let in a lot of traffic - you're going to get SCREWED as hard as him/her if not harder.
That's actually pretty realistic.

The greatest infrastructure setup in one county (in the real world) can get wrecked by a work zone or bad signal timing in the neighboring county. These things are solved by regional cooperation.

__________________
Down in the basement, I've got a Craftsman lathe. Show it to the children when they misbehave.
Beef Invictus is offline  
Old
03-10-2013, 07:56 PM
  #819
Shrimper
Trick or ruddy treat
 
Shrimper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Essex
Country: United Kingdom
Posts: 67,021
vCash: 50
Going to wait a week or two before buying but it looks good.

Shrimper is offline  
Old
03-10-2013, 08:14 PM
  #820
XX
... Waiting
 
XX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: 48th State
Country: United States
Posts: 27,092
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrFeelgood View Post
Tip on managing traffic: use medium density roads and connect to high density backbones. Medium density roads only leave stop signs where they merge and they will yield to traffic on the high density roads. This works great for high density avenues and funneling traffic
Can you go into sandbox mode and explain this? I've tried all manner of configurations, and can't get my traffic to settle. On one of my cities, the highway exit is backed up off the screen 24/7. It's really starting to hurt my services, because the trucks can't get through. That's with tremendous ridership on a well designed streetcar system.

XX is offline  
Old
03-10-2013, 08:36 PM
  #821
DrFeelgood
Chairman Meow
 
DrFeelgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Redwood City, CA
Country: United States
Posts: 18,329
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by XX View Post
Can you go into sandbox mode and explain this? I've tried all manner of configurations, and can't get my traffic to settle. On one of my cities, the highway exit is backed up off the screen 24/7. It's really starting to hurt my services, because the trucks can't get through. That's with tremendous ridership on a well designed streetcar system.
Make sure you've got an avenue coming off of the main street, I usually start with a large square (at the beginning I use medium density avenue, it's cheaper and high density isn't necessary until way later), with an intersecting grid of medium density streets (again, high density is not necessary this early and is almost always the cause of gridlock, i'll explain more). Building a "backbone" like this also gives you the flexibility of later building an effective street car service without having to demolish stuff once you need it

[Red is avenues, blue is roads)


Using medium density roads, you are left with stop signs on the sides of the intersections for the roads, but not for the avenues. The roads will yield to the avenues in this case



When you use a high density toad to intersect another road OR avenue, it creates a stoplight, forcing traffic on all sides to yield to each other. If you build in a grid pattern like me, having stoplight after stoplight after stoplight every 100ft results in gridlock (and rightfully so, ever tried to drive in downtown NYC or another major grid city in rush hour? it's a nightmare)



By using the medium traffic streets to intersect the avenues, you let traffic run along the avenues unimpeded. The AI will usually default to the highest density street, so by being picky of what streets you make high density, you can funnel traffic in certain directions with crafty planning.

DrFeelgood is offline  
Old
03-10-2013, 08:43 PM
  #822
XX
... Waiting
 
XX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: 48th State
Country: United States
Posts: 27,092
vCash: 500
That's great and all, but won't it be hard to reach high density with so many medium roads? I feel like the option of a stop sign, one way flow or a stop light should be user controlled, not predefined. If they patched in limiting or designating directional flow, I think it would fix a lot of problems. New York works because there are a lot of one way roads, so this is not a revolutionary idea.

I didn't notice the stop sign/avenue interface, so I'll try that now.

XX is offline  
Old
03-10-2013, 08:49 PM
  #823
DrFeelgood
Chairman Meow
 
DrFeelgood's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Redwood City, CA
Country: United States
Posts: 18,329
vCash: 500
Absolutely agree on the one-way point, I really wish I could set one-way streets as well.

By the time you get to the point of needing high density streets, you should have a pretty good public transport system set up. I also try to avoid zoning buildings on the intersection right off of the highway, as they tend to catch fire. If you can, try putting utility or service buildings on those corners (I like to zone a wind farm right off the entrance, leaves a good gap for people to exit the highway and it tends to not catch fire). I have found that the service/utility vehicles are the #2 cause for traffic backups, aside from people using high density streets everywhere without public transport set up.

DrFeelgood is offline  
Old
03-10-2013, 09:56 PM
  #824
parabola
Global Moderator
novus ordo seclorum
 
parabola's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: ಠ_ಠ
Posts: 40,007
vCash: 500
I wonder if this game will have a super optimized layout like in Sim City 3000.

parabola is offline  
Old
03-10-2013, 10:15 PM
  #825
Sovereign
sic parvis magna
 
Sovereign's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Country: Canada
Posts: 9,644
vCash: 500
So switching to a new server doesn't carry over your city, does it?

Sovereign is offline  
Closed Thread

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:59 AM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2014 All Rights Reserved.