HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Non-Sports > Geek Emporium
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie
Notices

Geek Emporium Discuss computers, hardware, software, electronics, video games, internet, etc.

Sim City

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old
03-15-2013, 01:04 AM
  #976
McSkittlez
Jumbo Trollton
 
McSkittlez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: San Jose
Country: United States
Posts: 10,444
vCash: 500


I was watching someone play this and I thought this was amazing. Just built a huge circular road on a cliff. You can also see another player's city in the background. The other player would be like what the **** is that?

McSkittlez is offline  
Old
03-15-2013, 08:16 AM
  #977
Avder
Animated to Explode
 
Avder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: ¯(°_o)/¯
Country: United States
Posts: 39,161
vCash: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diamondillium View Post
Think I went with ultra, just so I never have to worry about traffic again.
That's what I use, and I still get a lot of congestion in my bigger cities. But that's because I like to cram the sims in to my cities like sardines.

Avder is offline  
Old
03-15-2013, 09:24 AM
  #978
Rob Brown
Way She Goes
 
Rob Brown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Country: Canada
Posts: 6,775
vCash: 500
Have the servers improved? Would also like some input on whether my laptop can run this:

Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 460 @ 2.53GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.5GHz
Memory: 4096MB RAM
Chip type: Intel(R) HD Graphics (Core i5)
Shared Memory: 1632 MB

I know the graphics card sucks, but I don't care if I run on low to mid. Everything else seems good enough, no?

Rob Brown is offline  
Old
03-15-2013, 12:28 PM
  #979
7150
Lockout Season
 
7150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,515
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Brown View Post
Have the servers improved? Would also like some input on whether my laptop can run this:

Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 460 @ 2.53GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.5GHz
Memory: 4096MB RAM
Chip type: Intel(R) HD Graphics (Core i5)
Shared Memory: 1632 MB

I know the graphics card sucks, but I don't care if I run on low to mid. Everything else seems good enough, no?
It will run. I have it installed on a Surface Pro and it runs fine with everything on low.

7150 is offline  
Old
03-15-2013, 01:54 PM
  #980
leova
Registered User
 
leova's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,338
vCash: 500
so i started playing Sim City 4 recently, and whenever I try to zone some high-density residential, they always show some odd icon, looks like a green car inside of a "no"-style sign, as in "we lack cars" or something....they have power, water, road, and service access....

anyone know what that means?

leova is offline  
Old
03-15-2013, 02:05 PM
  #981
Kbs
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: London ON
Country: Canada
Posts: 2,798
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by leova View Post
so i started playing Sim City 4 recently, and whenever I try to zone some high-density residential, they always show some odd icon, looks like a green car inside of a "no"-style sign, as in "we lack cars" or something....they have power, water, road, and service access....

anyone know what that means?
It means there isn't proper road access for their home. Either they can't leave their home or they can't get back to their home after leaving.

Kbs is offline  
Old
03-15-2013, 02:27 PM
  #982
RedBar
Blue-Line Dekes
 
RedBar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: MTL
Country: Canada
Posts: 5,724
vCash: 2377
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rob Brown View Post
Have the servers improved? Would also like some input on whether my laptop can run this:

Processor: Intel(R) Core(TM) i5 CPU M 460 @ 2.53GHz (4 CPUs), ~2.5GHz
Memory: 4096MB RAM
Chip type: Intel(R) HD Graphics (Core i5)
Shared Memory: 1632 MB

I know the graphics card sucks, but I don't care if I run on low to mid. Everything else seems good enough, no?
Servers are fine. They upgraded all of them and added a bunch. Your laptop can handle it easily on low, maybe mid (for some settings). Mine is 4 years old with lesser everything and it runs on low.

RedBar is offline  
Old
03-15-2013, 03:03 PM
  #983
Diamondillium
DO YOU WANT ANTS!?
 
Diamondillium's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Edmonton, AB
Country: Canada
Posts: 5,862
vCash: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by leova View Post
so i started playing Sim City 4 recently, and whenever I try to zone some high-density residential, they always show some odd icon, looks like a green car inside of a "no"-style sign, as in "we lack cars" or something....they have power, water, road, and service access....

anyone know what that means?
Yeah, it means no road.

However, since I've started playing again I noticed that although there is road access, it says there isn't. Just need to simulate for a little while before it goes away in that scenario.

Diamondillium is offline  
Old
03-15-2013, 04:39 PM
  #984
Avder
Animated to Explode
 
Avder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: ¯(°_o)/¯
Country: United States
Posts: 39,161
vCash: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by leova View Post
so i started playing Sim City 4 recently, and whenever I try to zone some high-density residential, they always show some odd icon, looks like a green car inside of a "no"-style sign, as in "we lack cars" or something....they have power, water, road, and service access....

anyone know what that means?
Run the game for a few months and if it's still showing the green car zots, snap a picture of the area and link it here. Sometimes when a city starts to grow some of the zones get confused and show a no road zot for a couple months. It always goes away eventually, however. This most often happens either a couple months after zoning, before anything has built, or immediately after something has been built.

Avder is offline  
Old
03-15-2013, 05:34 PM
  #985
Harbinger
sic parvis magna
 
Harbinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Edmonton
Country: Canada
Posts: 11,295
vCash: 500
Are those fire choppers worth the investment?

Harbinger is offline  
Old
03-15-2013, 07:21 PM
  #986
The Gourmet
Potage Le Magnifique
 
The Gourmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Port Coquitlam, BC
Country: Poland
Posts: 4,005
vCash: 500
Anyone in a region with an open city? My Origin ID is iPlay360Nude.

The Gourmet is offline  
Old
03-15-2013, 07:47 PM
  #987
Belamorte
Feed Your Head
 
Belamorte's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: North American Scum
Posts: 2,912
vCash: 500
Shelved this game until some proper gameplay fixes or something comes along. One of the worst money spent for one of my most anticipated games. I knew better than to buy it right away but Im a sucker once again.

Belamorte is offline  
Old
03-15-2013, 09:56 PM
  #988
Harbinger
sic parvis magna
 
Harbinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Edmonton
Country: Canada
Posts: 11,295
vCash: 500
I think I might stow this game as well. Sick of the tiny maps and ******** traffic jams.


edit: yep, done with the game. So sick of my city burning down, having criminals running amok and my sims dying all the while my emergency vehicles are bogged down in traffic. Same ******* thing applies to my trade trucks as well. ****ing hard to level up the HQ's when the trucks are stuck on the main highway out side the ******* city. **** this game.


Last edited by Harbinger: 03-15-2013 at 10:15 PM.
Harbinger is offline  
Old
03-15-2013, 10:19 PM
  #989
WhipNash27
Quattro!!
 
WhipNash27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Westchester, NY
Country: United States
Posts: 17,168
vCash: 500
I haven't had much desire to play it recently because of the fact that everything is broken. I'll wait for EA to put out a few patches before I go back to it.

WhipNash27 is offline  
Old
03-16-2013, 02:08 PM
  #990
Avder
Animated to Explode
 
Avder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: ¯(°_o)/¯
Country: United States
Posts: 39,161
vCash: 64
I am interested to see how EA reacts to the revelation that its always on requirement is nothing more than a hacked in connection checker, and also what it does now that someone has posted a hack to get around it and play offline indefinitely.

Avder is offline  
Old
03-16-2013, 02:18 PM
  #991
Dave
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 4,512
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Avder View Post
I am interested to see how EA reacts to the revelation that its always on requirement is nothing more than a hacked in connection checker, and also what it does now that someone has posted a hack to get around it and play offline indefinitely.
http://consumerist.com/2013/03/15/ea...th-our-vision/

Dave is offline  
Old
03-16-2013, 02:45 PM
  #992
XX
It's finally over
 
XX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Jump City!
Country: United States
Posts: 43,018
vCash: 500
Got to a 350k sustainable city. Just one giant traffic jam, even with a careful layout. Criminals can light the city on fire all they want. Police and fire aren't getting through the traffic. Water table isn't replenishing at all. Garbage/recycling trucks can't get through either, making everyone sick.

If a sim is in your city for more than a day, they should disappear. That and eliminating U-turns for everything except service vehicles would be just dandy.

XX is offline  
Old
03-16-2013, 03:06 PM
  #993
Harbinger
sic parvis magna
 
Harbinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Edmonton
Country: Canada
Posts: 11,295
vCash: 500
Don't you love it when your vehicles are jammed up in traffic?


edit: Do you all think Maxis/EA will fix these issues?


Last edited by Harbinger: 03-16-2013 at 03:14 PM.
Harbinger is offline  
Old
03-16-2013, 03:47 PM
  #994
XX
It's finally over
 
XX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Jump City!
Country: United States
Posts: 43,018
vCash: 500
They are working on a weighted system that tells sims to choose the better road and adjust for congestion. But anything too complicated is going to require more processing power. I'm not sure if any of it will make a difference. At this point, I'd just go for a flat reduction on the # of cars roaming around until they come up with a playable solution.

XX is offline  
Old
03-16-2013, 03:47 PM
  #995
Avder
Animated to Explode
 
Avder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: ¯(°_o)/¯
Country: United States
Posts: 39,161
vCash: 64
They are really grasping at straws, aren't they?

Quote:
Originally Posted by XX View Post
Got to a 350k sustainable city. Just one giant traffic jam, even with a careful layout. Criminals can light the city on fire all they want. Police and fire aren't getting through the traffic. Water table isn't replenishing at all. Garbage/recycling trucks can't get through either, making everyone sick.

If a sim is in your city for more than a day, they should disappear. That and eliminating U-turns for everything except service vehicles would be just dandy.
How the hell is that sustainable? That sounds like they should be trying to leave town in droves.

Then again I spose they can't since they get stuck in traffic.

Also your population is nowhere near 350k. I'm guessing like 40-60k tops.

EA really has ruined Sim City forever. The series ended at 4.

Avder is offline  
Old
03-16-2013, 03:49 PM
  #996
Natey
#feelthelove
 
Natey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Habville
Country: Canada
Posts: 52,454
vCash: 500
I love this;

Quote:
But we’re also hearing from thousands of people who are playing across regions, trading, communicating and loving the Always-Connected functionality.
The players aren't love the "Always-Connected" functionality, they are loving the online play. I'm sure every single player in the world (besides EA fanboys) would prefer a game to have the option to play offline (traveling, etc).

Like the article states, I love Call of Duty and I play online. I buy it for online. I buy it for multiplayer. If it was "Always-Online" I'd still buy it, probably, but I would be frustrated. And I wouldn't be loving the "Always Online" functionality.

Natey is offline  
Old
03-16-2013, 03:55 PM
  #997
Avder
Animated to Explode
 
Avder's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: ¯(°_o)/¯
Country: United States
Posts: 39,161
vCash: 64
Quote:
Originally Posted by XX View Post
They are working on a weighted system that tells sims to choose the better road and adjust for congestion. But anything too complicated is going to require more processing power. I'm not sure if any of it will make a difference. At this point, I'd just go for a flat reduction on the # of cars roaming around until they come up with a playable solution.
If my computer can calculate routes for 3.1 million sims in a large tile SC4 city with roads, highways, a citywide subway system, and several hundred thousand driving through town on their commute to work, there really is no excuse for them to not be able to do something similar in this new one. Sure it might require the game to slow down a bit when figuring out everyone's route to work every morning, but it is not that hard to figure out what weight to give roads based on capacity and congestion.

And if they are smart, they would have different jobs start and end at different hours of the day like what happens in real life. Have the factory works go to work at 6am and get off at 2 pm, have the office suits work from 9 to have. Have a 2nd shift at some industrial buildings that goes from 2pm to 10pm. Have a couple fast food joints stay open all night. Make sure the janotors are staying late at their job. That would really smooth things out so the simulation doesnt have to figure everything out with every sim leaving for work at the same time every day.

Avder is offline  
Old
03-16-2013, 05:25 PM
  #998
Jack Bourdain
¯\_(ツ)_/¯
 
Jack Bourdain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Montréal, QC.
Country: Canada
Posts: 13,284
vCash: 500
I want to choke a ***** out. Guess which one?

__________________
Jack Bourdain is offline  
Old
03-16-2013, 05:36 PM
  #999
SniperHF
Mod Supervisor
Crocodilialligator
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 25,622
vCash: 500
Pt 2
http://hfboards.hockeysfuture.com/sh....php?t=1377193

SniperHF is offline  
Closed Thread

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:58 AM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. @2017 All Rights Reserved.