HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Non-Sports > The Lounge
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
The Lounge "...Where the parking lot of the Igloo meets the concourse of the Nassau County Coliseum and the bathroom line of the Skyreach..." - Wickedbsfan

Do you have a land telephone line?

View Poll Results: Does your place of residence have a land telephone line?
Yes 56 50.45%
No 55 49.55%
Voters: 111. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
04-02-2013, 02:06 PM
  #51
xerox
Hockey pimp
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 830
vCash: 500
I have a wireless toilet.

xerox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-03-2013, 12:42 PM
  #52
Neely2005
Grey Cup Champions
 
Neely2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Country: Canada
Posts: 17,882
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by jimmythescot View Post
Over here they have package deals for satellite tv/cable tv, internet and land line telephones that mean it's cheaper if you get a landline than if you just get the tv/internet on their own.

So yeah, we have one.
Same for me. Rogers offers Unlimited Internet Downloads (No Data Cap) and the price is a lot cheaper if you have Home Phone from Rogers.

Also with kids in the house it's nice to know that if you call 911 they know exactly where you're calling from (in case you're unable to speak) unlike Cell Phones which only give a general location.

Also if you have a Security System or a Fax Machine you need to have a Land Line.

Land lines also continue to work during Power Outages. Cell Phones only work as long as the backup power at the Cell Tower lasts.

Neely2005 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
04-03-2013, 12:43 PM
  #53
No Fun Shogun
Global Moderator
34-38-61-10-13
 
No Fun Shogun's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Shogunate of Nofunia
Country: Fiji
Posts: 33,015
vCash: 5113
Nope. And I hope to actually buy a house or a condo in the next two or so months, and when I do I have zero plan on getting a landline for there, either.

Just serves no purpose.

No Fun Shogun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-03-2013, 12:47 PM
  #54
Neely2005
Grey Cup Champions
 
Neely2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Country: Canada
Posts: 17,882
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue'sClues View Post
Yeah, I know it's over the internet just like the phone in my cogeco cable package is. But seeing it uses the same phones and outlets my former Bell service did I thought that was still considered a land line.
It's not the same. Voneage is VOIP over the Public Internet so the service can get quite spotty at times. Cogeco/Rogers/Shaw are not VOIP and they all operate over a Closed Network so you won't encounter those issues.

Neely2005 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
04-03-2013, 12:49 PM
  #55
RayP
Registered User
 
RayP's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Atlanta
Posts: 59,832
vCash: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by No Fun Shogun View Post
Nope. And I hope to actually buy a house or a condo in the next two or so months, and when I do I have zero plan on getting a landline for there, either.

Just serves no purpose.
Home security systems use to require that you had a landline, for their installation purposes. Not sure if they ever outgrew that technology with internet advancements, though.

RayP is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
04-03-2013, 12:50 PM
  #56
Neely2005
Grey Cup Champions
 
Neely2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Country: Canada
Posts: 17,882
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by No Fun Shogun View Post
Nope. And I hope to actually buy a house or a condo in the next two or so months, and when I do I have zero plan on getting a landline for there, either.

Just serves no purpose.
If you get a Condo how is someone going to 'Buzz' your Unit # if you don't have a Land Line?

Neely2005 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
04-04-2013, 01:36 AM
  #57
Daynz
What!?!
 
Daynz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Downtown
Country: Canada
Posts: 2,065
vCash: 500
Yes. It's bundled with my internet/tv at the moment. The only time I use it is to let people into my apartment. For some reason my mother gets upset every time I bring up cancelling it. She thinks it's unsafe to live in an apartment without a landline.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Neely2005 View Post
If you get a Condo how is someone going to 'Buzz' your Unit # if you don't have a Land Line?
Can't you just hook up a condo unit to your cell phone number? My neighbour has our building's front door assigned to his cell.

Daynz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-04-2013, 12:12 PM
  #58
Neely2005
Grey Cup Champions
 
Neely2005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Toronto, Ontario
Country: Canada
Posts: 17,882
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daynz View Post
Yes. It's bundled with my internet/tv at the moment. The only time I use it is to let people into my apartment. For some reason my mother gets upset every time I bring up cancelling it. She thinks it's unsafe to live in an apartment without a landline.


Can't you just hook up a condo unit to your cell phone number? My neighbour has our building's front door assigned to his cell.
Not that I'm aware of but perhaps the newer systems can do this. I have friends that have a Home Phone line solely for the Front Lobby Intercom system.

Neely2005 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
04-04-2013, 04:08 PM
  #59
cupcrazyman
Homer J Fong
 
cupcrazyman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Parts Unknown
Country: Canada
Posts: 10,857
vCash: 500
Yes we do.

cupcrazyman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-04-2013, 04:13 PM
  #60
Primrose Everdeen
Go Habs Go
 
Primrose Everdeen's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Tempe, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 70,503
vCash: 564
Send a message via Skype™ to Primrose Everdeen
Quote:
Originally Posted by RayP View Post
Home security systems use to require that you had a landline, for their installation purposes. Not sure if they ever outgrew that technology with internet advancements, though.
I interviewed for an alarm company once where they could integrate the home security system with your smartphone.

Politely cut the interview short and left once I found out it was a commission-only sales job, though.

Primrose Everdeen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-04-2013, 04:19 PM
  #61
GarbageGoal
Frozen 4 Friars!!!!!
 
GarbageGoal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: RI
Country: United States
Posts: 11,285
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tuggy View Post
Yes.

I don't want work, banks or any other establishments that need a phone number to have my cell number.
This.

GarbageGoal is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
04-04-2013, 04:42 PM
  #62
Corey Perry*
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Long Beach, Ca
Country: Ireland
Posts: 3,531
vCash: 500
Yes, but we don't use it.

Corey Perry* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-04-2013, 07:40 PM
  #63
Disclose
Registered User
 
Disclose's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal
Posts: 4,429
vCash: 770
I learned in prison the importance of a home line.
Cant call cellphones from inside.....

Disclose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-04-2013, 08:08 PM
  #64
clefty
What?
 
clefty's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Country: Fujairah
Posts: 15,671
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neely2005 View Post
Same for me.
Me too. And I get 50 free calls a month with it as well. Good to have a backup if your phone is ever lost/busted/getting no signal/etc.

Damned if I know what the number is though. So on the rare occasion it does ring, I don't answer.

clefty is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:26 AM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2015 All Rights Reserved.