HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > General Hockey Discussion > National Hockey League Talk > Polls - (hockey-related only)
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2

Brett Hull cup clinching goal: Goal or no goal?

View Poll Results: Was the call correct?
Yes 105 36.33%
No 184 63.67%
Voters: 289. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
09-08-2013, 08:05 PM
  #126
unknown33
Registered User
 
unknown33's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Europe
Country: Marshall Islands
Posts: 3,503
vCash: 500
Unbelievable that people argue against something that has a 100% clear answer. Even more so over 50%.

unknown33 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
09-08-2013, 08:27 PM
  #127
MessierII
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Posts: 6,296
vCash: 500
Rule 78-B stated: “Unless the puck is in the goal crease area, a player of the attacking side may not enter nor stand in the goal crease. If a player has entered the crease prior to the puck and subsequently the puck should enter the net while such conditions prevail, the apparent goal shall not be allowed.”

The possession argument is crap. It's clearly two possessions. There's no mention of rebounds counting as one possession in the rule itself it was a fabrication so the NHL didn't have to admit an astronomical mistake.

MessierII is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-08-2013, 08:44 PM
  #128
Fred Taylor
The Cyclone
 
Fred Taylor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 3,087
vCash: 500
That was no goal, plain and simple.

Fred Taylor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-08-2013, 08:48 PM
  #129
Chaos
3, 2, 1
 
Chaos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Country: United States
Posts: 7,810
vCash: 500
Send a message via MSN to Chaos
Quote:
Originally Posted by MessierII View Post
Rule 78-B stated: “Unless the puck is in the goal crease area, a player of the attacking side may not enter nor stand in the goal crease. If a player has entered the crease prior to the puck and subsequently the puck should enter the net while such conditions prevail, the apparent goal shall not be allowed.”

The possession argument is crap. It's clearly two possessions. There's no mention of rebounds counting as one possession in the rule itself it was a fabrication so the NHL didn't have to admit an astronomical mistake.
You are right, it's two possessions. The second one begins when Hull, while outside the crease, obviously and intentionally kicks the puck towards his stick. Only after he does that does he enter the crease. Making it a good goal.

__________________
Chaos is always right.

-Vagrant
Chaos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-09-2013, 07:58 PM
  #130
Do Make Say Think
Soul & Onward
 
Do Make Say Think's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 19,948
vCash: 500
Based on precedent it should not have counted

It's really that simple

Of course it was a good goal but for the entire season those goals were not considered as such and were called back rather consistently

Do Make Say Think is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:35 AM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. ©2014 All Rights Reserved.