HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > NHL Eastern Conference > Metropolitan Division > New York Rangers
Notices

GameCenter Live vs NHL Center Ice (and HockeyStreams)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
09-13-2013, 01:44 PM
  #51
CM Lundqvist
Best In The World
 
CM Lundqvist's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Long Island
Country: United States
Posts: 8,115
vCash: 500
I know that you get NHL Network with NHL Center Ice if you're on optimum.

That's how it's always been for me since I've had CI and NHL Network has been in the states.

CM Lundqvist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-15-2013, 10:22 AM
  #52
kreiderfan20
Registered User
 
kreiderfan20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Long Island NY
Country: United States
Posts: 47
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by CM Lundqvist View Post
I know that you get NHL Network with NHL Center Ice if you're on optimum.

That's how it's always been for me since I've had CI and NHL Network has been in the states.
That is true. I used to get CI through cablevision but they don't offer the package in HD so I stopped buying it. I get the io sports pack for 7 bucks a month which includes NHL & NFL Network along with several other channels I have no use for.

kreiderfan20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-16-2013, 01:18 PM
  #53
TGWL
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Posts: 652
vCash: 500
Anyone know if game center or hockey streams allow multiple logins? I was thinking about splitting this with a friend who isn't a huge hockey fan, but would enjoy watching it every now and then.

TGWL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-16-2013, 01:20 PM
  #54
Tawnos
Moderator
 
Tawnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC
Country: United States
Posts: 10,035
vCash: 500
We will see as time goes on here, but HockeyStreams quality on the scrimmage broadcast yesterday was fantastic.

Tawnos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-16-2013, 01:46 PM
  #55
CM Lundqvist
Best In The World
 
CM Lundqvist's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Long Island
Country: United States
Posts: 8,115
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by kreiderfan20 View Post
That is true. I used to get CI through cablevision but they don't offer the package in HD so I stopped buying it. I get the io sports pack for 7 bucks a month which includes NHL & NFL Network along with several other channels I have no use for.
The sports pack is only $7 a month? I have NFL Network, but I don't have NHL Network in the offseason.

Weird.

CM Lundqvist is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-16-2013, 01:54 PM
  #56
Trxjw
Moderator
Bored.
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Land of no calls..
Country: United States
Posts: 15,792
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by TGWL View Post
Anyone know if game center or hockey streams allow multiple logins? I was thinking about splitting this with a friend who isn't a huge hockey fan, but would enjoy watching it every now and then.
Not sure about HockeyStreams, but I know Game Center can only be registered to one gaming console, so you can't have multiple people logging into one account on different PS3's. I split mine with a friend in 11-12 and if I was logged in watching the Rangers, and he tried to log in to watch the Red Wings, it would lock him out saying it was already in use by another IP address. However, if we logged in at different times, we could both use it.

Trxjw is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-16-2013, 06:41 PM
  #57
kreiderfan20
Registered User
 
kreiderfan20's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Long Island NY
Country: United States
Posts: 47
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by CM Lundqvist View Post
The sports pack is only $7 a month? I have NFL Network, but I don't have NHL Network in the offseason.

Weird.
There are only 2 ways that I know of to get NHL network with optimum: either get CI or sportspak. While NFL network is in the pak, it is also included with certain "tiers" of cable tv packages...so I guess the tier/package you have is high enough to get NFL network

kreiderfan20 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-16-2013, 07:44 PM
  #58
LittleKev6D9
Unregistered User
 
LittleKev6D9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Middletown
Country: United States
Posts: 951
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by TGWL View Post
Anyone know if game center or hockey streams allow multiple logins? I was thinking about splitting this with a friend who isn't a huge hockey fan, but would enjoy watching it every now and then.
Multiple users can't watch at the same time. I just tested it with my brother.

LittleKev6D9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-20-2013, 02:47 PM
  #59
the fife flyer
Registered User
 
the fife flyer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Kirkcaldy, Scotland
Country: Scotland
Posts: 105
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyr2k2 View Post
If you are interested in GameCenter Live, I would strongly recommend checking out HockeyStreams.com instead. Far, far more content, equal (if not better) quality, less price.
Thanks for the heads up on this.

I subscribed last year to GCL since my local cable channel (Premier sports UK) was puting out disgraceful picture quality.
I got a shock though when I discovered the blackouts I didn`t read the smallprint.

I`ve now just cancelled the auto renewal on GCL and will give HS a chance this year when the season starts. I have a d/l speed of around 25meg so hope to get a good enough picture to use my laptop via an HDMI connection to watch on TV.

the fife flyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-20-2013, 03:00 PM
  #60
Shadowrunner
Registered User
 
Shadowrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,198
vCash: 500
Send a message via ICQ to Shadowrunner Send a message via AIM to Shadowrunner
Hockeystreams has a Roku channel!!!

You might as well just /close thread here.

You can watch all the games without any blackouts in 720p for essentially $55/season via Roku. Absolutely unbeatable value.

https://owner.roku.com/Add/hockeystreams

Shadowrunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-23-2013, 05:57 AM
  #61
Pistachio
I love your mother
 
Pistachio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 161
vCash: 50
How's the quality on hockeystreams?

Last season I used Viaplay, a Norwegian streaming site (Viasat) that gave me full access to NHL GameCenter through my subscription. I used that because I really don't like to watch hockey with Norwegian or Swedish commentators. Two years ago, I had to use ESPN streaming site (forgot the name).

Problem is, they gave me 30fps 3000kbps. 60fps hockey is the gold standard. ESPN and NHL GC also had terrible encoding, with blocky frames and bad colors. How is hockeystreams in terms of quality? Does it give 60fps on all games, or just some? Is the 3500kbps also for all games, or again just some.

Pistachio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-23-2013, 08:38 AM
  #62
Shadowrunner
Registered User
 
Shadowrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,198
vCash: 500
Send a message via ICQ to Shadowrunner Send a message via AIM to Shadowrunner
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pistachio View Post
How's the quality on hockeystreams?

Last season I used Viaplay, a Norwegian streaming site (Viasat) that gave me full access to NHL GameCenter through my subscription. I used that because I really don't like to watch hockey with Norwegian or Swedish commentators. Two years ago, I had to use ESPN streaming site (forgot the name).

Problem is, they gave me 30fps 3000kbps. 60fps hockey is the gold standard. ESPN and NHL GC also had terrible encoding, with blocky frames and bad colors. How is hockeystreams in terms of quality? Does it give 60fps on all games, or just some? Is the 3500kbps also for all games, or again just some.
From their site:

Adaptive 800-3500Kbps
up to 60 FPS
1280x720
up to 720p HD (60 FPS)


I'm not as clear on the technical aspects, but the games look almost as good as they did in HD on MSG last season. I upgraded from a 40" to a 60" over the summer, and that may be why the visuals aren't as crisp -- that kind of screen estate really needs 1080p.

Shadowrunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-23-2013, 09:17 AM
  #63
Pistachio
I love your mother
 
Pistachio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Posts: 161
vCash: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shadowrunner View Post
From their site:

Adaptive 800-3500Kbps
up to 60 FPS
1280x720
up to 720p HD (60 FPS)


I'm not as clear on the technical aspects, but the games look almost as good as they did in HD on MSG last season. I upgraded from a 40" to a 60" over the summer, and that may be why the visuals aren't as crisp -- that kind of screen estate really needs 1080p.
MSG doesn't air in 1080p, that's very rare for a network to air something in 1080p. It's almost guaranteed to be 720p (or 1080i), but the difference is in the bitrate.

Bitrate (kbps) defines how much information each second of video is carrying. So a bitrate of 3000kbps, means that every second you are being fed ~3MB of data. That's why a 720p stream with 6000kbps bitrate is sooo much better than 3000kbps. Ofc, at a certain point it won't matter as much, and a higher resolution means the bitrate difference will be much more noticable, hence the 1080p.

The encoding of the video is also very important. A 720p@3000kbps with terrible encoding (see GameCenter) produces a lot of blocking and artifacts, and especially fast moving scenes makes bad encoding look so much worse. A 720p@3000kbps with great compression can make the whole thing look so much better. It's definitely noticeable.


Example.

Then of course there's the FPS (frames per second). Imagine one second of a puck being passed from one person to another. In a 30fps video, that one second is compromised of 30 frames. In a 60fps video, it's 60 frames. The pucks position on the ice will be updated twice as many times in a 60 fps video, giving much smoother motion in fast paced scenes, which is why for sports, 60fps is the gold standard.

Just figured I'd give people a very basic understanding of streaming and video technology I'm by no means an expert, but here's the basics in laymans terms

hockeystreams does give that information, yes, but when they say "up to 60 fps", what does that really mean. Is that only for one match a year? Only for one network provider? I'm sure it's a lot better than gamecenter though, so I'll probably test it for a month in october

Pistachio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-23-2013, 02:21 PM
  #64
Shadowrunner
Registered User
 
Shadowrunner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New York City
Posts: 1,198
vCash: 500
Send a message via ICQ to Shadowrunner Send a message via AIM to Shadowrunner
Thanks for the lowdown, it's actually nice and concise.

I know that MSG doesn't broadcast in 1080p, I was just theorizing as to why the visuals on my new 60" plasma appear to be a bit less crisp with hockeystreams than on my old 40" LCD with MSG -- the bigger the screen, the worse the picture of non full HD content.

That said, in the few games I watched the broadcast was VERY smooth -- it was actually easier to follow the puck, so I don't think fps is an issue.

Shadowrunner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-23-2013, 02:35 PM
  #65
Stasis
Mad Decent
 
Stasis's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: FrmNYC-InMTL
Posts: 887
vCash: 500
I've thoroughly enjoyed HS for the 2 weeks that I've had it, and now that there's a Roku channel I'm all set I think.

Quality has been better than GCL, overall, as has ease of connection. I guess the real test will be when the regular season starts and there are more concurrent users.

Stasis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-23-2013, 02:57 PM
  #66
Championship*
#Joel&Ellie
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,503
vCash: 500
Can't recommend hockey streams enough. It's a godsend.

Championship* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-23-2013, 05:18 PM
  #67
Barbara Underhill
Duuuuuuuuuuuuuuke
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Montana
Country: United States
Posts: 12,416
vCash: 500
Having some very annoying issues with HS and can't figure out why, have tried pretty much everything. We'll see tonight if I got it resolved, if not I will probably go back to GCL.

Barbara Underhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-23-2013, 05:29 PM
  #68
nyr2k2
Can't Beat Him
 
nyr2k2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Country: United States
Posts: 22,313
vCash: 500
Awards:
Quote:
Originally Posted by Barbara Underhill View Post
Having some very annoying issues with HS and can't figure out why, have tried pretty much everything. We'll see tonight if I got it resolved, if not I will probably go back to GCL.
What issues, and have you posted in the support forum?

__________________

It's just pain.
nyr2k2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
09-23-2013, 06:14 PM
  #69
Barbara Underhill
Duuuuuuuuuuuuuuke
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Montana
Country: United States
Posts: 12,416
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyr2k2 View Post
What issues, and have you posted in the support forum?
Stuttering, and yes. He didn't tell me anything I hadn't already tried though. My connection is plenty fast, flash is updated, increased cache size, wired connection, router firmware updated, drivers updated, browser updated, Windows updated, virus scan, malware scan, and anything else you could think of as well.

I will cycle my modem and router before the game starts and see what happens. I've tried VLC, and potplayer as well and had the same issues. Used serviio and the mobile app and has the same issues as well.

Stream buffers every nine seconds. It's asinine.

He did suggest trying the central server as I might have bad routing to the west server so we'll see. I watched a few games without issue, but had quite a few problems with every other game I tried to watch.

Barbara Underhill is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-24-2013, 05:59 AM
  #70
hpNYR
HF Forecaster
 
hpNYR's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Burbank, CA
Country: Armenia
Posts: 7,080
vCash: 500
Anyone else that lives outside of NYC having their MSG blacked out during games? I have direct tv and it gets blacked out. Calgary game didnt record because it was blacked out. Is this normal procedure?

hpNYR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-24-2013, 08:49 AM
  #71
Tawnos
Moderator
 
Tawnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC
Country: United States
Posts: 10,035
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by hpNYR View Post
Anyone else that lives outside of NYC having their MSG blacked out during games? I have direct tv and it gets blacked out. Calgary game didnt record because it was blacked out. Is this normal procedure?
When I lived in Nashville and had Dish and received MSG, I discovered that, by state law, they were only allowed to show a certain number of live out of markets sporting events on regional networks. Just because you get MSG doesn't mean you'll be able to watch Rangers games. You still have to get the Center Ice package.

Tawnos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-24-2013, 08:50 AM
  #72
Tawnos
Moderator
 
Tawnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC
Country: United States
Posts: 10,035
vCash: 500
By the way, very very pleased with the quality of hockey streams last night.

Tawnos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-24-2013, 09:20 AM
  #73
Callagraves
Block shots
 
Callagraves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 6,125
vCash: 500
So, I guess GCL doesn't do preseason games. That's horse-****

Callagraves is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
09-24-2013, 09:28 AM
  #74
nyr2k2
Can't Beat Him
 
nyr2k2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Washington, DC
Country: United States
Posts: 22,313
vCash: 500
Awards:
Quote:
Originally Posted by hpNYR View Post
Anyone else that lives outside of NYC having their MSG blacked out during games? I have direct tv and it gets blacked out. Calgary game didnt record because it was blacked out. Is this normal procedure?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tawnos View Post
When I lived in Nashville and had Dish and received MSG, I discovered that, by state law, they were only allowed to show a certain number of live out of markets sporting events on regional networks. Just because you get MSG doesn't mean you'll be able to watch Rangers games. You still have to get the Center Ice package.
At my previous house in MD, I had Verizon FiOS. As part of my sports package, I received SNY. I could watch everything on it except for live Mets games. Those were always blacked out. I assume MSG and other channels operate in a similar fashion.

nyr2k2 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
09-24-2013, 09:32 AM
  #75
Tawnos
Moderator
 
Tawnos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Charlotte, NC
Country: United States
Posts: 10,035
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by nyr2k2 View Post
At my previous house in MD, I had Verizon FiOS. As part of my sports package, I received SNY. I could watch everything on it except for live Mets games. Those were always blacked out. I assume MSG and other channels operate in a similar fashion.
Yeah pretty much the same thing. Luckily for me, in that Dish situation, when I signed up they had promised me I'd be watching Rangers games on MSG, so when I couldn't, I *****ed and complained until I got them to essentially throw in Center Ice for the next two seasons.

Tawnos is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 AM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2014 All Rights Reserved.