HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > General Hockey Discussion > The Rink
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
The Rink For the not so ready for prime-time players, coaches, referees, and the people that have to live with them. Discuss experiences in local leagues, coaching tips, equipment, and training.

Weird thing about Offsides.

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
01-21-2014, 07:29 AM
  #1
lubesicle
Registered User
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 8
vCash: 500
Weird thing about Offsides.

I saw this play Rick Nash did in the 2010 Can vs USA Olympics (Preliminary) where he's carrying the puck backwards into the offensive zone so both his feet pass the blue line before the puck does. Is this allowed? I thought one foot had to be on the blue line no matter what when the puck crosses.

It happens at 6:40 in the 2nd period, or at 1:10:25 of this youtube clip

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VmzQBhauC7c

Thanks!

lubesicle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2014, 07:36 AM
  #2
shoeshine boy
Registered User
 
shoeshine boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 319
vCash: 500
a common rule that most players don't know.
if you have CONTROL (different from possession) you can enter the zone backwards. any players with you though must enter the puck at the same time as the puck not the same time as your body.

shoeshine boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2014, 01:02 PM
  #3
nycpunk1
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Medford, MA
Country: United States
Posts: 183
vCash: 500
You actually see this move attempted more than you might realize. A lot of times the guy doing it unintentionally puts his teammate offsides. They're trying to time their entrance into the zone perfectly, and then he delays entry and it all goes to hell.

The other way this fails is when a guy tries a quick move to pull the puck back and loses control for a split second. That puts him offsides even if he immediately gets the puck back under control.

nycpunk1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2014, 01:33 PM
  #4
SaintAnton
Registered User
 
SaintAnton's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 1,680
vCash: 101
as long as you maintain control from when your skates begin to enter until the puck has entered.

ex. if a player entering the zone skating backwards crosses the line with his feet then receives a pass on his stick in the neutral zone he must stop and tag the blue line with a skate. If he does not stop the whistle is blown as soon as the puck crosses.

ex. if Rick Nash gets checked on the play as his feet cross the line and the puck ends up bouncing off the boards and back to him in the offensive zone he cannot play it until he goes back and tags up or else it will be whistled off-side as soon as he makes an attempt to play it.

SaintAnton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2014, 05:19 PM
  #5
American in Paris
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 87
vCash: 500
Offsides question

In a friendly game one of the opposing players in his offensive zone, trying to get over the blue line in time as his teammate was binging the puck back in, dove and slid hands first over the line.

If having a hand over the line counts, then he succeeded.

But my intuition says the rule must require a foot to still be on the line.

What's the rule?

American in Paris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2014, 07:58 PM
  #6
TieClark
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 4,032
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by American in Paris View Post
In a friendly game one of the opposing players in his offensive zone, trying to get over the blue line in time as his teammate was binging the puck back in, dove and slid hands first over the line.

If having a hand over the line counts, then he succeeded.

But my intuition says the rule must require a foot to still be on the line.

What's the rule?
As far as I know it's determined by feet... as if you were skating. The slide is just a way of getting there faster in some cases

TieClark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-22-2014, 09:09 AM
  #7
tarheelhockey
Global Moderator
 
tarheelhockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Triangle
Country: United States
Posts: 32,189
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by American in Paris View Post
In a friendly game one of the opposing players in his offensive zone, trying to get over the blue line in time as his teammate was binging the puck back in, dove and slid hands first over the line.

If having a hand over the line counts, then he succeeded.

But my intuition says the rule must require a foot to still be on the line.

What's the rule?
It's all about your feet. It doesn't matter where your hands are.

Since it was a friendly game, maybe the guy was just being a goof.

tarheelhockey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
01-22-2014, 06:08 PM
  #8
scryan
Registered User
 
scryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Country: United States
Posts: 646
vCash: 500
Interesting that then if they slid feet first they could just stick a boot over the line and be legit? I feel like that wouldn't be enough...

scryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-22-2014, 09:22 PM
  #9
Phil Connors*
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: California
Country: United States
Posts: 2,627
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by scryan View Post
Interesting that then if they slid feet first they could just stick a boot over the line and be legit? I feel like that wouldn't be enough...
It is. You'll see sometimes when they have to stop up because they mistime the entrance, and they'll be doing the splits trying to get one foot on the blueline.

Phil Connors* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-23-2014, 01:37 AM
  #10
scryan
Registered User
 
scryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Country: United States
Posts: 646
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by ReaallMunson18 View Post
It is. You'll see sometimes when they have to stop up because they mistime the entrance, and they'll be doing the splits trying to get one foot on the blueline.
Yeah but that is different then like lay on your back slide.
I mean, sure... I don't know how. I guess its a skate extended out past your body to tag a line either way,.. Wonder if you need to have your blade on the ice?

scryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-23-2014, 08:04 AM
  #11
shoeshine boy
Registered User
 
shoeshine boy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 319
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by scryan View Post
Yeah but that is different then like lay on your back slide.
I mean, sure... I don't know how. I guess its a skate extended out past your body to tag a line either way,.. Wonder if you need to have your blade on the ice?
it's always been my understanding that your blade has to be in contact with the ice for you to be considered onside.

shoeshine boy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-23-2014, 08:23 AM
  #12
Propane Nightmares
The Resist Stance
 
Propane Nightmares's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: England land
Country: United Kingdom
Posts: 44,810
vCash: 500
The blade has to be touching the ice

Propane Nightmares is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
01-23-2014, 09:05 AM
  #13
tarheelhockey
Global Moderator
 
tarheelhockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Triangle
Country: United States
Posts: 32,189
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by scryan View Post
Interesting that then if they slid feet first they could just stick a boot over the line and be legit? I feel like that wouldn't be enough...
In theory it would be enough, but kind of like in baseball you're actually slowing yourself down by sliding. Since the goal is to get across quickly, you're better off staying on your feet and taking that extra stride.

Quote:
Originally Posted by scryan View Post
Yeah but that is different then like lay on your back slide.
I mean, sure... I don't know how. I guess its a skate extended out past your body to tag a line either way,.. Wonder if you need to have your blade on the ice?
You do indeed have to have your skate on the ice. I was called offside once when I desperately kicked my foot up to put it over the line, and the linesman wasn't buying it.

tarheelhockey is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
01-23-2014, 12:23 PM
  #14
scryan
Registered User
 
scryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Country: United States
Posts: 646
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by tarheelhockey View Post
In theory it would be enough, but kind of like in baseball you're actually slowing yourself down by sliding. Since the goal is to get across quickly, you're better off staying on your feet and taking that extra stride.
yeah, obviously a bit slower to fall on your ass then to dive forward or even stay up skating.

The only time I can really imagine would be a player falling, maybe cutting back to come onsides and loosing an edge.

But for some reason it made sense that a player sliding on his back wouldn't be onsides the moment his boot goes over, i.e. you have to have your blade down...

scryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-23-2014, 04:39 PM
  #15
Exarz
Registered User
 
Exarz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Västerås
Country: Sweden
Posts: 1,028
vCash: 361
I've always found it weird that both skates needs to leave the mid. zone to call offside. Wouldn't one skate technically be offside aswell?

Exarz is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
01-23-2014, 10:08 PM
  #16
scryan
Registered User
 
scryan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Country: United States
Posts: 646
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Exarz View Post
I've always found it weird that both skates needs to leave the mid. zone to call offside. Wouldn't one skate technically be offside aswell?
I guess that depends on if you look at it as crossing the line vs entering and leaving the zone.

If you talk about entering the zone, the very point at when you entering is the same point your leaving, just as soon as you have a skate breaking that area your "in it".
Like being in a pool. dip a toe in your in. Stick a toe out your not out.

scryan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-24-2014, 05:02 AM
  #17
Gino 14
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Country: United States
Posts: 812
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by scryan View Post
I guess that depends on if you look at it as crossing the line vs entering and leaving the zone.

If you talk about entering the zone, the very point at when you entering is the same point your leaving, just as soon as you have a skate breaking that area your "in it".
Like being in a pool. dip a toe in your in. Stick a toe out your not out.
That's incorrect. As long as you have any part of your skate on the blue line, you're not in the zone in regards to offsides.

Gino 14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:25 AM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. ©2014 All Rights Reserved.