HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > NHL Eastern Conference > Metropolitan Division > New York Rangers
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Notices

Is this a rule??

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
03-05-2007, 03:40 AM
  #1
pavvento
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 263
vCash: 500
Is this a rule??

Ok so I know everyone is complaning about the refs, and I've read the posts, but my question is this:

In football and baseball, the refs can always discuss a call with each other, and sometimes the call gets overturned. Twice in the last week, the ref standing 5 feet away from a 'call' did not raise their arm, but the ref 45 feet away did. Does the NHL allow, and/or reccomend the two ref's to discuss the call and decide whether it should actually be a penalty or not? I know the linesmen do this with icings, you'll see one linesemen with his hand up, and the other wave it off, and the call goes to the one closest to the call.

pavvento is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
03-05-2007, 04:12 AM
  #2
HVPOLARBEARS19
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: NY
Country: Israel
Posts: 2,055
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to HVPOLARBEARS19 Send a message via MSN to HVPOLARBEARS19
I am 99% sure a linesman can call a penalty. This isn't encouraged, but because the refs can't see everything it's allowed. As for conferencing (is that a word?) about a penalty, as far as I know, and again, 99% sure here, once a penalty is called that's that, no overturning of a penalty. I have played hockey competitively for 13 years (since I was 6) and watched the NHL since I was 3 and never ever ever remember seeing a penalty overturned. It'd be like overturning a foul in basketball, which I don't think can happen either...hope that helped.

HVPOLARBEARS19 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
03-05-2007, 04:26 AM
  #3
WheresBarnaby
Registered User
 
WheresBarnaby's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Country: United States
Posts: 2,607
vCash: 500
I believe a penalty can be overturned actually. I'm pretty sure I've seen it happen. A penalty cannot be reviewed like a goal, but if there is a disagreement in what one ref saw vs what the other did, they can discuss, and make a change if necessary.

WheresBarnaby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
03-05-2007, 06:40 AM
  #4
FLYLine24
The Mac Truck
 
FLYLine24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NY
Country: United States
Posts: 30,599
vCash: 500
The only penalty that can be overturned is the shooting the puck out of play.

Lineman's can only call too many men on the ice penalty but the referee can ask if they saw what happened when a player got injured in result of a hit, stick, etc. The ref would then assess the major if he feels it is necessary.

FLYLine24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
03-05-2007, 07:37 AM
  #5
shoeshine5
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 75
vCash: 500
They can definitely get overturned, it just doesn't happen too much.

shoeshine5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
03-05-2007, 09:31 AM
  #6
JLHockeyKnight
IMA Real American
 
JLHockeyKnight's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: North Central Jersey
Country: United States
Posts: 19,438
vCash: 500
As for the 45 feet away thing, I believe the reasoning with that is one ref watches the puck and the other ref from further away watches the play for penalties. Unless the penalty is blatantly in the closer ref's face enough for him to call it, I've noticed a lot of times the other ref will call a lot.

JLHockeyKnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
03-05-2007, 12:02 PM
  #7
andyo23
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 15
vCash: 500
linesman can call major infractions. Any penalty the ref didn't see that they feel would be a five minute major

andyo23 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
03-05-2007, 01:02 PM
  #8
Whoot Whoot
Biased-NYR-Homer
 
Whoot Whoot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Los Angeles
Country: United States
Posts: 2,685
vCash: 500
i saw a linesman call a penalty in the recent boston college game - new hamsphire, for holding. the announcer thought it was quite odd.

Whoot Whoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
03-05-2007, 03:01 PM
  #9
VanW27
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: halifax,n.s.
Country: Canada
Posts: 3,254
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whoot Whoot View Post
i saw a linesman call a penalty in the recent boston college game - new hamsphire, for holding. the announcer thought it was quite odd.
that definately is odd.

VanW27 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
03-05-2007, 04:20 PM
  #10
FLYLine24
The Mac Truck
 
FLYLine24's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: NY
Country: United States
Posts: 30,599
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Whoot Whoot View Post
i saw a linesman call a penalty in the recent boston college game - new hamsphire, for holding. the announcer thought it was quite odd.
NCAA referee system is different then the NHL. In some NCAA divisions they have a Ref, assist ref, and a lineman.

The assist ref calls the offside, icings and can call penalties missed by the referee.

FLYLine24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:59 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2015 All Rights Reserved.