HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > General Hockey Discussion > The Rink
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
The Rink For the not so ready for prime-time players, coaches, referees, and the people that have to live with them. Discuss experiences in local leagues, coaching tips, equipment, and training.

Penalty question

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
07-03-2014, 06:09 PM
  #1
Pacifist Goon
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Posts: 600
vCash: 500
Penalty question

If a referee assesses a penalty on a play, but in all the excitement subsequently misses or loses track of the offending player and isn't sure who it was, can they still call the penalty and have the offending team just sit someone in the box to serve it?

Also, if a goal is scored on a delayed penalty call, do the refs still call the penalty or have any discretion about doing so or not?

Pacifist Goon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-03-2014, 10:27 PM
  #2
Malarowski
Registered User
 
Malarowski's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 381
vCash: 500
The refs can send whomever they think committed the infraction into the box. I believe a goal during a delayed penalty wipes the man-advantage, although I am not positive this isn't just a NHL rule.

Malarowski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-03-2014, 11:00 PM
  #3
O23L
Worst tank ever.
 
O23L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Phoenix, Az.
Country: United States
Posts: 5,658
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malarowski View Post
The refs can send whomever they think committed the infraction into the box. I believe a goal during a delayed penalty wipes the man-advantage, although I am not positive this isn't just a NHL rule.
Scoring negates the powerplay, but the penalty will still be documented, and the PIMs added to the stat sheet.

O23L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-04-2014, 08:48 AM
  #4
The Cheat
Habitual Linestepper
 
The Cheat's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Guilford, CT
Country: United States
Posts: 8,904
vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to The Cheat Send a message via MSN to The Cheat
Quote:
Originally Posted by Malarowski View Post
The refs can send whomever they think committed the infraction into the box. I believe a goal during a delayed penalty wipes the man-advantage, although I am not positive this isn't just a NHL rule.
Unless it is a major, then the man advantage still stands

The Cheat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-05-2014, 08:59 PM
  #5
mbhhofr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Country: United States
Posts: 515
vCash: 500
Whenever I lost the player who committed the penalty, I would go to the Captain of the team that the penalty was on and tell him what happened and to get the right player into the penalty box or he, the Captain, would serve the penalty. It worked every time.

mbhhofr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-06-2014, 07:05 AM
  #6
Dustin Peener
The real Iceman
 
Dustin Peener's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Country: United Kingdom
Posts: 53,700
vCash: 3500
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Cheat View Post
Unless it is a major, then the man advantage still stands
I think you've got that the wrong way round.

Dustin Peener is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
07-06-2014, 10:32 PM
  #7
Wilch
Unregistered User
 
Wilch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Under your bed
Country: Taiwan
Posts: 10,606
vCash: 50
Slightly off-topic, but why do referees raise their hands between whistles?

Wilch is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
07-07-2014, 10:56 AM
  #8
fryer98
Registered User
 
fryer98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Country: United States
Posts: 154
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wilch View Post
Slightly off-topic, but why do referees raise their hands between whistles?
For line changes. Per USA Hockey rules: The visiting team is given ~8 seconds to make their change, then the arm goes up showing them no more changes can be made. The home team is then given ~8 seconds to change. Once the hand is dropped, that shows them no more changes can be made. As the hand is dropped, the ref conducting the faceoff blows his whistle stating the puck will be dropped within ~8 seconds.

fryer98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-07-2014, 10:59 AM
  #9
fryer98
Registered User
 
fryer98's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Country: United States
Posts: 154
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbhhofr View Post
Whenever I lost the player who committed the penalty, I would go to the Captain of the team that the penalty was on and tell him what happened and to get the right player into the penalty box or he, the Captain, would serve the penalty. It worked every time.
This is a good way to do it, unless he's not on the ice. Then, I just call who I think did it and/or ask the coach nicely who it was.

It's especially tough with some teams that don't have number on their shoulders.

fryer98 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-07-2014, 12:32 PM
  #10
tarheelhockey
Global Moderator
 
tarheelhockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: The Triangle
Country: United States
Posts: 37,235
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Cheat View Post
Unless it is a major, then the man advantage still stands
Quote:
Originally Posted by Propane Nightmares View Post
I think you've got that the wrong way round.
I think what he means is "Unless it is a major, [in which case] the man advantage still stands".

tarheelhockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-07-2014, 04:02 PM
  #11
Double
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbhhofr View Post
Whenever I lost the player who committed the penalty, I would go to the Captain of the team that the penalty was on and tell him what happened and to get the right player into the penalty box or he, the Captain, would serve the penalty. It worked every time.
Taking a shot in the dark here- Does this happen to be Morley from the old "Hockey Refs.com" board???

Double is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-07-2014, 04:04 PM
  #12
mbhhofr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Las Vegas
Country: United States
Posts: 515
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Double View Post
Taking a shot in the dark here- Does this happen to be Morley from the old "Hockey Refs.com" board???
Yes.

mbhhofr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-07-2014, 04:15 PM
  #13
Double
Registered User
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 9
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbhhofr View Post
Yes.
Wow, that's funny. I learned a lot from your posts on that old board. Kinda wish it hadn't died out. Looking forward to catching up on some of your posts on here...

Double is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-07-2014, 08:50 PM
  #14
Wilch
Unregistered User
 
Wilch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Under your bed
Country: Taiwan
Posts: 10,606
vCash: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by fryer98 View Post
For line changes. Per USA Hockey rules: The visiting team is given ~8 seconds to make their change, then the arm goes up showing them no more changes can be made. The home team is then given ~8 seconds to change. Once the hand is dropped, that shows them no more changes can be made. As the hand is dropped, the ref conducting the faceoff blows his whistle stating the puck will be dropped within ~8 seconds.
Thanks for the detailed answer.

Wilch is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:18 AM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2015 All Rights Reserved.