HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Non-Sports > Geek Emporium
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Geek Emporium Discuss computers, hardware, software, electronics, video games, internet, etc.

Looking for a laptop

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
10-15-2011, 02:48 PM
  #26
Monstar50
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto
Country: Canada
Posts: 725
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Towers View Post
Glad to have helped Patchey. You will probably find some great deals and comparable laptops but shy away from Acer, Gateway and HP. Those three have some of the highest failure rates in Laptops.

Asus, Toshiba and Sony have some of the lowest failure rates. Lenovo is in the middle.
What do you think of this one, my friend said it's pretty good.

http://www.staples.ca/ENG/Catalog/ca...affixedcode=WW

Monstar50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-15-2011, 02:56 PM
  #27
Sergei Goldenhands
Used Registerer
 
Sergei Goldenhands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Quebec City
Country: Canada
Posts: 1,953
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Monstar50 View Post
What do you think of this one, my friend said it's pretty good.

http://www.staples.ca/ENG/Catalog/ca...affixedcode=WW
Bad bad bad video card. You won't be able to play any games with it.

I got the exact same video card on my laptop and I can't even run Team Fortress 2 on minimum settings... always stay away from Intel onboard graphics. (I made the mistake and now I'm stuck with a laptop that can't even do light gaming )

The processor is pretty old too.

Sergei Goldenhands is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-15-2011, 02:59 PM
  #28
Monstar50
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Toronto
Country: Canada
Posts: 725
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sergei Goldenhands View Post
Bad bad bad video card. You won't be able to play any games with it.

I got the exact same video card on my laptop and I can't even run Team Fortress 2 on minimum settings... always stay away from Intel onboard graphics. (I made the mistake and now I'm stuck with a laptop that can't even do light gaming )

The processor is pretty old too.
Thanks, I almost bought that.

Monstar50 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-15-2011, 05:05 PM
  #29
neofury*
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal, PQ
Country: Canada
Posts: 20,277
vCash: 500
Yeah the on board is pretty weak, I think it would run games though. My girlfriends Toshiba is same specs, i3, 8gb ram, the same on board only real difference is the 17" screen. It runs starcraft 2 on low settings.

@Sergei are you on a weak processor with less ram or windows vista?

Cause my girlfriend has windows 7 and if it runs sc2 it should run TF2.

neofury* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-15-2011, 05:07 PM
  #30
neofury*
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Montreal, PQ
Country: Canada
Posts: 20,277
vCash: 500
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Intel-H...0.37948.0.html

As you can see it is ****, but it can run several much better games than TF2. Sergei if you can't run it and you have similar specs try PC decrapifyer, running eset + spybot and clean your PC. Then try TF2 again on low, it should work.

neofury* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-15-2011, 07:34 PM
  #31
Sergei Goldenhands
Used Registerer
 
Sergei Goldenhands's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Quebec City
Country: Canada
Posts: 1,953
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by neofury View Post
http://www.notebookcheck.net/Intel-H...0.37948.0.html

As you can see it is ****, but it can run several much better games than TF2. Sergei if you can't run it and you have similar specs try PC decrapifyer, running eset + spybot and clean your PC. Then try TF2 again on low, it should work.
Wow, that's weird. I formatted my laptop a week ago

In those benchmarks, it says CS:Source runs at 110fps on high. I get around 40fps on low.

Maybe it has more to do with the fact i got only 4gb of DDR2 ram since Intel's GPU doesn't have dedicated on board

Sergei Goldenhands is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
10-15-2011, 09:14 PM
  #32
SniperHF
Global Moderator
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 16,266
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sergei Goldenhands View Post
Wow, that's weird. I formatted my laptop a week ago

In those benchmarks, it says CS:Source runs at 110fps on high. I get around 40fps on low.

Maybe it has more to do with the fact i got only 4gb of DDR2 ram since Intel's GPU doesn't have dedicated on board
That bench was done with an I7. You have to click the "FPS" number to see the specs on the individual benchmarks on that site.

4GB of RAM should be plenty for any gaming.

How much of your memory is configured to be shared? Go into the BIOS settings at boot up and see how much is reserved for the video. Perhaps it's at a really low setting. If you are trying to play games you probably want 512mb.

SniperHF is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:13 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2015 All Rights Reserved.