HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > General Hockey Discussion > The History of Hockey
The History of Hockey Relive great moments in hockey history and discuss how the game has changed over time.

Doug Harvey overrated?

Old
02-09-2012, 05:35 PM
oolalaa

vCash: 500
Doug Harvey overrated?

Hey, NHL newbie here I have a question for you guys:

I see that on this forum, Doug Harvey has been voted as the 2nd greatest defenceman, and the 6th greatest overall player of all time. My question: Is he overrated?

I understand that he was one of the greatest, if not THE greatest, defensive defenceman of all time. And I've read that he was a master at controlling the pace and tempo of a game, even more so than Bobby Orr.

However, he was clearly not a goalscorer. Of course, I get that scoring goals is not the be all and end all - there are a myriad of other aspects that go into winning hockey, as with any sport, and I know that he played in a lower scoring era. But he really, really, REALLY wasn't a goalscorer!

I guess what I'm basically asking is - does his great defence and playmaking ability offset him only scoring 8 goals in his entire playoff career? (just 8 goals!) Why is he necessarily better than Potvin or Bourque or even Lidstrom? And was he really more valuable than his teammate, Jean Beliveau?

Did he have all time great intangibles? Was he a great leader? Did his teammates love and respect him? Was he insanely competitive? Was he clutch?

In other words, was he the Bill Russell of Hockey? Because that's the only justification I can see for ranking him so high.

I apologise if this is well trodden ground. I'm just very curious....

oolalaa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-09-2012, 06:04 PM
Nalyd Psycho

Quote:
Originally Posted by oolalaa View Post
In other words, was he the Bill Russell of Hockey? Because that's the only justification I can see for ranking him so high.