The Bruins actually did this earlier this season in the game up in Montreal that I was at in late October. After they scored a goal with the goalie pulled to pull within one goal they pulled Thomas for Rask to gain a little time out. It did help as they still lost, but it was a tactic that Keenan used all the time.
they can do it once, with giving the entering goalie a little time to get ready but i don't think they can change an uninjured goalie after an icing. so that would be a moot point. but if you needed a breather at the end of a game, and were down one in the offensive zone with no timeout. than you can change goalies once to get a breather but the next time the have to change like a regular player. fast before the puck gets dropped. my college coach was so upset with our goalies one year in a game we were losing that he had them change on the fly for the whole third period. it was comical to say the least. must of been 15 goalie changes that period
A situation happened yesterday in the Ottawa game that had me thinking...
Ottawa pulled the goalie when they were down 3-1. They iced the puck with the goalie pulled. They were allowed to put the goalie back in the net.
Since teams aren't allowed to make line changes after an icing...I say they shouldn't be allowed to replace the goalie in this situation either. (i know the rule specificly says that you're allowed to put the goalie back in)