HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Non-Sports > Geek Emporium
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Notices

Geek Emporium Discuss computers, hardware, software, electronics, video games, internet, etc.

Computer help

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old
01-06-2005, 10:55 PM
  #26
Kerberos*
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 3,487
vCash: 500
Send a message via ICQ to   Kerberos* Send a message via MSN to   Kerberos*
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seachd
Thanks for your help, guys!

What do you guys think of this: http://www.futureshop.ca/catalog/pro...ngid=EN&dept=1

Is that a decent deal? It's "refurbished", but does that matter?
Get a custom built computer: you'll have better quality parts and a lower price. Plus, you might even get better service.

Also, Athlon is proven to outperform pentium at a lower cost. Choose Athlon!

  Kerberos* is offline  
Old
01-06-2005, 10:57 PM
  #27
Porn*
Registered User
 
Porn*'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: In your nightmares
Country: Israel
Posts: 36,199
vCash: 500
Send a message via MSN to Porn*
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cerberus
Get a custom built computer: you'll have better quality parts and a lower price. Plus, you might even get better service.
Just make sure you know what your getting, and have someone check after you buy it to ensure you don't get taken!

Porn* is offline  
Old
01-06-2005, 11:00 PM
  #28
Seachd
Registered User
 
Seachd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: The Fail
Posts: 17,877
vCash: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cerberus
Get a custom built computer: you'll have better quality parts and a lower price. Plus, you might even get better service.

Also, Athlon is proven to outperform pentium at a lower cost. Choose Athlon!
Where would be a good idea to do that? You mean like Dell? I've looked at them, but their prices seem to be sky high.

Actually, come to think of it, I do know a guy who "builds computers". He got one for my aunt, but I never really thought about him until now. I should ask him about it.

Seachd is offline  
Old
01-06-2005, 11:04 PM
  #29
Douggy
Registered User
 
Douggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: London, Ontario
Country: Canada
Posts: 9,803
vCash: 500
Dell is exactly what he DOESN'T mean by custom built! Dell, HP, etc. all send you PCs with just-good-enough parts in them. A custom built PC is usually cheaper, and you also get the satisfaction of knowing what you put in it.

Douggy is offline  
Old
01-06-2005, 11:04 PM
  #30
Kerberos*
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 3,487
vCash: 500
Send a message via ICQ to   Kerberos* Send a message via MSN to   Kerberos*
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seachd
Where would be a good idea to do that? You mean like Dell? I've looked at them, but their prices seem to be sky high.

Actually, come to think of it, I do know a guy who "builds computers". He got one for my aunt, but I never really thought about him until now. I should ask him about it.
BTW, now is the time to wait a few months before buying a new computer. Why? New standards such as PCI Express and DDR2 are just coming out. Wait a few months until they are mainstream and their price comes down.

  Kerberos* is offline  
Old
01-06-2005, 11:05 PM
  #31
Kerberos*
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 3,487
vCash: 500
Send a message via ICQ to   Kerberos* Send a message via MSN to   Kerberos*
Quote:
Originally Posted by Douggy
Dell is exactly what he DOESN'T mean by custom built! Dell, HP, etc. all send you PCs with just-good-enough parts in them. A custom built PC is usually cheaper, and you also get the satisfaction of knowing what you put in it.
Well put. Dell is craptacular. Also, you won't be able to play your newest games with that new refurbished computer because the graphics card is below craptacular. In fact this is where most low-end computer really cut cost. They stick you with an imbedded graphics card that runs doom 1 at 2 fps.

  Kerberos* is offline  
Old
01-06-2005, 11:24 PM
  #32
Seachd
Registered User
 
Seachd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: The Fail
Posts: 17,877
vCash: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cerberus
It depends if you have free slots. If you have free slots, then just buy a 256 module and plug it in. For the graphics card, get the low end: anything between 5200 and 5600. Then again, depending on your power supply, even the 5600 might hiccup. So, knowing your power supply rating would be useful. BTW, the 5200 can be had for less than 100$.

http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...963&CatId=1241
63$ canadian here for the graphics card

http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...p?EdpNo=504537
56$ for the memory

That's 120$ + shipping and tax.
Maybe I'll just take Cerberus' suggestion and try this for now.

So one more dumb question on my part. If I take the cover off my computer, what do I look for to find the RAM, or find out if I have an extra slot? Shouldn't newer computers all have extra slots?

Regarding buying the same kind of RAM, what do I look for? What numbers should I pay attention to?

Seachd is offline  
Old
01-06-2005, 11:30 PM
  #33
Kerberos*
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 3,487
vCash: 500
Send a message via ICQ to   Kerberos* Send a message via MSN to   Kerberos*
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seachd
Maybe I'll just take Cerberus' suggestion and try this for now.

So one more dumb question on my part. If I take the cover off my computer, what do I look for to find the RAM, or find out if I have an extra slot? Shouldn't newer computers all have extra slots?

Regarding buying the same kind of RAM, what do I look for? What numbers should I pay attention to?
Memory:
http://www20.tomshardware.com/howto/...system-07.html

You're model is SDRAM 133 MHZ(megahertz). Pick any capacity you want and any company (I don't think you're the kind to do overclocking so you don't need Corsair memory).

BTW, upgrading the graphics card and the memory are probably the two easiest, simplest upgrade you can make and it's really hard to screw up.

  Kerberos* is offline  
Old
01-06-2005, 11:34 PM
  #34
Seachd
Registered User
 
Seachd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: The Fail
Posts: 17,877
vCash: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cerberus
Memory:
http://www20.tomshardware.com/howto/...system-07.html

You're model is SDRAM 133 MHZ(megahertz). Pick any capacity you want and any company (I don't think you're the kind to do overclocking so you don't need Corsair memory).
Ah, right on. Thanks alot for your help!

Seachd is offline  
Old
01-06-2005, 11:40 PM
  #35
Kerberos*
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 3,487
vCash: 500
Send a message via ICQ to   Kerberos* Send a message via MSN to   Kerberos*
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seachd
Ah, right on. Thanks alot for your help!
No prob. Although I'd sleep better at night if I knew that you had at least a 300 watt power supply. I'd hate for your computer to crash on you in the middle of a game.

  Kerberos* is offline  
Old
01-06-2005, 11:41 PM
  #36
Seachd
Registered User
 
Seachd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: The Fail
Posts: 17,877
vCash: 167
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cerberus
No prob. Although I'd sleep better at night if I knew that you had at least a 300 watt power supply. I'd hate for your computer to crash on you in the middle of a game.
Is there a way for me to find that out?

Seachd is offline  
Old
01-07-2005, 12:05 AM
  #37
Kerberos*
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 3,487
vCash: 500
Send a message via ICQ to   Kerberos* Send a message via MSN to   Kerberos*
Quote:
Originally Posted by Seachd
Is there a way for me to find that out?
It's either at the back of your computer or inside your computer (a label on a metallic box at the rear top of your computer.

  Kerberos* is offline  
Old
01-07-2005, 03:35 PM
  #38
ehc73
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Coquitlam, BC
Country: Canada
Posts: 5,934
vCash: 500
Send a message via ICQ to ehc73
If you're going to be opening up your case, please make sure you touch something grounded before fiddling with the components. You don't want static electricity to zap your computer parts.

ehc73 is offline  
Closed Thread

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2016 All Rights Reserved.