HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Non-Sports > Geek Emporium
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Geek Emporium Discuss computers, hardware, software, electronics, video games, internet, etc.

Planning to build a new computer? Read Here first! #6

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old
08-02-2013, 03:29 PM
  #1
SniperHF
Global Moderator
The Tank thanks you
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 15,457
vCash: 500
Planning to build a new computer? Read Here first! #6

Planning to build a new computer? Don't know where to start? Read Here first!

Ask questions in this thread about upgrades and new system builds. Read through the OP and compare it to your own situation.

Things to remember: These builds do not include any OS, Keyboard, Mice, Speakers or Monitors. That is up to the builder to choose.

==================================================

Desktop PC Builds
Click the wish list link at the top of the build to purchase.
Click select all then add to cart at the bottom.



Entry Level: General purpose PC, good desktop productivity. Casual gaming.
Price Range: $400 - $450 AMD processor
Click Here to add all of the items to your cart.
Canadians can do the same by clicking here.

Hardware
Name
Price CA
Price US
Processor:AMD Trinity 5800k APU $129 CA $129 US
Motherboard:Asrock FM2A75 FM2+ $74 CA $74 US
RAM:Crucial Ballistix 1866mhz 4gb $59 CA $59 US
Video Card:INTEGRATED INTEGRATEDINTEGRATED
Power Supply:CoolerMaster Elite 460W $45 CA $39 US
Case:Thermaltake Versa 54 CA $49 US
HDD:Western Digital AV-GP 250GB $59 CA $54 US
Optical Drive:ASUS SATA DVD RW $18 CA $18 US
Total: Prices as of 12-8-13$453 CA$429 US


Entry Level: General purpose PC, good desktop productivity. Moderate gaming capability
Price Range: $500 - $600 AMD processor
Click Here to add all of the items to your cart.
Canadians can do the same by clicking here.

Hardware
Name
Price CA
Price US
Processor:AMD FX-6300 Vishera $139 CA $119 US
Motherboard:MSI 970A-G45 AM3+ $110 CA $79 US
RAM:G.Skill RipJaws 4GB 1866mhz $45 CA $43 US
Video Card:HIS HD7750 1gb $89 CA$89 US
Power Supply:CoolerMaster Elite 460W $44 CA $39 US
Case:Thermaltake Versa 54 CA $50 US
HDD:Seagate Barracuda 1TB $69 CA $69 US
Optical Drive:ASUS SATA DVD RW $18 CA $18 US
Total: Prices as of 12-8-13$532 CA$501 US


Mainstream: General purpose PC, good desktop productivity and most gaming
Price Range: $750 - $800 AMD processor
Click Here to add all of the items to your cart.
Canadians can do the same by clicking here.

Hardware
Name
Price CA
Price US
Processor:AMD FX-8350 Vishera $199 CA $199 US
Motherboard:Gigabyte GA-970A UD3P $110 CA $89 US
RAM:G.Skill Sniper 1866mhz 8GB $49 CA $41 US
Video Card:Gigabyte R9 270 2GB $169 CA$179 US
Power Supply:Corsair CX600 v2 $69 CA $69 US
Case:Rosewill Challenger-U3 $69 CA $69 US
HDD:Seagate Barracuda 1TB $84 CA $84 US
Optical Drive:ASUS SATA DVD RW $17 CA $17 US
Total: Prices as of 12-8-13$732 CA$744 US


Mainstream: General purpose PC, good for desktop productivity, all gaming, with overclocking potential.
Price Range: $900 - $1000 Intel processor
Click Here to add all of the items to your cart.
Canadians can do the same by clicking here.

Hardware
Name
Price CA
Price US
Processor:Intel Core i5 4670k Haswell $249 CA $249 US
Motherboard:MSI Z87-GD65 $189 CA 189 US
RAM:Corsair Vengeance 8GB 2x4GB 1600mhz $89 CA $89 US
Video Card:Sapphire Dual-X R9 270X $209 CA$199 US
Power Supply:Corsair TX750 $119 CA $119 US
Case:Rosewill Challenger U3 $69 CA $69 US
HDD:Seagate Barracuda 1TB $62 CA $69 US
Optical Drive:Samsung SATA DVD RW $17 CA $17 US
Total: Prices as of 12-8-13$992 CA$965 US


Enthusiast: Specialized system, good for High Performance gaming and overclocking
Price Range: $1500 - $1600 Intel processor
Click Here to add all of the items to your cart.
Canadians can do the same by clicking here.


Hardware
Name
Price CA
Price US
Processor:Intel Core i5 4670k Haswell $249 CA $249 US
Motherboard:GIGABYTE GA-Z87X 199 CA 199 US
RAM:Corsair Vengeance 8GB 2x4GB 1600mhz $84 CA $84 US
Video Card:Gigabyte Windforce GTX 770 2GB $359 CA$339 US
Power Supply:Corsair TX750 V2 $119 CA $119 US
Case:Antec 1100 $109 CA $99US
HDD:Seagate Barracuda 1TB $69 CA $69 US
Optical Drive:Samsung SATA DVD RW $17 CA $17 US
SSD:Samsung 840pro 256GB $249 CA $214 US
CPU Cooler:CoolerMaster Hyper 212+ $34 CA $30 US
Total: Prices as of 12-8-13$1,477 CA$1,422 US


Enthusiast: Specialized Multimedia System, Blu-Ray playblack/burning, gaming, 4 Tuner DVR.
Price Range: $1500 - $1600 Intel processor
Click Here to add all of the items to your cart.
Canadians can do the same by clicking here.


Hardware
Name
Price CA
Price US
Processor:Intel Core i7 4770 Haswell $324 CA $319 US
Motherboard:Asus Z87C $139 CA $139 US
RAM:Corsair Vengeance 8GB 2x4GB 1600mhz $89 CA $84 US
Video Card:Gigabyte GTX 660 2GB $214 CA $209 US
Power Supply:Corsair CX600 v2 $73 CA $69 US
Case:NZXT CA Full Tower $169 CA $169 US
HDD:2x Seagate SV35 2 TB $239CA $200US
Optical Drive:Asus Blu-Ray Burner $86 CA $86 US
TV Tuner:Ceton InfiniTV 4 Tuner Card PCIe $200 CA $200 US
Total: Prices as of 12-8-13$1,489 CA$1,426 US


High end: Excellent all around system, near top of the line.
Price Range: $2100 - $2200 Intel processor
Click Here to add all of the items to your cart.
Canadians can do the same by clicking here.

Hardware
Name
Price CA
Price US
Processor:Intel Core i7 4770k Haswell $339 CA $339 US
Motherboard:AsRock Z87 Professional $299 CA $169 US
RAM:Corsair Vengeance 8GB 2x4GB 1866mhz $89 CA $79 US
Video Card:EVGA GTX 780ti 3GB $699 CA$679 US
Power Supply:SeaSonic X Series 1050W$239 CA$199 US
Case:Antec 1100 Super Mid $109 CA $99 US
HDD:Seagate Barracuda 1TB $84 CA $84 US
Optical Drive:Asus SATA DVD Burner $17 CA $17 US
SSD:Samsung 840pro 256GB $241 CA $239 US
CPU Cooler:Phanteks PH-TC14PE $83 CA$79 US
Total: Prices as of 12-8-13$2,185 CA$1,941 US


Who needs money!:
Price Range: $4900 - $5000 Intel processor
Click Here to add all of the items to your cart.
Canadians can do the same by clicking here.

Hardware
Name
Price CA
Price US
Processor:Intel Core i7-4960X $1,079 $1,079 US
Motherboard:ASUS P9X79-E LGA2011 $499 CA $499 US
RAM:CORSAIR Dominator Platinum 32GB $354 CA $354 US
Video Card:2X EVGA GTX 780ti 3GB $1,399 CA$1,429 US
Power Supply:Seasonic Platinum 1000 $299 CA $299 US
Case:Cooler Master Cosmos II $350 CA $299 US
Blu-Ray:LG Black 14x BD-R $91 CA $89 US
SSD:2xSamsung 840 Pro 512GB $955CA $1,039 US
CPU Cooler:CORSAIR Hydro Series H100i $114 CA$109 US
Total: Prices as of 12-8-13$5,145 CA$4,999 US

==================================================

Common PC questions


Memory:
Ensure your Dual channel memory is appropriately configured. (Dated but relevant)

What are Memory Timings?

Processors (CPU's)

Different types of Sockets

Installing your Heatsink?: Use a proper thermal compound application


Video Cards:
Can't decide which video card to buy?:
Compare them by year
2014 - 2013 - 2012 - 2011 - 2010 - 2009

Performance Per Dollar by Techpowerup


Want to upgrade your video card? Check here first

TechPowerup's VGA BIOS collection (for advanced tweaking)

Crossfire Compatibility chart.

SLI / Crossfire Q&A video.

Software

Backup, copy, and restore your computer:
Seagate Drives
Western Digital Drives

Put your new system to the test:
Benchmark it with Unigine - 3dmark11 - 3dmark13 - Lost Planet 2 - Final Fantasy XIV - AVP Bench - Resident Evil 6


Differences Between Windows 7 Versions

Never Installed Windows before?: Watch this video

Hard Drives

New SSD? Check out this introductory guide.

Tom's "Best SSD for the money 2013"

Motherboards
Newegg's Motherborad Buying Guide
Guide to Motherboard Selection (dated but good concepts)

Power Supplies (Or PSU's):

2013 PSU break-down

PSU reviews: Anandtech - Jonnyguru

Think your PSU is bad?: test it here. (post in the thread if you need assistance)

Want to save money?: Don't cut corners on the PSU.
How much power does a generic unit truly provide?

Power supply Efficiency levels


Reference: OEM's of Popular PSU brands

How much power do I need?
Power requirement estimator (very rough estimate)

Power Requirements for video cards from MSI


Video Tutorials on PC Building
I disagree with the host in some areas but overall it's a well done series. Long Winded however. For an absolute beginner it's a good resource. If you just need help with assembly, watch the second video.

Pt.1 Basic PC introduction and Component selection.
Pt.2 Assembling your system
Pt.3 Installing your OS, other odds and ends.


Thread Updated as Hardware is Released


I use NewEgg as a reference for PC components. Please shop around and find the best prices if they can be found elsewhere. In my experience NewEgg has fair prices though.

*Prices might not be 100% accurate. Check them carefully. Some items include additional mail in rebates as well. Those savings are not reflected in my prices so your build may actually be cheaper in the end.

**When choosing your parts remember you are the boss. do no hesitate to tailor one of these blueprints to your specific needs. Want a great multimedia PC but don't really need high end gaming? Spend less on the GPU and add a Blu-Ray player and Tuner Card. Need additional Storage? Go for the 2TB drive.

Updates:
12-9-13 - Pricing update and AMD card updates.
7-29-13 - Updated pricing on some builds, upgraded video cards.
6-9-13 - Total thread rebuild for Haswelll, Nvidia 7xx.

Planning to build a new computer #5 (Ivy Bridge / Haswell / Piledriver gen)
Planning to build a new computer #4 (Ivy Bridge / Bulldozer gen)
Planning to build a new computer #3 (Sandy Bridge / Phenom II gen)
Planning to build a new computer #2
Planning to build a new computer #1 by Sined


Last edited by SniperHF: 02-17-2014 at 03:38 AM.
SniperHF is online now  
Old
08-02-2013, 03:35 PM
  #2
SniperHF
Global Moderator
The Tank thanks you
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 15,457
vCash: 500
Heh, Frankie I told you cancelling newegg orders wasn't easy

Quote:
Originally Posted by LickTheEnvelope View Post
Last year I ordered about half my PC parts from Newegg and I think it took 4 days to receive.
Both Newegg and NCIX have been fast for me. NCIX usually a little slower than the egg but not much.

Quote:
Originally Posted by SolidSnakeUS View Post
Anyone else contemplating the Samsung 840 EVO 1TB SSD? I sure as **** am. $650 for it... but it still need to even come on sale (not yet released).
Bit spendy for me, but early reviews seem good. Not really feeling the need to upgrade from my old 60GB OCZ agility.

SniperHF is online now  
Old
08-03-2013, 12:40 PM
  #3
Towers
Is it on Origin?
 
Towers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Country: Canada
Posts: 6,722
vCash: 500
Send a message via MSN to Towers
I just picked up the MSi 770. Can't wait to get home and plug this ***** in.

Towers is online now  
Old
08-03-2013, 01:36 PM
  #4
guinness
those were the days
 
guinness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Missoula, Montana
Country: United States
Posts: 12,406
vCash: 500
Warning: case porn

Decided to take a couple pictures of the new Noctua after all, after my final attempt at cleanup up the rat's nest of cables inside of my case. It's still not as tidy as some people's cases, but this case doesn't have all the cutouts or a ton of space behind the motherboard, that panel actually bulges out a bit on the bottom (my case is the first CM 690, IIRC, CM just announced the 3rd revision of the 690).

Anyhow...


As for the blue CCFL's, I've had those back when I had a case with a side window, but I was like 'meh, if nothing else they'll glow inside the new case). I sort of miss the old case sometimes, because even empty, the 690 weighs over 20 pounds.

As for the actual cooler, I ran Prime95 for a couple hours yesterday, it was a stable 69-70 C at 3.2 GHz, case temps were also stable at 37-38 C. Ambient temps were about 35 C.

guinness is offline  
Old
08-03-2013, 04:19 PM
  #5
Towers
Is it on Origin?
 
Towers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Country: Canada
Posts: 6,722
vCash: 500
Send a message via MSN to Towers
Quote:
Originally Posted by Towers View Post
I just picked up the MSi 770. Can't wait to get home and plug this ***** in.
Things are puuuuuurdy.

Temp maxes out at 61 Celsius under max load.

Towers is online now  
Old
08-03-2013, 05:19 PM
  #6
Elever
Hth
 
Elever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Country: Canada
Posts: 10,484
vCash: 500
Could use a bit of help. Need to upgrade ram on a Toshiba L300-0h9 laptop from 2009. Atm it's 3 GB and the max is 4 GB I think. It has two slots so I'm unsure of what to get. Should I get one 4 GB and is it even possible or would it have to be 2 x 2 GB? The specs are: DDR2 PC2-6400

Memory Slots / Max: 2 RAM slots, bottom of the unit (user accessible), slot 1 occupied with 2GB slot 2 occupied with 1GB can be filled with 1GB, or 2GB DDR2 / 4GB Max
Memory: (Slot 1 X 2GB) (Slot 2 X 1GB) DDR2 (800MHz)
Memory Slots / Available: 2 RAM slots, NONE available

So would one of these work well?
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...16067&CatId=10
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...671&CatId=4181
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...219&CatId=4152


Last edited by Elever: 08-03-2013 at 05:30 PM.
Elever is offline  
Old
08-03-2013, 06:42 PM
  #7
SniperHF
Global Moderator
The Tank thanks you
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 15,457
vCash: 500
It looks like both sticks are on the bottom of the laptop so that makes it easy. You should get an extra 2GB stick to combine for 4GB. I don't believe it supports 4GB sticks. Though I would need your laptops serial # to confirm that.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kloparren View Post
Could use a bit of help. Need to upgrade ram on a Toshiba L300-0h9 laptop from 2009. Atm it's 3 GB and the max is 4 GB I think. It has two slots so I'm unsure of what to get. Should I get one 4 GB and is it even possible or would it have to be 2 x 2 GB? The specs are: DDR2 PC2-6400

Memory Slots / Max: 2 RAM slots, bottom of the unit (user accessible), slot 1 occupied with 2GB slot 2 occupied with 1GB can be filled with 1GB, or 2GB DDR2 / 4GB Max
Memory: (Slot 1 X 2GB) (Slot 2 X 1GB) DDR2 (800MHz)
Memory Slots / Available: 2 RAM slots, NONE available

So would one of these work well?
http://www.tigerdirect.ca/applicatio...16067&CatId=10[/quote]

This is desktop RAM, so no go.

These two should work. I'd get the Patriot myself.

However laptops have weird compatibility issues where RAM won't work even though it by all rights should work fine. Kind of a crapshoot unless it's a known issue. Might search around for brand incompatibilities.

SniperHF is online now  
Old
08-03-2013, 11:28 PM
  #8
Elever
Hth
 
Elever's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Country: Canada
Posts: 10,484
vCash: 500
Thanks, the 2nd one says good for Apple but hopefully it works as well. I have the specs written down and maybe I'll tear out the 1 GB stick and take it with me to try and ensure that it works.

Also one more question about ultrabook's and SSD's.

I noticed that almost every ultrabook in Canada under $700 has either a 24 or 32 GB SSD. The rest is a 500 GB HDD or a 1 TB HDD etc. Is this HDD a traditional drive with moving parts or is it one of those flash hybrids + SSD? And when the SSD is upgraded...is the HDD taken out or the previous SSD?

Elever is offline  
Old
08-03-2013, 11:35 PM
  #9
SniperHF
Global Moderator
The Tank thanks you
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 15,457
vCash: 500
Those of you who have crossfire might want to get the new 13.8 beta drivers. AMD fixing the frame time issues.

http://www.anandtech.com/show/7195/a...orer-cat138/13

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kloparren View Post
Also one more question about ultrabook's and SSD's.

I noticed that almost every ultrabook in Canada under $700 has either a 24 or 32 GB SSD. The rest is a 500 GB HDD or a 1 TB HDD etc. Is this HDD a traditional drive with moving parts or is it one of those flash hybrids + SSD? And when the SSD is upgraded...is the HDD taken out or the previous SSD?
It's probably a traditional mechanical drive.
Whether or not you take out the HDD or the SSD depends on how it's setup. Got a link to some of those ultrabooks?

SniperHF is online now  
Old
08-03-2013, 11:39 PM
  #10
Frankie Spankie
Registered User
 
Frankie Spankie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Dorchester, MA
Country: United States
Posts: 10,390
vCash: 500


Hurry up SSD!!!

Frankie Spankie is offline  
Old
08-03-2013, 11:43 PM
  #11
SniperHF
Global Moderator
The Tank thanks you
 
SniperHF's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Phoenix, Arizona
Country: United States
Posts: 15,457
vCash: 500
If you have a regular HD laying around just install windows and go. Wouldn't stop me. Plus I think its always good to have a backup windows install on another drive anyway.

SniperHF is online now  
Old
08-04-2013, 12:19 AM
  #12
Frankie Spankie
Registered User
 
Frankie Spankie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Dorchester, MA
Country: United States
Posts: 10,390
vCash: 500
Not a bad idea, I do have a spare 160gb that I don't have anything on. I'll have to set it up tomorrow though.

Frankie Spankie is offline  
Old
08-04-2013, 12:08 PM
  #13
Frankie Spankie
Registered User
 
Frankie Spankie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Dorchester, MA
Country: United States
Posts: 10,390
vCash: 500
I was going to put in my HDD this morning and go ahead installing Windows but I think I'm just going to wait until I get the SSD. It was beautiful this morning so I started up the bike for a ride. Figured I'll take a brief hiatus from gaming while I catch up on everything else before I get sucked into this new PC. Need to seriously clean my room, the whole floor is covered in stuff with only a walkway from my door to my computer chair, which is about 5 feet away from the door...

Frankie Spankie is offline  
Old
08-04-2013, 04:46 PM
  #14
Dave
( ͡ ͜ʖ ͡)
 
Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Laniakea
Posts: 3,759
vCash: 500
I'll probably want to get a new laptop over the winter, a macbook air style computer is kinda what I'm interested in right now (smaller, lighter, portable, doesn't necessarily have to be SSD based), but I definitely don't want to shell out apple prices. Are there any solid competitors to the macbook air? Things that could handle basic internet/streaming, light-medium gaming, and generic program usage (word, excel, etc)?

Dave is online now  
Old
08-04-2013, 05:03 PM
  #15
guinness
those were the days
 
guinness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Missoula, Montana
Country: United States
Posts: 12,406
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave View Post
I'll probably want to get a new laptop over the winter, a macbook air style computer is kinda what I'm interested in right now (smaller, lighter, portable, doesn't necessarily have to be SSD based), but I definitely don't want to shell out apple prices. Are there any solid competitors to the macbook air? Things that could handle basic internet/streaming, light-medium gaming, and generic program usage (word, excel, etc)?
TBH, if you're looking for a MBA competitor, get a MBA. Generally, most PC ultrabooks are priced similarly to an MBA, but aren't as good.

For less than $800, you'll get a decent PC laptop, most likely integrated GPU, a good Core i5, probably an SSD. But PC's still haven't got into including good trackpads, and many still skimp on screen resolutions, as 1368x768 is still the norm.

For FWIW, I got a cheap Dell in April, as a) it was cheap, less than $400 for a 13.3" ultrabook-eque laptop (no optical drive, less than 4 pounds), but it also only has a Core i3 (it supports HT though), a cheaper TN panel, and a standard HD. The trackpad is largely meh.

However, my consideration, other than price, for double the money for a PC ultrabook, I wasn't sure if I would really be gaining all that much. I would still have the same GPU, probably Core i5, a small SSD, slightly thinner, but probably also a lowend HP or Acer, a better laptop, but I wasn't sure about twice as good. And as an extension, an MBA would be even better, but I wasn't sure if it would be 3x as good. I use my laptop for general web browsing, e-mail, Libre Office, and Lightroom. I have 8 GB of RAM in it, and it's generally plenty fast, and battery life is good as well, probably 5 hours or so.

However, for a real ultrabook, I would still recommend a MBA, from every review I've read of PC ultrabooks, they'll always compared to an MBA, and that is the gold standard. Below that price, IMO, you're looking at a slightly thinner laptop, preferably an Asus, Lenovo, Toshiba.

guinness is offline  
Old
08-04-2013, 05:58 PM
  #16
Richie10
Registered User
 
Richie10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,850
vCash: 500
Omg configuring my dual monitors has been a nightmare.

Had everything set up and configured correctly just through the Nvidia control panel and Windows 7. Downloaded and installed Actual Multi Monitors to duplicate the task bar, allow myself more freedom in wallpaper setup (rather than just scouring the Internet for 3840x1080 res wallpapers and setting them to tiled in Windows), and most importantly, desyncing a fullscreen game so I can mouse out.

So I installed AMM and my display setup is now all screwed up. Windows is still reading my primary and secondary configuration correctly, but AMM has it opposite (identifies my primary as secondary, vice versa). I've played around with the settings, uninstalled and reinstalled AMM, an it still screws things up.

My primary concern is being able to mouse out of a fullscreen game running on one monitor to do whatever on the other display. I can't do this naturally without alt tabbing out of the game entirely, which is just a pain. I've tried running Wow on "Windowed Fullscreen" and it causes a HUGE drop in GPU performance.

Lost all the way around here, guys. Previously, my primary display was plugged into my video card using a HDMI to HDMI cable, and the secondary was plugged into my card with HDMI to DVI. I'm going to try to plug both into my card using HDMI to DVI and see if that alters things. We'll see.

Richie10 is offline  
Old
08-04-2013, 06:08 PM
  #17
Towers
Is it on Origin?
 
Towers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Country: Canada
Posts: 6,722
vCash: 500
Send a message via MSN to Towers
I don't have any programs installed to duplicate my task bar. Why do you need one to do that? I have both my monitors plugged into my card. Both are DVI, but one is a DVI to HDMI. I just duplicate my monitors through Windows.

Towers is online now  
Old
08-04-2013, 06:17 PM
  #18
Richie10
Registered User
 
Richie10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,850
vCash: 500
How so? I'm running Windows 7 OEM and only have options to mirror my primary display or extend it. No options on another taskbar. Perhaps I'm just not seeing it, though.

Wow is still loading on my primary display despite settings to load on display 2. Really frustrated.

Richie10 is offline  
Old
08-04-2013, 07:44 PM
  #19
Richie10
Registered User
 
Richie10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,850
vCash: 500
On further investigation two other games (through Steam) are launching on the correct display, but Wow still isn't. Thinking about reinstalling the Wow client? Kinda out of ideas at this point.

Richie10 is offline  
Old
08-04-2013, 10:00 PM
  #20
guinness
those were the days
 
guinness's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Missoula, Montana
Country: United States
Posts: 12,406
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Richie10 View Post
On further investigation two other games (through Steam) are launching on the correct display, but Wow still isn't. Thinking about reinstalling the Wow client? Kinda out of ideas at this point.
Have you tried just letting Windows do its thing? I've personally never had great luck with monitor managers, and while Windows doesn't have all the tweaks, it does the best job at actually managing them.

guinness is offline  
Old
08-04-2013, 10:05 PM
  #21
Richie10
Registered User
 
Richie10's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 3,850
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by guinness View Post
Have you tried just letting Windows do its thing? I've personally never had great luck with monitor managers, and while Windows doesn't have all the tweaks, it does the best job at actually managing them.
Already uninstalled AMM and allowed Windows to just identify the dual monitors itself. Wow is still refusing to load on display 2. Tried about a half dozen games and it's the only client that can't seem to figure things out. I suppose it is what it is at this point.

Richie10 is offline  
Old
08-06-2013, 01:26 PM
  #22
Frankie Spankie
Registered User
 
Frankie Spankie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Dorchester, MA
Country: United States
Posts: 10,390
vCash: 500
Posting from my new computer. Boot up times are blazing fast, makes my HTPC which is running with a SSD look slow. I counted and it takes 11 seconds from the time I hit the power button to the time I can do anything on the PC.

I had a bit of a scare when I started it for the first time, it started up, then shut down like 3 seconds later. I thought I might have shocked something and my heart dropped. Then it started right back up and everything went fine.

I just have one problem I'm trying to resolve, none of my case fans seem to be working. Not sure what's going on, going to try in a few to switch power cables for it.

Edit - I have all the wires going behind the motherboard so it's a lot cleaner inside, even though you can't really see inside it with this case despite having the window, and there's a bit of a mess of wires underneath the hard drives for the hard drive cables and the power cables for the fans. Every time I was closing that side panel, it somehow unplugged the fan power cables... Fixed it now, everything is running great.

The fans themselves are pretty quiet and the CPU cooler is REALLY quiet. The first time I started it the pump sounded loud but when I finished installing Windows, it went almost whisper quiet. Not sure what changed exactly but I'm really happy with it.

I'm installing Metro: Last Light now, let's see how this machine holds up to it.

Also, I'm a bit of a software noob, how exactly do I test my benchmarks so I can post them?


Last edited by Frankie Spankie: 08-06-2013 at 01:57 PM.
Frankie Spankie is offline  
Old
08-06-2013, 03:43 PM
  #23
Zodiac
Registered User
 
Zodiac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Country: Canada
Posts: 19,960
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frankie Spankie View Post

Also, I'm a bit of a software noob, how exactly do I test my benchmarks so I can post them?
Heaven benchmark is a decent one for benching your graphics card.
http://unigine.com/products/heaven/

some games have benchmarks that you can access ...like Mafia 2 for example has one ...Lost Planet 2 also has one.

Metro 2033 ...and i assume Metro Last Light both have benchmarks.

edit: ohya ...any time you bench your graphics card, you'll want to make sure that vsync is disabled so that you get the most out of your hardware.

i always have vsync enabled in the nvidia control panel, so i always have to remember to disable it in there when running a bench ...otherwise i'll get a lower score since vsync will limit my frames to 60fps or less.

Zodiac is offline  
Old
08-06-2013, 03:52 PM
  #24
Towers
Is it on Origin?
 
Towers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Calgary, AB
Country: Canada
Posts: 6,722
vCash: 500
Send a message via MSN to Towers
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frankie Spankie View Post
Also, I'm a bit of a software noob, how exactly do I test my benchmarks so I can post them?
Don't limit yourself to just software Frankie.

Towers is online now  
Old
08-06-2013, 03:58 PM
  #25
Frankie Spankie
Registered User
 
Frankie Spankie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Dorchester, MA
Country: United States
Posts: 10,390
vCash: 500
Just ran it for Metro Last Light with the following settings:

Options: Resolution: 1920 x 1080; DirectX: DirectX 11; Quality: Very High; Texture filtering: AF 16X; Advanced PhysX: Enabled; Tesselation: Very High; Motion Blur: Low; SSAA: OFF;

Here are my benchmarks:

Total Frames: 8411, Total Time: 170.986 sec
Average Framerate: 49.23
Max. Framerate: 147.28 (Frame: 799)
Min. Framerate: 10.06 (Frame: 1434)

I do remember that part where it seemed to have hit 10 fps, it didn't last long at all. The rest of it looked really smooth.

Frankie Spankie is offline  
Closed Thread

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:57 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2014 All Rights Reserved.