I'm not sure if this is the right section for this thread but anyway i just wan't to know this.
So as probably most of you know the "missed goal rule" that means: if there is a moment in game where it looks like that: "it might had been a goal" but not credited by the referee, the video judge should replay that goal situation the next time there is a stoppage in the game, and if the goal did actually go in it would be counted and everything that happened after that goal has been reset. (is that even the correct way to write that sentence? lol).
My question is that does all the possible penalties get forgiven? Even game misconduct penalties? If a players gets ejected from a game between when a goal is first unnoticed and then replayed & credited, can he come back to that game? If so this would be seriously dirty exploit, players could seriously injure players of the other team on purpose and still play the rest of the game.
Sure Brendan Shanahan would probably give him suspensions for the next x amount of games but if that game was the Stanley Cup finals game 7 and they went to win that game, i don't think that the suspended player would give a **** about those suspensions then.
Also has anything like this ever happened? Not missed goals that have been credited afterwards, i know those have happened but penalties/ suspensions that have been reset or "forgiven" because of the goal that should have been credited before?
I don't like that play continues to a stoppage. I think once the defending team clears the blue line, play should stop for the review. That gives the team that may have scored their chance to finish the attack. It's crazy that it sometimes can go on and on for 4-5 minutes without a whistle, all to have to be put back on the clock after. And even worse, when the opposing team scores and it doesn't count. Just kill the play and resume with a center ice faceoff after review.
I don't like that play continues to a stoppage. I think once the defending team clears the blue line, play should stop for the review.
The point of doing is is so that the players don't get caught up in protesting a (non-)call, and the referees don't get caught up in defending their call. Both sides know that the matter will be resolved at the next stoppage, so they can just keep doing what they're out there to do.
That said, I don't understand why the guys in the video booth can't/don't call down to have the game stopped when they realize a goal was missed, rather than continuing play for Lord-know-how-long (I saw it happen one time, but it was a moot point since play had already resumed following a stoppage, so I don't even know why they bothered at that point)