HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > NHL Eastern Conference > Atlantic Division > Toronto Maple Leafs
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Notices

Considering NHL Gamecenter live - any thoughts?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
01-20-2013, 01:46 PM
  #226
paulster2626
Registered User
 
paulster2626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Country: Canada
Posts: 2,428
vCash: 500
The PS3 was the main thing for me - if that's not working then I'm cancelling this and going back to cable TV for a few months. So stupid...

The loser at the Cogeco store said "you'll be back" when I cancelled my TV services. So mad that he turned out to be right.

Jeezus it's 2013 FFS, we can't even get off of stupid cable???

paulster2626 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-20-2013, 01:53 PM
  #227
Pilky01
Registered User
 
Pilky01's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: GTA
Country: Canada
Posts: 5,772
vCash: 500
I am very interested in game centre, but principally only if I can stream it on my big screen using the PS3 app. Until then, other means will suffice.

Pilky01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-20-2013, 05:27 PM
  #228
dubplatepressure
Registered User
 
dubplatepressure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9,152
vCash: 500
Wanted to update those of you who were following this thread... After receiving no response from their email support channel I called again (trying to resolve the issue of the registration message saying it already had my email address as an active account, for which it clearly did not).

Funny thing, so in talking to a 2nd tech support rep tonight, he advised that if I was trying to register with an all-numerical user name I needed to have at least 1 letter in the user name. Although the error message says the *email address* is already in use, the error was originating from this.

Anyway, I was able to register after adding a letter into my proposed user name. Seems so stupid in hindsight. I'm now watching, live, Calgary / San Jose. I haven't applied the unblockus DNS yet, but the quality is A+. The 3000kbps connection is quite, quite good and the framerate is very good.

Also, GCL support said the PS3 app will be up on or before the 1st, Feb.

dubplatepressure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-20-2013, 05:29 PM
  #229
Phion Keneuf
Bang Bang
 
Phion Keneuf's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Vaughan, Ontario
Country: Italy
Posts: 29,410
vCash: 500
Channel 455 on Rogers for Flames game now

Phion Keneuf is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-20-2013, 07:47 PM
  #230
Donmega
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Country: Canada
Posts: 1,566
vCash: 500
Just watched some of the calgary game on the xbox app and it worked fine. What I am confused with is that there was no pregame or the content between periods? I thought this was supposed to be included in game center.

Donmega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-20-2013, 08:10 PM
  #231
CBinTokyo
Registered User
 
CBinTokyo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Tokyo
Country: Canada
Posts: 848
vCash: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donmega View Post
Just watched some of the calgary game on the xbox app and it worked fine. What I am confused with is that there was no pregame or the content between periods? I thought this was supposed to be included in game center.
On some feeds you get them, and on some you don't. I have no idea why that is.


Last edited by CBinTokyo: 01-20-2013 at 08:10 PM. Reason: typo
CBinTokyo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-20-2013, 08:56 PM
  #232
Donmega
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Country: Canada
Posts: 1,566
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by CBinTokyo View Post
On some feeds you get them, and on some you don't. I have no idea why that is.
Hopefully the leafs have them. Wonder what it depends on. Watching the Edmonton / Vancouver feeds now and they also don't have it.

Donmega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2013, 12:14 PM
  #233
dubplatepressure
Registered User
 
dubplatepressure's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 9,152
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by CBinTokyo View Post
On some feeds you get them, and on some you don't. I have no idea why that is.
I guess for some they receive the broadcast feed and other they get raw. Which they get, and when, I have no idea.

Gotta say I was pretty impressed with the service, although the PIP / dual screen thing I couldn't get to work. That could just be a product of Firefox flash support though.. I'm not that web techy.

dubplatepressure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2013, 01:04 PM
  #234
Ruski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 860
vCash: 500
I watched the Leafs vs Habs on Gamecenter Live on Saturday night.

There was no commercials or content between periods. I have a feeling that has to do with broadcast rights for advertisers and the cable channels showing the games.

I live here in Toronto, so have to use UnoDns or unblock-us to get around the regional blackouts. Works like a charm though!

Ruski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2013, 01:13 PM
  #235
mt99808
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 220
vCash: 500
To people saying the quality is great are you actually streaming it to your TV or watching on a laptop or ipad? I find that the quality is fine on my ipad and laptop but when I play it on my TV with my Roku it is terrible. Well not terrible but somewhere between SD and what Bell calls HD which really isn't HD. It is fine during whistles and whatnot when the play isn't moving fast but the game action is brutal.

mt99808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2013, 01:37 PM
  #236
Keeping it Blue
Registered User
 
Keeping it Blue's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Country: Canada
Posts: 695
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by mt99808 View Post
To people saying the quality is great are you actually streaming it to your TV or watching on a laptop or ipad? I find that the quality is fine on my ipad and laptop but when I play it on my TV with my Roku it is terrible. Well not terrible but somewhere between SD and what Bell calls HD which really isn't HD. It is fine during whistles and whatnot when the play isn't moving fast but the game action is brutal.
Looks fine on my TV. There are times the quality drops drastically for a minute, but it does come back.

Keeping it Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2013, 01:47 PM
  #237
Ruski
Registered User
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 860
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by mt99808 View Post
To people saying the quality is great are you actually streaming it to your TV or watching on a laptop or ipad? I find that the quality is fine on my ipad and laptop but when I play it on my TV with my Roku it is terrible. Well not terrible but somewhere between SD and what Bell calls HD which really isn't HD. It is fine during whistles and whatnot when the play isn't moving fast but the game action is brutal.
It really depends on your internet connection and the box you are streaming it from.

I am streaming to my TV using the XBMC plug-in for Gamecenter on my HTPC and it works great.

The quality will also depend on the setting you have set in the application you are using. You can set the bitrate to "auto", which will negotiate a bitrate based on what it thinks your internet connection and handle OR you can choose between several setting up to "3000 kbps".

3000kbps is approximately 720p, so if your connection is fast enough and the hardware you are using to stream it has no problem processing that video, then you should be able to watch buffer-free and stutter-free 720p video.

Leafs vs. Habs on saturday night didn't stutter or buffer at all for me. Oilers vs. Canucks last night had 4-5 buffering pauses but not a big deal.

Ruski is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2013, 02:00 PM
  #238
paulster2626
Registered User
 
paulster2626's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Country: Canada
Posts: 2,428
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by mt99808 View Post
To people saying the quality is great are you actually streaming it to your TV or watching on a laptop or ipad? I find that the quality is fine on my ipad and laptop but when I play it on my TV with my Roku it is terrible. Well not terrible but somewhere between SD and what Bell calls HD which really isn't HD. It is fine during whistles and whatnot when the play isn't moving fast but the game action is brutal.
Apple TV to a sony 46" LCD gave me better quality than COgeco cable last night.

It actually convinced me to just buy another ATV for the basement and screw the PS3 method.

paulster2626 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2013, 02:01 PM
  #239
William Hylander
There can be only 1
 
William Hylander's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Country: Canada
Posts: 2,296
vCash: 431
So I have everything set up and i go to pay through paypal and this **** happens

Quote:
'ERROR - Code=500'
Go **** yourself NHL.com

William Hylander is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2013, 02:04 PM
  #240
Bomber0104
One of These Days
 
Bomber0104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Country: Canada
Posts: 9,072
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by paulster2626 View Post
The PS3 was the main thing for me - if that's not working then I'm cancelling this and going back to cable TV for a few months. So stupid...

The loser at the Cogeco store said "you'll be back" when I cancelled my TV services. So mad that he turned out to be right.

Jeezus it's 2013 FFS, we can't even get off of stupid cable???
NHL Center Ice is free for the rest of the month so that should be able to bridge you over until the PS3 app gets patched up.

Bomber0104 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2013, 02:26 PM
  #241
GordieHoweHatTrick
Registered User
 
GordieHoweHatTrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 15,448
vCash: 126
Can I get around local blackouts if I tether the internet for my Iphone?

GordieHoweHatTrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2013, 02:31 PM
  #242
Bomber0104
One of These Days
 
Bomber0104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Country: Canada
Posts: 9,072
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by GordieHoweHatTrick View Post
Can I get around local blackouts if I tether the internet for my Iphone?
They track IP's.

What you need to do is jailbreak and then spoof your location since NHL blacks out based on GPS location.

Apparently I'm in Thailand watching the Bruins game now!

Bomber0104 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2013, 02:36 PM
  #243
Penalty Kill Icing*
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto
Country: Canada
Posts: 12,957
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by GordieHoweHatTrick View Post
Can I get around local blackouts if I tether the internet for my Iphone?
On mobile device, they track by your geo location, not IP. If there is a way in iPhone to spoof location, that should work.

Source: I have android phone. NHL GCL works for all games when I install a location spoofer app indicating I am in asia. (Not sure if they need iPhone to be jailbroken or something, but no such thing needed in android).

Penalty Kill Icing* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2013, 02:47 PM
  #244
GordieHoweHatTrick
Registered User
 
GordieHoweHatTrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Toronto
Posts: 15,448
vCash: 126
Thanks for the response guys, I'll look into it

GordieHoweHatTrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2013, 02:50 PM
  #245
Bomber0104
One of These Days
 
Bomber0104's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Country: Canada
Posts: 9,072
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Penalty Kill Icing View Post
On mobile device, they track by your geo location, not IP. If there is a way in iPhone to spoof location, that should work.

Source: I have android phone. NHL GCL works for all games when I install a location spoofer app indicating I am in asia. (Not sure if they need iPhone to be jailbroken or something, but no such thing needed in android).
There is a way with nearly all Apple devices...just requires the device to be jailbroken..which with some devices with certain operating systems isn't possible.

In Cydia the tweak is called Location Spoofer.

Bomber0104 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2013, 02:58 PM
  #246
cujoflutie
Registered User
 
cujoflutie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: kitchener, Ontario
Country: Canada
Posts: 2,193
vCash: 500
Send a message via ICQ to cujoflutie Send a message via Yahoo to cujoflutie
I'm thinking the lack of ads/intermission is a rights issue. The NFL does the same thing with their streams, it either says 'we'll be right back' or they put their own ads on it. Likely either not having the authority to broadcast other ads or not wanting to give away free advertisements.

Just checked and it's still 'updating' on the PS3. I'm pretty mad actually, shouldn't playstation and the NHL have been ready to go back in October since the work stoppage was up in the air?

cujoflutie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2013, 03:02 PM
  #247
mt99808
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 220
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ruski View Post
It really depends on your internet connection and the box you are streaming it from.

I am streaming to my TV using the XBMC plug-in for Gamecenter on my HTPC and it works great.

The quality will also depend on the setting you have set in the application you are using. You can set the bitrate to "auto", which will negotiate a bitrate based on what it thinks your internet connection and handle OR you can choose between several setting up to "3000 kbps".

3000kbps is approximately 720p, so if your connection is fast enough and the hardware you are using to stream it has no problem processing that video, then you should be able to watch buffer-free and stutter-free 720p video.

Leafs vs. Habs on saturday night didn't stutter or buffer at all for me. Oilers vs. Canucks last night had 4-5 buffering pauses but not a big deal.
My internet connection is fine ... i regularly get 12-15 mbps downstream. I'm on a hard wired connection so no issues there. There is no stuttering or buffering, the picture just isn't crisp and when there's motion you get some blurring.

I had mlb.tv the past 2 years and I would agree it was better than my HD on Bell. The difference with baseball is there is no quick motions.

I love having the internet service because it allows me to watch the leafs game on TV and then flip through all the other games on my ipad but on nights when the Leafs aren't playing and i want to watch on my TV I don't think the quality is acceptable.

mt99808 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2013, 03:23 PM
  #248
Donmega
Registered User
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Toronto
Country: Canada
Posts: 1,566
vCash: 500
I added the unblock us trial today but it seems I cannot access the win vs bos and nyi vs tb on xbox 360? is this because the dns location is where blackouts occur for those games?

Donmega is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2013, 03:26 PM
  #249
wilson1379
Registered User
 
wilson1379's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Canada
Country: Canada
Posts: 29
vCash: 500
I bought it last night and I'm already pleased with it.

Blackouts? Isn't the point of this to not experience black outs?

I was able to stream it on my laptop fine for every game last night, had Calgary vs. San Jose on my Xbox 360 working fine as well.

wilson1379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
01-21-2013, 03:27 PM
  #250
Kirkpatrick
Registered User
 
Kirkpatrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Ottawa
Country: Canada
Posts: 692
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Donmega View Post
I added the unblock us trial today but it seems I cannot access the win vs bos and nyi vs tb on xbox 360? is this because the dns location is where blackouts occur for those games?
Probably. Try going to this page and select a different location: http://www.unblock-us.com/how-to-set-up/

Edit: Or, they have this posted: http://support.unblock-us.com/custom...hout-blackouts

Quote:
If you see blackouts on any of the devices that we support, please restart your devices and router then go to our website and click "Check Service" and do the following dependant on device.

- Via Browser - please restart your browser & clear your cache

Kirkpatrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:47 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2016, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2016 All Rights Reserved.