HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > General Hockey Discussion > National Hockey League Talk
National Hockey League Talk Discuss NHL players, teams, games, and the Stanley Cup Playoffs.

2012-13 NHL Center Ice/Gamecenter Discussion Part II

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old
01-17-2013, 05:40 PM
  #176
HavlatMach9
Registered User
 
HavlatMach9's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Ottawa
Country: Canada
Posts: 7,467
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Shrimper View Post
Premier Sports bought the rights to show 15 games a week. Those 15 games a week will be blacked out.
Yikes. Probably 15 of the best games too. Luckily it's been easy so far to fake your location, otherwise I'd be furious. Seems like the NHL isn't interested in growing the sport there, just receiving a paycheck from Premier Sports.
Quote:
Originally Posted by drunksuperhero View Post
but then likely have to buckle down and find the best moderately priced proxy or VPN.
If you are watching through the website, I wouldn't worry about price and if you prefer not to pay, you can make do with free vpn (probably) and hotspot shield. Turn on your favorite solution, open your game, then immediately turn off your solution, then it uses your own bandwith/connection.

HavlatMach9 is offline  
Old
01-17-2013, 05:42 PM
  #177
PeterAngelo
Registered User
 
PeterAngelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Country: Australia
Posts: 1,887
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Portable Mink View Post
If theres any Aussies out there, GameCentre works perfectly fine here.
Im assuming its the same for all non-North American countries.

Get all game, all playoffs, all the time.


and questions hit me up.
Available on iPad, iPhone, Apple TV. not sure about xbox? havnt had to look. not sure about ps3 either. also obviously available through web browser.
Well not for those in the UK apparently...they might be blacked out of the playoffs (from reading this thread at least)...

...but yeah you are right as far as we are concerned.

PeterAngelo is offline  
Old
01-17-2013, 05:43 PM
  #178
Shrimper
Trick or ruddy treat
 
Shrimper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Essex
Country: United Kingdom
Posts: 67,673
vCash: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by HavlatMach9 View Post
Yikes. Probably 15 of the best games too. Luckily it's been easy so far to fake your location, otherwise I'd be furious. Seems like the NHL isn't interested in growing the sport there, just receiving a paycheck from Premier Sports.
I just don't get why they want to do that. How many people do they think will come from GCL to Premier Sports?

Very few.

Shrimper is offline  
Old
01-17-2013, 06:21 PM
  #179
Portable Mink
Go Walker!
 
Portable Mink's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Country: Australia
Posts: 4,373
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by AusPredsfan View Post
Well not for those in the UK apparently...they might be blacked out of the playoffs (from reading this thread at least)...

...but yeah you are right as far as we are concerned.
yeah just saw that... very unlucky.
heres hoping my years of wishing foxtel would televise more games does NOT come true!

Portable Mink is offline  
Old
01-17-2013, 06:26 PM
  #180
PeterAngelo
Registered User
 
PeterAngelo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Country: Australia
Posts: 1,887
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Portable Mink View Post
yeah just saw that... very unlucky.
heres hoping my years of wishing foxtel would televise more games does NOT come true!
hear that!

PeterAngelo is offline  
Old
01-17-2013, 06:30 PM
  #181
Penalty Kill Icing*
Fire Carlyle
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto
Country: Canada
Posts: 12,972
vCash: 140
I am waiting for Xbox app to come out before I purchase GCL, and once I do, I'll let other people know if DNS / VPN options are working.

Penalty Kill Icing* is offline  
Old
01-17-2013, 06:55 PM
  #182
DevilsFan1973
Registered User
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Ottawa, Canada
Country: Canada
Posts: 467
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by dnlfrncs View Post
I just got a twitter reply from Rogers, it is available, I wouldn't get off the phone till they give it to you.

https://twitter.com/rogers_chris/sta...92742299590656
Thanks. Will give them a call tomorrow. Don't have 30-60 mins to waste tonight on the phone with them!

DevilsFan1973 is offline  
Old
01-17-2013, 07:15 PM
  #183
StoneColdFlower*
El Sid
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Country: Canada
Posts: 539
vCash: 500
For the past month, I've been using the VPN provider Private Internet Access for a number of purposes, including anonymous torrenting and getting around Internet geoblocking. I put a custom firmware called Tomato Shibby on my Cisco E2500 router that allows me to put my entire LAN (including PC, Android smartphone, iPod Touch, XBox 360, and Apple TV) behind my VPN and switch it on and off by clicking a couple of buttons in my router configuration. I get between 6 an 8 megabits per second (as opposed to 20 I get when I'm not behind the VPN). It costs $6/month or $40/year.

StoneColdFlower* is offline  
Old
01-17-2013, 07:16 PM
  #184
TheStranger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Country: Canada
Posts: 14,996
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Penalty Kill Icing View Post
I am waiting for Xbox app to come out before I purchase GCL, and once I do, I'll let other people know if DNS / VPN options are working.
How do they work for xbox? Could you give me a run down?

TheStranger is offline  
Old
01-17-2013, 07:24 PM
  #185
Bean in Charge
Registered User
 
Bean in Charge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Vancouver, BC
Country: Canada
Posts: 823
vCash: 500
For anyone in Ontario ordering through Rogers - I just called in, asked about Centre Ice, and didn't even have to start quoting sources to get the one-time fee of $50. The service rep straight up said that was the cost.

So anyone who's getting talked into having to buy the super sports package, or pay $200...it's flat out false.

I was actually surprised how easy it was haha.

Bean in Charge is offline  
Old
01-17-2013, 07:24 PM
  #186
PredaDORES
**** you Dale Tallon
 
PredaDORES's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Brooklyn, NY
Country: United States
Posts: 1,894
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheStranger View Post
How do they work for xbox? Could you give me a run down?
Similar to this:

Quote:
Originally Posted by PenguinPower420 View Post
For the past month, I've been using the VPN provider Private Internet Access for a number of purposes, including anonymous torrenting and getting around Internet geoblocking. I put a custom firmware called Tomato Shibby on my Cisco E2500 router that allows me to put my entire LAN (including PC, Android smartphone, iPod Touch, XBox 360, and Apple TV) behind my VPN and switch it on and off by clicking a couple of buttons in my router configuration. I get between 6 an 8 megabits per second (as opposed to 20 I get when I'm not behind the VPN). It costs $6/month or $40/year.

PredaDORES is offline  
Old
01-17-2013, 07:25 PM
  #187
TheStranger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Country: Canada
Posts: 14,996
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by PredaDORES View Post
Similar to this:
So I have to put one on my network through my router?

I can't even get my pos router to work right half the time as it is, so I don't think I'll be doing that. Maybe by seasons end when I'll need one to catch the playoffs. I'll get a spiffy new router and then give this a shot.

TheStranger is offline  
Old
01-17-2013, 07:28 PM
  #188
The Kingslayer
Registered User
 
The Kingslayer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Yuck horse piss!
Country: Cambodia
Posts: 21,659
vCash: 291
$42 for me from Shaw since i got Shaw Friends haha auto 20% savings haha

The Kingslayer is offline  
Old
01-17-2013, 07:28 PM
  #189
Penalty Kill Icing*
Fire Carlyle
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto
Country: Canada
Posts: 12,972
vCash: 140
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheStranger View Post
So I have to put one on my network through my router?

I can't even get my pos router to work right half the time as it is, so I don't think I'll be doing that. Maybe by seasons end when I'll need one to catch the playoffs. I'll get a spiffy new router and then give this a shot.
Xbox allows you to change DNS in system settings -> network (I think). That way, you can use Un-blockus (paid) Or tunlr.net (free) to watch local games.

However, no one knows how good the xbox app is or the video quality there, because they'll be launching it for the first time.

Penalty Kill Icing* is offline  
Old
01-17-2013, 07:30 PM
  #190
StoneColdFlower*
El Sid
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Country: Canada
Posts: 539
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheStranger View Post
So I have to put one on my network through my router?

I can't even get my pos router to work right half the time as it is, so I don't think I'll be doing that. Maybe by seasons end when I'll need one to catch the playoffs. I'll get a spiffy new router and then give this a shot.
Make sure it's compatible with a variant of either Tomato or DD-WRT. They are custom firmwares that allow you to configure VPN settings from your router and put to put your entire LAN behind your VPN. Most regular firmwares do not have this option.

And be careful using Tomato Shibby. It's one of the better forks of Tomato, but it's by a Polish guy. I didn't read the file name properly and ended up with router configuration options in Polish I'm fluent in English and French and could have made do with another Romance language, but I'm lost when it comes to Slavic languages and figuring out how to get the English firmware on there was quite problematic.

StoneColdFlower* is offline  
Old
01-17-2013, 07:44 PM
  #191
ozflames
Rookie User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 3
vCash: 500
I think here in australia we can get the smart tv app as well. i only noticed it a couple of months ago but the 2012 GC app was definitely on mine (samsung). anyone else confirm?

ozflames is offline  
Old
01-17-2013, 07:46 PM
  #192
StoneColdFlower*
El Sid
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Country: Canada
Posts: 539
vCash: 500
Trying to sign up in Canada and getting "Invalid Return Code Error 500".

Congratulations. You incompetent turds have just lost my business. Between the auto-renewal and this crap, there's no excuse.

StoneColdFlower* is offline  
Old
01-17-2013, 08:47 PM
  #193
TheStranger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Country: Canada
Posts: 14,996
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by PenguinPower420 View Post
Trying to sign up in Canada and getting "Invalid Return Code Error 500".

Congratulations. You incompetent turds have just lost my business. Between the auto-renewal and this crap, there's no excuse.
Try sending their support an email? They replied to mine within 2 hours.

TheStranger is offline  
Old
01-17-2013, 08:58 PM
  #194
TheStranger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Country: Canada
Posts: 14,996
vCash: 500
For those of you that have been waiting...

XBOX APP IS NOW ON THE MARKETPLACE

TheStranger is offline  
Old
01-17-2013, 09:01 PM
  #195
ViD
Arty vs Nash 22:25
 
ViD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Blue Jackets Area
Country: Russian Federation
Posts: 6,042
vCash: 520
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheStranger View Post
For those of you that have been waiting...

XBOX APP IS NOW ON THE MARKETPLACE
how about PS3..

ViD is offline  
Old
01-17-2013, 09:07 PM
  #196
TheStranger
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Ottawa, Ontario
Country: Canada
Posts: 14,996
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by ViD View Post
how about PS3..
Wouldn't know since i don't own one, but earlier I posted what NHL's support told me which was "before february 1st"

TheStranger is offline  
Old
01-17-2013, 09:10 PM
  #197
Sergei Berezin
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Ottawa, ON
Posts: 6,011
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheStranger View Post
For those of you that have been waiting...

XBOX APP IS NOW ON THE MARKETPLACE
Came here checking for this!


Yahoo!!!!


:dance:

Sergei Berezin is offline  
Old
01-17-2013, 09:10 PM
  #198
G51 K81*
 
Join Date: May 2012
Posts: 1,556
vCash: 500
CI vs GCL... what's better?

And is it confirmed Rogers is offering CI?


Last edited by G51 K81*: 01-17-2013 at 09:20 PM.
G51 K81* is offline  
Old
01-17-2013, 09:16 PM
  #199
IlliniOne82
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 18
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by TheStranger View Post
For those of you that have been waiting...

XBOX APP IS NOW ON THE MARKETPLACE
Am I the only one not seeing it on there?

IlliniOne82 is offline  
Old
01-17-2013, 09:18 PM
  #200
IlliniOne82
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Chicago
Posts: 18
vCash: 500
Never mind. I restarted my XBox and there it is.

IlliniOne82 is offline  
Closed Thread

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:37 AM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2014 All Rights Reserved.