HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > NHL Western Conference > Central Division > Winnipeg Jets
Notices

Last Nights Game. Shots On Goal?

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
02-06-2013, 11:32 AM
  #1
Arcticcat
Rookie User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 21
vCash: 500
Last Nights Game. Shots On Goal?

I was at the game last night and the shots on goal in the first on the scoreboard must of been done by a kid.

First question.... Is a shot that hits the post or crossbar not considered a shot on goal?
If so, it wasn't counted.

Secondly, they put shots up on the score board, then took them off? There was more than 3 shots on goal for the jets in the first, in last nights game.

Arcticcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-06-2013, 11:38 AM
  #2
Back in the Bigs
and lovin' it !!
 
Back in the Bigs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 386
vCash: 500
shots that hit the crossbar or post are not called shots on goal..... according to NHL , Jets only had 3 shots in first and 2 in third....

Back in the Bigs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-06-2013, 11:44 AM
  #3
Arcticcat
Rookie User
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Posts: 21
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back in the Bigs View Post
shots that hit the crossbar or post are not called shots on goal..... according to NHL , Jets only had 3 shots in first and 2 in third....
Good to know! Thanks, I don't know how much closer you can get to scoring when you hit the post, but the NHL knows best lol.

Arcticcat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-06-2013, 11:48 AM
  #4
The Brain
Registered User
 
The Brain's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Country: Canada
Posts: 115
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Back in the Bigs View Post
shots that hit the crossbar or post are not called shots on goal..... according to NHL , Jets only had 3 shots in first and 2 in third....
Question, then...
If the puck is going towards the net but outside the posts, and the goalie makes a play (whether by gloving it or deflecting it) is it considered a save and therefore a shot?

The Brain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-06-2013, 11:55 AM
  #5
wpgsilver
HFBoards Sponsor
 
wpgsilver's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Winnipeg
Country: Canada
Posts: 7,120
vCash: 580
A shot on goal has to have the potential to go in.
So if the goalie doesn't touch it and it hits the post and doesn't go in, it didn't have the potential to be a goal.

wpgsilver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-06-2013, 11:59 AM
  #6
allan5oh
#Dive4Five #31Buyout
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 6,332
vCash: 50
It was a very defensive game with both teams dumping it in then plugging up the neutral zone. There was very little forechecking. Combine that with quite a few crossbar/post hits and lots of deflections/blocked/missed shots and you have a low shot count.

allan5oh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
02-06-2013, 12:03 PM
  #7
cbcwpg
Registered User
 
cbcwpg's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Between the Pipes
Country: United Nations
Posts: 5,824
vCash: 350
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Brain View Post
Question, then...
If the puck is going towards the net but outside the posts, and the goalie makes a play (whether by gloving it or deflecting it) is it considered a save and therefore a shot?
In this case the statistician has to make the judgment call as to whether or not the puck would have gone in, had the goaltender not touched it.

So no, it is not a shot nor a save.

cbcwpg is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:47 AM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2014 All Rights Reserved.