HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Non-Sports > The Lounge
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
The Lounge "...Where the parking lot of the Igloo meets the concourse of the Nassau County Coliseum and the bathroom line of the Skyreach..." - Wickedbsfan

Do you have a land telephone line?

View Poll Results: Does your place of residence have a land telephone line?
Yes 56 50.45%
No 55 49.55%
Voters: 111. You may not vote on this poll

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
03-31-2013, 03:06 PM
  #26
seafoam
Do The Panic
 
seafoam's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 39,667
vCash: 50
Skype is indeed free.

seafoam is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
03-31-2013, 03:24 PM
  #27
Big McLargehuge
Global Moderator
Bitter Buffalo
 
Big McLargehuge's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Los Angeles
Country: Iceland
Posts: 58,680
vCash: 50
I haven't had one since I was 18 and living at home.

__________________
“The most terrifying fact about the universe is not that it is hostile, but that it is indifferent. If we can come to terms with this indifference and accept the challenges of life within the boundaries of death, our existence as a species can have genuine meaning and fulfillment. However vast the darkness, we must supply our own light.” - Stanley Kubrick
Big McLargehuge is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
03-31-2013, 03:35 PM
  #28
kducks
Duck Off
 
kducks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: OC
Country: United States
Posts: 23,569
vCash: 50
Quote:
Originally Posted by ChiGuySez View Post
Skype is free.
Have you tried explaining skype to people who don't understand computers? Phones are easier.

kducks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
03-31-2013, 03:38 PM
  #29
jimmythescot
Registered User
 
jimmythescot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Edinburgh, Scotland
Country: Canada
Posts: 4,473
vCash: 500
Over here they have package deals for satellite tv/cable tv, internet and land line telephones that mean it's cheaper if you get a landline than if you just get the tv/internet on their own.

So yeah, we have one.

jimmythescot is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
03-31-2013, 03:47 PM
  #30
Timzey
Registered User
 
Timzey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,268
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by ixcuincle View Post
Yes. And all we get are telemarketers and faxes. Stupid

Never pick it up
this.... minus the faxes.... i don't even check the messages on the answering machine.... wife and I literally just decided to cancel it.... thanks OP.... we have vonage for $17 a month x 12 months = $204 a year, im gonna go buy some booze and celebrate.

Timzey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
03-31-2013, 04:34 PM
  #31
iamjs
Unregistered User
 
iamjs's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Country: United States
Posts: 9,791
vCash: 500
No. I'm supposed to have a VOIP phone bundled with my FIOS, but have blown me off for the better part of the year. I called to complain and they knocked $10 off my bill for a year and gave me a free pay channel. I opted for ESPN 3D, which ended up being a waste. I can only watch the 2012 X Games so many times.

iamjs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
03-31-2013, 04:38 PM
  #32
Stanley Foobrick
Clockwork Blue
 
Stanley Foobrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fooville, Ontario
Country: Canada
Posts: 13,958
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Timzey View Post
this.... minus the faxes.... i don't even check the messages on the answering machine.... wife and I literally just decided to cancel it.... thanks OP.... we have vonage for $17 a month x 12 months = $204 a year, im gonna go buy some booze and celebrate.
Wouldn't vonage still be considered a land line though.

Stanley Foobrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
03-31-2013, 09:14 PM
  #33
Long Duk Dong
Sammich King
 
Long Duk Dong's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Beaver Falls, PA
Country: Ukraine
Posts: 3,186
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue'sClues View Post
Wouldn't vonage still be considered a land line though.
No, cause its over the Internet. It's a hassle here, because the cable Internet is flaky. If it goes down, so does the phone.

I have a landline with an old corded phone for emergencies, power outages, etc. I just have the absolute bottom level service for it.

Long Duk Dong is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
03-31-2013, 09:28 PM
  #34
Diskothek
Registered User
 
Diskothek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Country: United States
Posts: 2,762
vCash: 500
Nope, no need for it.

Diskothek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
03-31-2013, 09:46 PM
  #35
CanadianHockey
Smith - Alfie
 
CanadianHockey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Petawawa
Country: Canada
Posts: 29,274
vCash: 50
Nope. My parents do at their house, though.

__________________
CanadianHockey________ __ __________Sens, Oilers, and Team Canada
CanadianHockey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
03-31-2013, 10:08 PM
  #36
Modo
Mo'Benn
 
Modo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Etobicoke
Country: Canada
Posts: 45,349
vCash: 50
A landline?



No, my house doesn't have a landline.

__________________
If you're telekinetic and you know it, clap my hands!
Modo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
03-31-2013, 10:11 PM
  #37
Brodie
Jeux Sans Frontières
 
Brodie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Michigan
Country: United Kingdom
Posts: 13,565
vCash: 500
Why on earth would anyone voluntarily pay less than $80 for phone service? What is this, the stone age?!?!

Brodie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-01-2013, 05:23 AM
  #38
VanCanucks14
Registered User
 
VanCanucks14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Calgary
Country: Canada
Posts: 3,885
vCash: 500
Yes. Funny I never even realized how it's fading out until this thread. I never even use my landline though so I don't know why we still have one.

VanCanucks14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-01-2013, 05:45 AM
  #39
Dooney
Love me some Carter!
 
Dooney's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Sunny So Cal.
Country: United States
Posts: 10,125
vCash: 500
Yes, but it only came with my package deal for cable. Phone, internet and cable. And I only use it for out going calls since I telecommute from from from. My work forwards all my work calls to a verizon cell phone and sometimes the reception is not that good.

Dooney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-01-2013, 08:52 AM
  #40
MartyOwns
NYRB!!!2013********33333
 
MartyOwns's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Country: United States
Posts: 10,475
vCash: 500
yep, cuz its cheaper to bundle them. we have the ringer turned off, the only people who ever call it are people looking for the last tenant, and im sure as hell not paying $9/month to be that guys secretary.

MartyOwns is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-01-2013, 09:19 AM
  #41
abe jr
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Posts: 2,336
vCash: 574
yes but i let every call go to the answering machine.

abe jr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-01-2013, 10:21 AM
  #42
tony d
Ruffles in Space
 
tony d's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Behind A Tree
Country: Canada
Posts: 41,434
vCash: 500
We still do but we're given serious consideration to getting rid of it.

__________________
tony d is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
04-01-2013, 05:09 PM
  #43
Stanley Foobrick
Clockwork Blue
 
Stanley Foobrick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Fooville, Ontario
Country: Canada
Posts: 13,958
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Long Duk Dong View Post
No, cause its over the Internet. It's a hassle here, because the cable Internet is flaky. If it goes down, so does the phone.

I have a landline with an old corded phone for emergencies, power outages, etc. I just have the absolute bottom level service for it.
Yeah, I know it's over the internet just like the phone in my cogeco cable package is. But seeing it uses the same phones and outlets my former Bell service did I thought that was still considered a land line.

Stanley Foobrick is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-01-2013, 06:11 PM
  #44
Vip
In the clouds
 
Vip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Country: Mexico
Posts: 14,077
vCash: 500
Have not had a land line for about 4 years.

Vip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-01-2013, 06:12 PM
  #45
Vip
In the clouds
 
Vip's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Country: Mexico
Posts: 14,077
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by seafoam View Post
Skype is indeed free.
Skype = overrated.

Vip is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-01-2013, 08:33 PM
  #46
Timzey
Registered User
 
Timzey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Northern California
Posts: 1,268
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blue'sClues View Post
Wouldn't vonage still be considered a land line though.
i consider it my land line... but it relies on the internet and power, so unlike a regular landline that works in a power outage, it wont... which basically makes it worse then a land line... either way, we never use it... and we are canceling it.

Timzey is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-02-2013, 09:38 AM
  #47
stingo
Registered User
 
stingo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Nova Scotia
Country: Canada
Posts: 5,402
vCash: 50
Yes.

stingo is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
04-02-2013, 09:53 AM
  #48
Hampe
The Hampster
 
Hampe's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Charleston, S.C.
Country: United States
Posts: 6,472
vCash: 500
My granddad still has one. I swear every time I go up there he gets five or ten calls from telemarketers.

Hampe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-02-2013, 10:14 AM
  #49
Penalty Kill Icing*
Fire Carlyle
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Toronto
Country: Canada
Posts: 12,972
vCash: 500
If you count Vonage, then yes.

Need it for international calling. Not getting rid of it anytime soon. Just got a Panasonic instrument this past weekend as well.

Penalty Kill Icing* is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-02-2013, 01:47 PM
  #50
Tuggy
Registered User
 
Tuggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Saint John
Country: Canada
Posts: 30,832
vCash: 1484
Yes.

I don't want work, banks or any other establishments that need a phone number to have my cell number.

Tuggy is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:50 AM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. ©2015 All Rights Reserved.