HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > Non-Sports > Geek Emporium
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Geek Emporium Discuss computers, hardware, software, electronics, video games, internet, etc.

how to get to desktop quickly on windows 8

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
04-17-2013, 05:17 PM
  #1
yada
move 2 dallas 4 work
 
yada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: watching happy pony
Country: United States
Posts: 10,489
vCash: 500
Send a message via Yahoo to yada
how to get to desktop quickly on windows 8

.

i was wondering how you get this same function on windows 8 as you do on previous windows versions. on windows 8 show desktop has a different meaning and brings up either your tiles or your screeen that looks like old windows. i miss having the minimize all windows function as im having to minimize all windows manually and its annoying as hell. help would be appreciated.

yada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-17-2013, 05:37 PM
  #2
DennisReynolds
the implication
 
DennisReynolds's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 5,124
vCash: 500


Click that space with red square that I highlighted and you'll be able to go to your desktop

DennisReynolds is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-17-2013, 05:43 PM
  #3
Diskothek
Registered User
 
Diskothek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Country: United States
Posts: 2,762
vCash: 500
Windows key + D

Diskothek is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-17-2013, 06:53 PM
  #4
yada
move 2 dallas 4 work
 
yada's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: watching happy pony
Country: United States
Posts: 10,489
vCash: 500
Send a message via Yahoo to yada
Quote:
Originally Posted by DennisReynolds View Post


Click that space with red square that I highlighted and you'll be able to go to your desktop
you are my freaking hero

yada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-17-2013, 07:16 PM
  #5
invictus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 16,389
vCash: 500
I downloaded an add-on thing that just starts me on the regular desktop and another that added a start menu. So that is also an option!

invictus is online now   Reply With Quote
Old
04-18-2013, 12:06 AM
  #6
7150
Lockout Season
 
7150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,511
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Diskothek View Post
Windows key + D
This. If you're going to use 8 with a mouse and keyboard, keyboard shortcuts will make your life much easier.

7150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-18-2013, 12:09 AM
  #7
Orpheus
Valar Morgulis
 
Orpheus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Montreal, Canada
Country: Canada
Posts: 1,637
vCash: 500
Apparently in the new windows blue update thing they might allow boot to desktop/start menu return/stuff like an older version of windows. Really hope they do, I'd actually love windows 8 after that.

Orpheus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-18-2013, 12:15 AM
  #8
Beef Invictus
Global Moderator
FAT SLOB
 
Beef Invictus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Centreville
Country: Lord Howe Island
Posts: 47,106
vCash: 500
I moved my Desktop tile to the first position (in the top left), all I have to do is hit enter.

__________________
Down in the basement, I've got a Craftsman lathe. Show it to the children when they misbehave.
Beef Invictus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-18-2013, 12:34 AM
  #9
7150
Lockout Season
 
7150's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 2,511
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Orpheus View Post
Apparently in the new windows blue update thing they might allow boot to desktop/start menu return/stuff like an older version of windows. Really hope they do, I'd actually love windows 8 after that.
The big thing they need to fix is the charms bar. The charms bar is fantastic on a touch device... but trying to use it on a standard desktop is torture.

7150 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:34 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2015 All Rights Reserved.