In a final of a tournament this weekend. U14's level. 2 players were given 5 + 1 penalties in the last minute of OT. The refs then said they were not allowed to take any of the shots. Is this the right or wrong call?
depends on the rules for the tournament. In the NHL, players are allowed to participate in the shootout providing they have not been ejected from the game, in tournaments though some have rules that penalized players can not take shots.
In most of the leagues I'm familiar with, if you're in the penalty box when time expires, you're not allowed to shoot in the shootout. Its a way of making taking a penalty at the end of the game actually mean something.