Go Back   HFBoards > General Hockey Discussion > The History of Hockey
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie

The History of Hockey Relive great moments in hockey history and discuss how the game has changed over time.

PCHA Rules for 1913-14

Thread Tools
12-22-2016, 02:14 PM
James Laverance
Registered User
James Laverance's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2013
Posts: 367
vCash: 500
PCHA Rules for 1913-14

This season marked the introduction of the blue lines used in today's official ice hockey rinks. The league sub-divided the rink into three zones of 67 feet (20 m), allowing forward passing in the centre zone. This change was at the instigation of the Patrick brothers.The league also started awarding assists for players helping to set up a goal, allowing substitution at any time, banning players from within 5 feet (1.5 m) of a faceoff, having separate dressing rooms for the officials, allowing the kicking of the puck except to score and added a goal line between the posts of the goal net.

I find this rather interesting because it Pre-dates the NHL Rules for 1918-19 which were mostly the same as these.
It must have been nice to see a NHL Final in those days.Having alternating rules per each game.Like the World Series of Baseball is played nowadays.Under the NHA/NHL rules they would have had no bluelines or forward passing allowed verses having bluelines, offsides,forward passing under the PCHA rules from 1914-18.From 1914-22 the rover position,which was still in use in the PCHA,would have been applied to the Western rule games whereas taken out in the Eastern rule games.
All of these finals were played out of one arena (East or West) alternating year to year.

Here's the list of the series and winners.

1914 The Toronto Blueshirts defeated the Victoria Cougars( Held at the Mutual Street Arena Toronto)
1915 The Vancouver Millionares defeated the Ottawa Senators (Held at the Denman Arena Vancouver)
1916 The Montreal Canadiens defeated the Portland Rosebuds (Held at the Jubille rink in Montreal)
1917 The Seattle Metroplitans defeated the Montreal Canadiens (Held at the Seattle Ice Arena)
1918 The Toronto Blueshirts defeated the Vancouver Millionaires (Held at the Mutual Street Arena)
1919 No champion was crowned due to an outbreak of spanish influenza ( some games were Held at the Seattle Ice Arena)
1920 The Ottawa Senators defeated the Seattle Metroplitans (Held at the Dey's Arena and Mutual Street Arena)
1921 The Ottawa Senators defeated the Vancouver Millionaires (Held at the Denman Arena)
1922 The Toronto St.Pats defeated the Vancouver Millionaires ( Held at the Mutual Street Arena)

From 1922-24 The Stanley Cup Final was played between the WCHL and the NHL/PCHA champion.

1923 The Ottawa Senators defeated the Edmonton Eskimos at the Denman Arena
1924 The Montreal Canadiens defeated the Calgary Tigers at both the Mount Royal Arena and the Ottawa Auditorium

Last edited by James Laverance: 12-22-2016 at 11:42 PM.
James Laverance is offline   Reply With Quote

Forum Jump


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05 AM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. @2017 All Rights Reserved.