Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
Notices

A Five Year (or so) Plan

Old
08-03-2014, 12:46 PM
scelaton

vCash: 500
A Five Year (or so) Plan

In this summer of discontent, even our most optimistic and thoughtful posters have begun to express doubts about the direction and leadership of the organization. Does a plan even exist? Is the so-called 5 year plan a myth, a creation of the media, of Lawless, of aliens…?

I have no personal knowledge of the inner workings of TNSE, but am familiar with strategic planning and certain that TNSE has a multi-year plan to achieve their goals. That’s what good organizations do. I also have strong sense of what the components of that plan might be, both from available evidence and public statements. So, without claiming that this is THE plan or even a good plan, I am presenting the components of a semi-chronological, plausible multi-year plan. Whether you agree or not, it should give some comfort and encouragement to those who feel the team is flailing around blindly.

1)Secure a stable financial environment
- It all starts with money. In partnering with David Thomson, Chipman ensured we have one of the most financially stable ownership groups in hockey. Chipman also become a trusted ally of Bettman and helped craft elements in the new CBA that are supportive to small market Cdn teams. Then there is the sold out arena, ensuring that for 5-10 years, good but unpopular decisions can be made for the long term without affecting cash flow. Long-term contracts were signed with core players, which seemed expensive in the short term, but will be cheap in 3 years, leaving plenty of cap space for when it counts. When the time finally comes to spend big money to achieve a SC run, the vault will open, but, until then financial discipline will be the order of the day. (See also my comments in the Frolik thread).

2)Establish the Culture and Values