HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > General Hockey Discussion > National Hockey League Talk
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
National Hockey League Talk Discuss NHL players, teams, games, and the Stanley Cup Playoffs.

do teams value a "C" or an "A" the way they should?

Closed Thread

Old
10-19-2003, 04:51 PM
imagine29028

vCash: 500
do teams value a "C" or an "A" the way they should?

granted, I am no Hockey expert like many people on this board, so in some people's eyes I look stupid probably.

but I was just watching NHL2Night on ESPN2...and they had a question on whether or not the Caps, should give Jagr the "C" based on the mere notion that he makes 11 million.

now if I got it correct, isn't the "C" or "A" not something, you just throw around...but something that you should cherish and care about? Aren't they supposed to be for team leaders who do stuff on and off the ice?

What is with the trend of just arbitrally giving out Captain duties to the best player on the team?

Old
10-19-2003, 05:06 PM
Wingboy2999

Send a message via AIM to Wingboy2999 Send a message via Yahoo to Wingboy2999
Well, they were talking about putting pressure on Jagr. And if wearing the C would put pressure on you, that obviously shows that it means something. Some teams, some players, it might not mean as much but it certainly still means something.

Old
10-19-2003, 06:22 PM
Kevin Forbes
Hockey's Future Staff

As a whole it's an interesting argument
I know looking at Bruins posts today before the Ducks game, I was surprised how many thought Thornton wasn't good captain material.

I think the Ducks choice was a good one in Steve Rucchin, and I think the Cats choice in Olli Jokinen was probably a good representation of their locker room. Modano, Yzerman, Sakic etc are all great choices.

Are then any players who you don't think should be captain?

Old
10-19-2003, 06:33 PM
ehc73

Send a message via ICQ to ehc73