Old
10-21-2003, 02:53 PM
Gee Wally
Retired

vCash: 50
Awards:
The Future is Bright....

I know it is for a couple of reasons...

I've been attending camp for a few years . As well as many Baby Bs games as I can.
It has been decade or more since I've felt this good about the prospects, the kids. I've been around long enough to know that it's a crap shoot. More crap than not the last dozen years or so. But something is different here.
Potentially 2 to 5 forwards that can be regulars in the next 2 years.
Geesh.. we must have a few D-Men that will pull on the Spoked B and perhaps the best of them, Stuart, we have yet to see.
My favorite though is goalies.. Freakin' plural guys..
In now over 30 years , I can't remember having 2 homegrown ones that look like they may provide a decades worth of netkeeping.
It could all fall apart . I know this...but like I said something different is going on here. Kudos to the scouts. Kudos to Management for listening to them.

The second reason that I know the future is bright.. My son ..10 years old is hopelessly, madly , in love with the Bruins. I've long suspected it.
He eased into it by taking in Baby Bs games in Wistah. He bashfully asked if I could get a pic last year from HockeyGoddess. And of course she came thru as always.
Then he requested to go meet PJ Stock and got his Pooh Bear Jersey autographed. ( we're still working on jersey selections).

But last and not least. At a school fair this weekend there was a raffle for a n "autographed Bruins Puck " donated by the Bruins themselves.
My boy blew his entire $5 spending money on this one item..
No Playstation 2 or new bike raffle.
No ice cream, no fried dough.
He won the puck.. Out of 1000 people , he won the puck.

He was so happy I thought he was going to burst.
He handed me the unopened manilla envelope .

" Dad, this is for you. I'll get another someday but I wanted you to have it " .... " I was gonna give it to you for Christmas , but couldn't wait."