HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > General Hockey Discussion > The Rink
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
The Rink For the not so ready for prime-time players, coaches, referees, and the people that have to live with them. Discuss experiences in local leagues, coaching tips, equipment, and training.

USA Hockey rulebook faceoff location

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
04-08-2009, 09:21 AM
  #1
Tomas Sandstrom 28
Registered User
 
Tomas Sandstrom 28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 566
vCash: 500
USA Hockey rulebook faceoff location

I have a question about a pretty specific example in one of my recent games. Say team A fires the puck all the way down the ice for an icing, automatic icing is called, but the other official overrules and says that on the way down the put deflected off the point man for team B, nullifying the icing.

Now where is the faceoff supposed to take place? My opinion is center ice, seeing as it was an officials error on the call. However, the officials called the faceoff all the way down in Team B's zone. This seems to be supported by USA hockey rulebook rule # 620(f), although it doesn't give much explaination.

why should team B be at a disadvantage because of an incorrect call?

Tomas Sandstrom 28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-08-2009, 09:51 AM
  #2
frito
Registered User
 
frito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Cincinnati
Country: United States
Posts: 1,067
vCash: 500
That is a dicy one. The rulebook says that in this case it should be where the puck was "last played". Now USA Hockey is ticky in that it doesn't have "touch" icing. If it did, the puck would have been last palyed deep in team B's zone. That then says the puck was last touched elsewhere, usually deep in team A's zone as the most common instance of this being botched is when a short handed team ices the puck and the official forgets there is a power play. In this scenario, which is slightly different than yours, the "last touch" is techincally deep in team A's zone. it obviously wouldn't be fair to bring it all the way back.

The way we were instructed to interpret the rule is that, even though the puck isn't physically touched when it crosses the goal line, the last play is deep in team B's zone and as such it would be at the face off dot deep in team B's defensive zone.

frito is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
04-08-2009, 09:58 AM
  #3
mooseOAK*
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 42,437
vCash: 500
A similar call was made in my last game, an icing was called on our team by mistake because we were killing a penalty and the referee called the faceoff to be deep in their zone which the other team complained about saying that it should have been at centre ice, which I thought too.

mooseOAK* is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:24 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2015 All Rights Reserved.