HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > General Hockey Discussion > The History of Hockey
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
The History of Hockey Relive great moments in hockey history and discuss how the game has changed over time.

How much difference do modern skates make?

Old
07-05-2006, 02:19 PM
derbyfan

vCash: 500
How much difference do modern skates make?

I'm in my early thirties, and when I started playing (1979), I was already using the "new" design of skate (I think my first pair were the old "Micron" plastic boot!).

Just a couple of years before me however, players were using the "old" style skate, with a fully exposed blade and next to no padding.

Since I've never skated on those, just how substantial is the difference?
Does it go a long way towards explaining why players from the 70's and before often looked like it was a challenge just to stay upright?

derbyfan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-05-2006, 07:36 PM
justsomeguy

Was speaking to a veteran who played in the 50s and 60s last night. His take is that the support that present day skates provide at the cost of reduced flexibility prevents players from strengthening their ankles through skating.

Reduces maneuverabilty and makes for a lot more "knock-kneed" skaters, guys who may have some speed when going in a straight line but can't shift or turn all of that well.

I learned to skate with the old leather boots and wa never any good. Still not any good with my new-fangled boots but at least my ankles don't scrape on the ice anymore. Am not and have never been blessed with either speed or maneuverability so i can't say that my game has been affected/thwarted by my choice in skates. The problem goes deeper than that.

justsomeguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
07-06-2006, 09:42 AM
derbyfan

Quote:
Originally Posted by justsomeguy View Post