HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > NHL Eastern Conference > Atlantic Division > Montreal Canadiens
Notices

Ok thats IT (AKA anybody have the nmber for starchoice?)

Reply
 
Thread Tools
Old
12-04-2006, 06:09 PM
  #1
Habs13
Registered User
 
Habs13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Montreal
Country: England
Posts: 5,230
vCash: 500
Ok thats IT (AKA anybody have the nmber for starchoice?)

Thats IT. IT. I am done with videotron, yet anotehr game I can not watch thanks to digital distortion. They sent me out three monkies and they couldn't fix a thing... so thats it. I'm paying $45 a month for what?

PLEASE, supply me with the phone number to Starchoice.

Habs13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-04-2006, 06:16 PM
  #2
GoodKiwi
Registered User
 
GoodKiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Montreal
Country: Georgia
Posts: 9,240
vCash: 500
1 866 Star Web

GoodKiwi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-04-2006, 06:41 PM
  #3
MacHabs93
Registered User
 
MacHabs93's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Montreal
Country: Italy
Posts: 1,475
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Habs13 View Post
Thats IT. IT. I am done with videotron, yet anotehr game I can not watch thanks to digital distortion. They sent me out three monkies and they couldn't fix a thing... so thats it. I'm paying $45 a month for what?

PLEASE, supply me with the phone number to Starchoice.
Depending on your package, you could just unplug your illico and plug the cable right into the TV... That'll at least get you watching the game

MacHabs93 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-04-2006, 06:51 PM
  #4
znk
Registered User
 
znk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Montreal
Country: Canada
Posts: 25,102
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Habs13 View Post
Thats IT. IT. I am done with videotron, yet anotehr game I can not watch thanks to digital distortion. They sent me out three monkies and they couldn't fix a thing... so thats it. I'm paying $45 a month for what?

PLEASE, supply me with the phone number to Starchoice.
Never lost signal/quality with Videotron since I've had it. Must be your wiring or something.

znk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-04-2006, 07:02 PM
  #5
wedge
Registered User
 
wedge's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: victoriaville
Country: Canada
Posts: 5,263
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by znk View Post
Never lost signal/quality with Videotron since I've had it. Must be your wiring or something.
I've had a problem a few months ago.. I called, they helped me and told me a few things I could de (play with the cables, turn off the machine, etc..). I've never had a problem since that day.

wedge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-04-2006, 07:10 PM
  #6
CoupeStanley
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Nicolet
Country: Martinique
Posts: 2,532
vCash: 500
Send a message via MSN to CoupeStanley
I had all of them (Cogeco, Bell, Star Choice, Videotron, Telebec, Sogetel), TV & Internet...

Well, Videotron is the best of the bunch.. followed by Cogeco.

CoupeStanley is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-04-2006, 07:11 PM
  #7
Nyclaus
Registered User
 
Nyclaus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Good Vibes!
Country: Canada
Posts: 924
vCash: 500
Basic digital signal from videotron is pure bull-**** for a good reason: HD terminals for sale...bunch of blood sucking vampires. They can't even give you a basic 480P video without compressing it to it's limit (i.e. macroblocking and aliasing). You're better off with TVU for free.

Nyclaus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-04-2006, 11:27 PM
  #8
Habs13
Registered User
 
Habs13's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Montreal
Country: England
Posts: 5,230
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by znk View Post
Never lost signal/quality with Videotron since I've had it. Must be your wiring or something.
the third videotron tech that came out re-did all the outside cables and all was well for almost a month... that's all I know.

Habs13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-05-2006, 07:17 AM
  #9
GoodKiwi
Registered User
 
GoodKiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Montreal
Country: Georgia
Posts: 9,240
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nyclaus View Post
Basic digital signal from videotron is pure bull-**** for a good reason: HD terminals for sale...bunch of blood sucking vampires. They can't even give you a basic 480P video without compressing it to it's limit (i.e. macroblocking and aliasing). You're better off with TVU for free.
Exactly. This is why I go with satellite. Feed quality on Videotron is garbage for those with large screen TV's. What good is RDS if I can't even see the puck?

GoodKiwi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-05-2006, 07:40 AM
  #10
IcE ColD
Registered User
 
IcE ColD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Vieux Port Inc.
Country: Canada
Posts: 3,848
vCash: 500
Send a message via MSN to IcE ColD
I'm on Star Choice and I can say that it's no better than Videotron. When we have bad weather (storms), we lose the satellite signal. Now, I know some people on this board told me to call a technician and he would correctly orientate the dish. Well I did and we still lose the signal from time to time. Maybe it's the location of the house or stuff like that, but anyways.

I guess it only means that nothing always work perfectly.

IcE ColD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-05-2006, 08:24 AM
  #11
!nkubus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 870
vCash: 500
I'm on Expressvu and the image quality is a lot better than videotron cable, because you can plug your receiver through s-video on you TV

!nkubus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-05-2006, 09:29 AM
  #12
znk
Registered User
 
znk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Montreal
Country: Canada
Posts: 25,102
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by !nkubus View Post
I'm on Expressvu and the image quality is a lot better than videotron cable, because you can plug your receiver through s-video on you TV
You can do that with illico...

znk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-05-2006, 09:35 AM
  #13
cedouimet
Registered User
 
cedouimet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Ville-Emard LaSalle
Country: Canada
Posts: 586
vCash: 500
DONT go with starchoice.....

my girlfriend has it and GOD is suck so much....

The image is weird.....never clear...always kinda snow in it.

And prepapre yourself to lose very often your signal, when it's raining a lot, when there's snow or it's freezing.

gos this is the worst thing you could do

cedouimet is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-05-2006, 11:11 AM
  #14
HabsoluteFate
Registered User
 
HabsoluteFate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 4,870
vCash: 500
I have starchoice and have had no problems with the image...actually if you have the HD receiver RDS is the BEST image by far i have ever seen it be...I have had Rogers and Bell Expressvu and they both SUCK compared to starchoice in terms of image quality

HabsoluteFate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-05-2006, 11:14 AM
  #15
bayrider
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Montreal
Country: Canada
Posts: 599
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by !nkubus View Post
I'm on Expressvu and the image quality is a lot better than videotron cable, because you can plug your receiver through s-video on you TV
S-Video sucks. Go with component cables (Red, Yellow, White). S-Video isn't even digital.

bayrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-05-2006, 11:17 AM
  #16
!nkubus
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Laval, QC
Posts: 870
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by bayrider View Post
S-Video sucks. Go with component cables (Red, Yellow, White). S-Video isn't even digital.
I know the the normal receiver I had a while ago only had this ,now I'm in HD with HDMI nothing beets this

!nkubus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-05-2006, 04:21 PM
  #17
Pascal
Registered User
 
Pascal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Montreal
Country: Canada
Posts: 10,467
vCash: 500
I had problems with Illico for a bit before, and then after a month or so it became much clearer all of a sudden.

Pascal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-05-2006, 04:29 PM
  #18
Chris Chelios
Registered User
 
Chris Chelios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 77
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by bayrider View Post
S-Video sucks. Go with component cables (Red, Yellow, White). S-Video isn't even digital.
Components cables are not digital at all ( they can provide good resolutions ) ... the only true digital cable is the HDMI cable wich is a very good upgrade over the components and s-videos.

Chris Chelios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-05-2006, 04:31 PM
  #19
Chris Chelios
Registered User
 
Chris Chelios's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 77
vCash: 500
Starchoice use less compression than Bell expressvu and Videotron ( so a sharper picture ) Bell is also way ahead of Videotron who use cray compression ratios for their channels.

Chris Chelios is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-06-2006, 06:56 AM
  #20
ChaseMe
Registered User
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Montreal
Country: Canada
Posts: 70
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by bayrider View Post
S-Video sucks. Go with component cables (Red, Yellow, White). S-Video isn't even digital.
Component is green, blue red wires. The red yellow and white is composite and is the worst of all choices.

ChaseMe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
12-06-2006, 07:05 AM
  #21
GoodKiwi
Registered User
 
GoodKiwi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Montreal
Country: Georgia
Posts: 9,240
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by HabsInsider View Post
Components cables are not digital at all ( they can provide good resolutions ) ... the only true digital cable is the HDMI cable wich is a very good upgrade over the components and s-videos.
DVI is also digital, but does not provide the sound as HDMI does.

GoodKiwi is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:23 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2014 All Rights Reserved.