HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > General Hockey Discussion > National Hockey League Talk
National Hockey League Talk Discuss NHL players, teams, games, and the Stanley Cup Playoffs.

Rules Question

Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools
Old
12-02-2003, 03:36 PM
  #1
b-orr-k
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 87
vCash: 500
Rules Question

I need some help on a scoring matter and can't find a reference in the rules section of NHL.com. What is the rule when more than one goalie is used in a shutout? This recently happened with the Sharks and neither goalie was awarded the shutout (although Nabokov got the win). I don't disagree with the ruling, but need validation for rotisserie scoring purposes. Thanks in advance for any help that can be provided.

b-orr-k is offline  
Old
12-02-2003, 03:59 PM
  #2
BCCHL inactive
 
Join Date: May 2002
Country:
Posts: 10,561
vCash: 500
Something like this wouldn't be in the rulebook because it has nothing to do with the playing rules of the game.

I can't tell you 100%, but I would assume that no shutout would be awarded.

BCCHL inactive is offline  
Old
12-02-2003, 04:04 PM
  #3
The Flying Pigdog
Registered User
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 273
vCash: 500
I believe you need to play the whole game to be credited with a shutout. Just like in baseball, if a pitcher doesn't go the full 9 innings, he doesn't get credit for a shutout.

The Flying Pigdog is offline  
Old
12-02-2003, 05:40 PM
  #4
tmg
Registered User
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 1,465
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by The Flying Pigdog
I believe you need to play the whole game to be credited with a shutout. Just like in baseball, if a pitcher doesn't go the full 9 innings, he doesn't get credit for a shutout.
I'm pretty sure you need to *make every save* in order to be credited with a shutout. A goalie could be pulled for an extra attacker on a delayed penalty call without jeopardizing his shutout.

tmg is offline  
Old
12-02-2003, 06:45 PM
  #5
colonel_korn
Luuuuuuuuuu....lay?
 
colonel_korn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: St John's, NL
Country: Canada
Posts: 7,362
vCash: 500
Quote:
Originally Posted by tmg
I'm pretty sure you need to *make every save* in order to be credited with a shutout. A goalie could be pulled for an extra attacker on a delayed penalty call without jeopardizing his shutout.
What about....game is tied 0-0 in the third late in the season. One team needs the two points to make the playoffs, so they pull their goalie. Other team scores an empty-net goal. Does the goalie still get a shutout? He made every save possible. :p

colonel_korn is offline  
Closed Thread

Forum Jump


Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37 AM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2014 All Rights Reserved.