HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > General Hockey Discussion > National Hockey League Talk
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
National Hockey League Talk Discuss NHL players, teams, games, and the Stanley Cup Playoffs.

Should the Oilers fold?

Closed Thread

Old
12-02-2003, 05:19 PM
Oilers Hockey

vCash: 500
Should the Oilers fold?

I am not a financial expert on how the NHL is run, nor do I pretend to be. That is why I posted this here.

A question was asked elsewhere, "Don't most fans think there are too many teams anyway?" "Fewer teams, better hockey". It was also said that since the Oilers need a new CBA to compete, then the NHL should say goodbye to the NHL in Edmonton. The fact is though, is almost every other team in the NHL needs a new CBA to compete.

Help me out here, should the Oilers fold? We've sold out 10 of 12 homes games at Rexall so far, and 57,000 sat in bitterly cold weather for hours to watch the Heritage Classic. If the NHL can't work here, good luck to other NHL cities that are not Toronto and Montreal.

Old
12-02-2003, 05:22 PM
Joe T Choker
Roll Wide Roll

The NHL needs the Oilers like the Oilers need the NHL, too much tradition involved to fold this franchise, even though they're struggling, the new CBA has to be more generous to the Canadian franchises, without the Canadian franchises survival what is the use of the NHL, so no the Oilers should not forld.

Old
12-02-2003, 05:25 PM
Oilers Hockey