I thought about this after what's his face on the islanders had a broken stick yesterday...
So let's say that Player A's stick is broken and he can't make it to the bench to get a new one... he's playing without a stick. Player B on the opposing team, maybe somewhere else on the ice, gets checked or something and loses his stick -- it's still in one piece, just not in his hands anymore and it flies far enough away from him so that he can't pick it right up. Can Player A pick it up and use it without getting a holding the stick penalty? The rulebook just says it's a minor penalty if you hold another player's stick... but I wonder if it's still considered to be another player's stick if no one is holding it and it's just laying on the ice.
Anybody ever seen this happen?
If that would be a penalty, then hypothetically if two players collided and lost their sticks and accidentally picked up each other's stick, they should both receive minor penalties.
Last edited by 22SteveBegin22: 02-25-2007 at 04:10 PM.