HFBoards

Go Back   HFBoards > General Hockey Discussion > The Rink
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
The Rink For the not so ready for prime-time players, coaches, referees, and the people that have to live with them. Discuss experiences in local leagues, coaching tips, equipment, and training.

1st Private Lesson

Old
03-05-2007, 10:36 PM
BuddehJuS

vCash: 500
Send a message via AIM to BuddehJuS
1st Private Lesson

Today, I had my first private lesson. I've been open skating since July and playing open hockey at least twice a week for 3 months and just felt I needed a good kick in the butt to get better and boy did I get it. I've never had any formal training or coaching, everything was self-taught through books and such.

Well, I get there early to stretch out fully. So, I gear up and head out on the ice, and we do a few warmup laps then step right into skating drills. Then, he asks to see my stick and looks at it and asks me "What's wrong with this picture?" I give a blank stare and he tells me how my stick is way too short and that I could hurt my back from bending over too much to compensate for it. The guy at the proshop where I bought it, says it would be a could size to help teach me to bend my knees.

I'm a very weak skater , but he was really helpful in doing drills to help me become better. We focused on a lot of edge work.I fell once after slipping on a crack in the ice then the next time, my legs gave out on me and I crashed into the boards, I was okay though. My legs are quasi sore right now but I know I will feel it in the morning. Anyway, the long and short of it, I'm glad I did it and plan to do more, though it is very expensive.

Well, I just wanted to share my 1st private lesson story and hopefully get some other stories from you all on private lessons!

BuddehJuS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old
03-06-2007, 12:25 PM
EmptyNetter