Go Back   HFBoards > Other Leagues > NCAA, CIS, and other college
Mobile Hockey's Future Become a Sponsor Site Rules Support Forum vBookie Page 2
NCAA, CIS, and other college Discuss college/university news, players, leagues, games, and tournaments.

Confused about disallowed goal ruling in BC vs ND game today...

Thread Tools
11-18-2011, 10:08 PM
Registered User
navyduck's Avatar
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 521
vCash: 500
Confused about disallowed goal ruling in BC vs ND game today...

Near the end of the second period of this game, BC appeared to have a goal but the official disallowed the goal. I am having trouble understanding as to why this occurred.

After a shot on ND goalie came in from the point, the goalie made the save. His save floated into the air and the rushing BC forward played the puck with his hand down to the ice and then shot the puck with his stick, immediately after playing it with his hand, toward the crease from behind the goal line and it was put in by another attacking player. The goal was immediately waved off and I do not understand why.

Now my hockey knowledge is more based in NHL rulings than college so there could easily be a rule in place that I just don't know about. But from what I saw, you can't rule it a hand pass, since he was the only BC player to touch the puck after he hand passed it to himself, and you can't rule it player in the crease violation since the goalie was out of his crease at the time the puck entered it.

Can someone explain it to me and, maybe, point to the rule where it states what happened?

navyduck is offline   Reply With Quote
11-19-2011, 12:55 AM
Registered User
hyster110's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 1,045
vCash: 500
may need a video to go along with

hyster110 is offline   Reply With Quote
11-19-2011, 01:32 AM
Registered User
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Mpls
Posts: 3,427
vCash: 500
Not sure as i was flipping games. I heard that the the ruiling was the BC player batted the puck into the goalie first then played it with his stick after hitting the goalie. Not sure on the rule itself but that was the explanation.

MN_Gopher is offline   Reply With Quote
11-20-2011, 08:40 PM
Loungetown mortician
ReverendAlBundy's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Fort Worth
Country: United States
Posts: 1,798
vCash: 500
The way I understand it, was that since the puck came in contact with the tender after he batted it down, it counts as an attempt to put the puck into the net in an illegal way, thus negating the goal.

ReverendAlBundy is offline   Reply With Quote

Forum Jump


Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:28 PM.

monitoring_string = "e4251c93e2ba248d29da988d93bf5144"
Contact Us - HFBoards - Archive - Privacy Statement - Terms of Use - Advertise - Top - AdChoices

vBulletin Copyright ©2000 - 2015, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
HFBoards.com is a property of CraveOnline Media, LLC, an Evolve Media, LLC company. 2015 All Rights Reserved.